Hi, I'm 14 and i'm going to steem my way to a computer science degree

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

About me:

My name is Anand and I'm currently living in the UK. I am currently 14 years old and a student who just completed year 9 going on to start my gcse's in year 10.

How I got to steem and was introduced to cryptocurrencies and the blockchain:

Some time ago my Dad used to trade options and equity, he realised he was never getting anywhere, infact he lost money. He convinced himself that it's all manipulated by banks and gave up on trading. As he was looking on the daily mail he saw that the bitcoin price has spiked to the price of gold, he was hooked. He did research and decided that bitcoin and the blockchain technology will change the world. He told me he was planning on investing in this cryptocurrency. I was interested so I also did some research. I discovered that its decentralised and used people's computing power to validate transactions. I therefore believed that his investment may actually pay off. He invested after the spike when BTC price had dropped low and purchased 3 for each of his children and some extra. Soon after Ethereum came along and we got in cheap. It rose to as high as 20$ and we were laughing. Soon after the DAO came along and looked promising as THE decentralised autonomous organisation. Sadly a massive exploit caused ETH to be freely taken out of the main branch, luckily the hard fork just came in about 2 days ago and the problem had been fixed. At the same time (as well as investing in these companies) invested in steem at around $0.30, I was shocked when the price went to 4$. He told me that I should make an account and I did, so here I am :D

Why I am interested in Computers:

I'm pretty sure i've inherited my love for computers but I really enjoy playing games with friends. Every day from school I would jump on our school TeamSpeak server and we would play whatever comes to mind, usually GTA V, Counter Strike:Global Offensive or even old school Runescape. The aim is to just have fun, nothing else. I get computing lessons twice a week from a really nice guy called Mike, he teaches me alot and wants the best from me. I couldn't ask for a better teacher, I feel really lucky to have him and that the computer science gcse is available for the first time in my school. People in the year above are always saying that they are annoyed that the gcse wasn't available for their year. When i first heard about it I thought its an opportunity that is perfect for me and i had to take it. I've got my own github and website which you can find here.

Why I want to go to University

I'm looking to go to University because I feel i could learn a lot and use my skills in a more practical way. Plus I don't want to be the odd one out since both of my sisters have gone to Uni. Even if this doesn't work out I will still attempt to go to uni. No matter what :D

What I'm doing in the summer:

I'm going to Goa by myself to meet some friends with the steem profits my Dad has made through his investment /:)

Thanks

Whoever is at this point, thanks for reading a bit about me. I wish you all luck with your steeming career :)

Sort:  

That's a pretty badass story! Friends suggested I get into trading 10 + years ago but I felt like it was all rigged, so I can relate to your father on that one. Once I realized that crypto was here (again) to stay, and saw the decentralization happening, I was hooked.

I'm just learning more about trading now and hope to learn by practice with smaller amounts. Hopefully I will have a similar story to tell :)

Enjoy your Steem-powered holiday with your friends! Welcome to Steemit!

Nice set of python scripts in your github. It's always great to learn at a young age! I'd definitely look into blockchain dev (solidity or go-based hyperledger contracts) and javascript frontends (this is generally going to stay relevant). I personally like MeteorJS.

Yes i would love to learn solidity, thanks anyways

Incredible! Loved it. x.

Welcome to Steemit! My Friend- Greeting From @dog

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World @xem!


Ladies and gentlemen, please give a huge welcome to our new friend!

Welcome to Steemit, and good luck getting your computer science degree!

Hopefully you'll meet people here on Steemit that can help you out in every way needed.

Thanks for the words. :)

Awesome to have you onboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66431.69
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60