Meet Our Family of Misfits

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

This is our family of three, and we are kind of a mess. Luckily, we wouldn't have it any other way!

Michael is my husband and he's almost 30. Michael contracted pneomina immediately after birth, and was given only a 10% chance to live. They said he would die within the hour and that the only way to save him was to use a new operational procedure never done on a newborn in that area before, a procedure that was certified only 3 days prior to his birth, and that worked great on sheep. The procedure is called ECMO. It saved his life, but Michael was left with cerebral palsy as a result of the loss of oxygen to his brain. He had many surgeries and faced almost two decades of physical therapy in order to walk. He as an amazing inspiration! Today he works as a Systems Administrator, but the cerebral palsy still plays a huge role in our lives.

Teddy is our blind, deaf, one-eyed dog. We adopted him from a shelter when he was five years old. As far as we know, he was blind since birth. His owner took out his voice-box, so he has a pitiful bark. He is the sweetest dog in the world!

And then there's me. My name is Allie and I'm a Chiropractic Assistant. I spent most of my childhood ill and in hospitals. First my ears, than my stomach, and then in high school I had a tumor the size of a football removed from my stomach. The surgery caused me to have gastroparesis, which meant more months on and off in the hospital and many years ill. I also have Hashimoto's thyroid disorder and was recently diagnosed with Meniere's disease. The Meniere's disease has left me nearly deaf in one ear and constantly susceptible to vertigo attacks. In my spare time, I scrapbook. I make layouts for companies who send me their products, and then feature me on their blogs and in their catalogs.

This is our family and we couldn't be happier. We are three misfits that have found each other. We understand when the other has bad health days, and rejoice in the good ones. We welcome questions about our conditions, but discourage any sympathy. We have our bad days but are happy just the way we are. If it weren't for our struggles, we wouldn't be who we are today!

And for verification purposes:

PS: I've written a few other things on here already if you'd like to check them out! :)

Sort:  

wellcome

What type of pooch is that? We had a couple bichons who looked pretty similar

I had never heard of a Bichon before, and I just googled it. They are super cute and do look a lot like Teddy! We know for sure he is part Westie, but it's a mystery what the other part of him is. He's a little bit taller than a typical Westie, and weighs a bit more (16 lbs).

What is your favorite music band?

I am a die-hard Taylor Swift fan. I also love musical soundtracks and Disney music!

Ciao! Ciao!

Enjoy your stay!

Welcome to Steemit @alisonleigh21!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create AMAZING content. (Will change as Steemit grows)

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:

Reading & understanding the above posts will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!

Good Luck!,
steemit.tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42