A silly moment which turned into a life lesson

in #interactions7 years ago (edited)

I have the tendency to overthink things, it is something that I have done from childhood.
Although these thought processes have been a waste at times they have also given me great insights. Insights on interactions mostly. I tend to revisit encounters.

Today I did this with the briefest of encounters. I was running out of fuel and stopped at the local gas station. I noticed a person I know. Not really well but casually interacted with her. She was speaking outside with the owner of the gas station. When I was going to pay at the automated cash registers. My eyes locked with the person I knew. I nodded and moved on to pay. I fueled up and moved on.

Running things over in my head over and over. I felt something was weird about what happened. Then my penny dropped. The reason that I nodded was that I was too ashamed and not important enough to disrupt their conversation so I decided that a nod was sufficient. So that is something to work on.

But then all the pennies in pocket dropped. Look at this from the other persons perspective. Someone you know walks past you only giving you a nod. Not even hello or anything. That persons reaction might be "Is this guy afraid of acknowledging the fact that he knows me?"

So from now on the goal is to never give people a nod again but say hi to them. Acknowledging the fact that I know them and raising my personality on the same level as them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tripwires! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tripwires! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42