DIY Black Soldier Fly Larvae Compost Bin turns meat, dog turds and other uncompostables into high protien feed!

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

In my neck of the woods I call this turdblossom season because all the melting snow reveals all the dog turds on the lawn to clean up. After doing so I noticed I had a pretty large pile of dog turds that are not great for normal compost and I also have a fair amount of food waste from the house that is things that the worms in the worm bin I have don't like such as citrus and meat/bone scraps. I read a post by @samstonehill where he was looking for composting ideas and I mentioned the Black Soldier Fly Larvae. In responding I talked myself into building a bin for them and making a post about it so here goes.

P_20190324_170026.jpg

I didn't want to spend a lot of money on this so I wanted to try to use things I already had like this large garbage bin that was left over from another experiment, here are the materials I expected to use:

P_20190324_160600.jpg

The only thing I bought was the black drain tube, its like a giant bendy straw, I suggest not opening it up until you are done cutting it, the piece I bought stretches out to 10 feet, it cost about $5 at the Depot. The first thing I did was use the end as a template to cut my hole:

P_20190324_161129.jpg

At this point I thought I was going to be using my sawzall to cut the hole so I used a drill bit to start the hole to make it easy to use a saw, if you have a skill saw that would work great but I don't have one.

P_20190324_161346.jpg

Anyhow all the batteries for the saw turned out to be dead so I grabbed the Dremel tool to cut the hole and It came out pretty good fit on the first try:

P_20190324_162313.jpg

So then I pulled through enough of the drain pipe to form a nice elbow coming out the side and measured and cut most of the pipe in half, I did one cut with the Dremel tool but that was slow and messy (black specks of molten plastic everywhere) so for cutting the other side of the pipe I just used Wiss utility shears and they made short work of it without plastic flying in my face. @papa-pepper has a great post about those shears. This turns my 10 foot pipe into maybe 18 feet of ramp for fly larvae and spout.

My next task was to try to affix the pipe to the side of the garbage bin to form a spiral ramp. My first idea was to use the plastic welder in the second picture to weld the pipe to the side of the trash can since they are both plastic but the material of the pipe was so thin I just melted right through. My second thought was to use staples but those didn't hold well and cracked the side of the trash can so finally I used good old zipties. Better to not have any metal to rust also. I drilled a couple of holes an inch or two apart and put the zip tie through and that held things together real nice, that's the way to go here.

P_20190324_165326.jpg

I did three or four more of those and I had the drain pipe secured how I wanted it.

P_20190324_165739.jpg

Next I drilled a couple of one holes in the bottom for drainage, one came out a little rough but that's fine. Because the garbage can is old the plastic is brittle.

P_20190324_165731.jpg

The finished product in place is in the top picture. For ventilation I had already cut the square hole in the top for my other experiment, I will use the flap to put a piece of cardboard on the inside of the lid for the flies to lay their eggs on. All I have left to do is cut a hole in a bucket lid and prop the collection bucket up high enough so it can reach the downspout. My next step is to send away on Amazon for some live Black Soldier Fly larvae, these may also be available from pet stores that sell exotic reptiles. The idea is that the larvae eat whatever you throw in there and then when they get big they climb up the ramp and then fall into the bucket. They self harvest. Then they can be used as a high protein feed for chickens, fish reptiles or even very adventurous people after being dried out. I will probably use mine as a soil amendment. I read something that said you should put coco coir on the bottom but I will just use some old sticks and potting soil as a bed before I put in the dog poop and food waste. When my fly larvae arrive I may keep them inside for a little while in a jar or something until it is a little warmer. They don't really tolerate cold weather.

Any questions?

This is an @funbobby51 original for @steemit and @informationwar, all photos and text are mine, please resteem and upvote and comment to encourage me to do this more!

Part II is here, the flies arrive

Sort:  

Actually... That's pretty high dollar feed you got there...

Really. Go look at petfood suppliers.

And aquaponic systems? That would be sweet!

Get a couple. More and you are doing well!

But awesomeness that's a huge way to make humic acid and great soil amendment!

But keep at it! Great job!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm pretty excited about it. If I end up producing a lot I might sell them online but I think you would want a much larger bin or several of them if you were going to sell them dried, on the other hand the live ones seem to command a pretty high price if you want to mess around with trying to package and ship them live.

Freeze them and that's another extra cost... That's Spendy protein!

But yeah funny how you can make money from the flies! That's something maybe I'll do this year... Lol wouldn't be too hard to dry them too.

Posted using Partiko Android

word.

If you have any intention of growing a fast growing flowering annual in an aquaponics system it is exactly the sort of feed you should be feeding your fish. I have been thinking about getting a black bucket or painting the collection bucket black so they dry right in there

Yeah and organic is always worth more. But at the high price? Freeze dried. Live.. Frozen fresh, there isn't any way you can. Lose.

Homesteading is amazing let alone making the funds showing people how to do it yourself.

Aquaponic systems for the win!

Posted using Partiko Android

Total cost for this project is about $14 with the $5 pipe and a $9 can of live BSF larvae shipped. everything else I had handy.
Aquaponics is tricky to get right but once you do it can be pretty great. the hard part is keeping your PH right.

I held back on doing any further research when you mentioned you might do this in the hope of learning from you... and wow! This is the perfect lesson right here. The funbobby self harvester, which I have bookmarked, so that I may copy your design when the time is right.

It must be quite satisfying when they start dropping into the bucket!

Here's a question. You mentioned you might use them for your soil. What is your process for this?

My first thought was to blend them and pour them on as a mushy liquid! Poor little wrigglers. But am guessing this is not the way?

I personally take the frass and give them to the worms which then turn them into compost.

The BSFL frass is not really considered compost because it still contains undigested food particles. So the worms complete the process. Make sure to first mix the frass with a good amount of shredded cardboard to absorb the moisture and leave the mix in Aerated place for the ammonia to gas off.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was thinking about drying them and burying them under tomato plants like you would an egg or fish, I think it would be similar to feathermeal or bloodmeal but I can't find anything about that right now as no one seems to use them for that because they are a high value high protein animal feed. They are worth over $50 a kilo.

$50 a kilo!!!! That is superb.

Ahhh you were talking about the BSFL themselves. Yea you won’t find anyone doing that, as you said they are too valuable.

Posted using Partiko iOS

did you start your culture with store bought larvae or are they naturally occurring in your area?

Oh wow, just over the weekend I got to know about these black soldier fly larvas. How coincident?

This is your first try? Does it smell a lot?

Posted using Partiko Android

This is my first try, I don't think the smell will be worse than the big pile of dog poop but I have located the bin well away from my house. I just ordered the larvae last night so I haven't started quite yet.

Question. Why order the larvae and not just let the flies find it? I'm sure they will find it quickly.

Posted using Partiko Android

I live pretty far north so I don't know how common they are here, they actually came today, I set them up in a jar, I think it's still too cold to put them outside as there was some light frost this morning, I ordered small ones so they could grow instead of getting fewer larger ones for the same price, I'll put em outside when it looks like they are getting ready to turn into flies. I might even wait until I see them buzzing around.

I’ve been using BSFL for a few years now. They are amazing critters. See my external blog about them
https://thelittlewormfarm.com/en/journey/category/black-soldier-fly-larvae

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome,I'll definitely check that out, is there anything that they don't like to eat?
Does my design look like it will work?

They won’t eat things that are woody or at least not until they get very soft and then they will eat that if there is nothing else left.

Looking closer at your photos, I think the ramp made of that pipe might be an issue. The corrugation will either make it difficult for them to crawl all the way up but I suspect that they will actually just bury themselves in the corrugation and stay there. They like to hide in crevices

Posted using Partiko iOS

good to know.
I was thinking it would be an easy to climb ladder for them, I guess I will have to see how it goes.

Oh! So jealous! We have looked at those, never got around to making one! We did aquaponics for a few years, and there was a guy who had it set up so they fell right into his fish tank - off grid auto-feeder for his fish lol!

having them go directly into a fish tank or chicken coop seems ideal. you need to feed your fish a lot of protein for aquaponics, how did you set up your system in terms of pH controls?

We just checked it manually. We changed the water fairly often. We always made sure none of our grow media altered the pH before it was used. And to be honest, it was 5 or 6 years ago now and I cannot recall for sure, I remember putting baking soda in couple times, I think we used some spa chemicals but it has been many beers ago. I mean years. OK, I mean both.

LOL The pH is the tricky part because the plants and fish don't necessarily like the same pH

It seems to me that once we settled on a good medium, it was not a big deal. We used hydroton, it was not cheap. But it just was not a big hassle. Aphids on the plants was the biggest problem we had. I got SICK, like several days just could not go out and trim dead stuff off the beds, and when I got out there we had an infestation of Biblical proportions, I was stunned, it was JANUARY. Still don't know where they came from!

My husband sort of managed the fish, I did the plants and the breeding. This is my most viewed youtube ever, I am still pretty proud of it!

i need to get a canning funnel, here I have been cutting the bottom out of solo cups.

@funbobby51 purchased a 5.71% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

You got a 0.50% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @funbobby51!

I am sorry, I cannot evaluate your post. This can have several reasons, for example, it may not be long enough, it's not in English, or has been filtered, etc.

thanks anyways, what is the minimum length?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31