Let the compost games begin!

in #gardener6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20190318 at 18.30.21.png

I know it's just a bucket with some kitchen waste in it, but to me it represents the beginning of a new chapter for my family and I because last week we acquired our first allotment upon which we intend to grow our own food and it just so happens to have a compost bin.

The land is perfect and I can't wait to get started. We are currently waiting for a rainy day after which we will rotavate it.

It is my intention to share our journey here on the blockchain so that others may learn from our experience and potentially even feel inspired to join us in learning how this is done.

Which brings me back to the bucket.

IMG_1329.jpg

Now that we have one I am immediately aware of how wasteful we have been in the past by mixing our organic waste with the rest. I won't be making this mistake again.

I realise now even if we don't have our own compost it is very likely someone near us does and they will likely be grateful for the donation.

We eat a lot of fruit & veg in this house and now that the organic waste is separate from the rest we hardly ever have to empty the bin.

The glass, metal & plastic already have bins of their own.

Right, that's it for now. Just wanted to get that one out while I was thinking about it.

More soon...

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

Sam is the creator of:

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

I like to make compost from my scraps as well. I had a 2 container system but now I only have one. After a good storm last year a good sized tree branch smashed one side. Now I have to figure out to do with it because the one good side is pretty much full and now I need to let it sit to turn into good compost!

Good luck on your compost adventure!

Sorry to hear about the broken side! The two container system sounds like a good idea. Older stuff and newer stuff I assume?

When you say older and new stuff are you referring to the compost itself?
The system works for me by going back and forth. I fill up one side while I let the other side turn into compost then when the side I'm putting new stuff in gets full I empty out the other side, which is now compost and then I just go back and forth. But now since that other bin is broken I am not sure what I am going to do at the moment!

I see. So, having the two bits permits for one to sit and do its thing while the other gets filled.

I do appreciate your input and hope you are able to get it fixed in some way.

Exactly!

I hope so too, as they are attached to one another and if I can't get it fixed I'm probably going to have to get rid of the whole system.

That's awesome, get some red wriggler worms to toss in there and that bin will crank. They don't like citrus or meat much though. I was thinking today about trying to get ahold of some black soldier fly larvae and setting up one of those bins to recycle dog shit and food waste.

You are awesome! Thank you. Suggestions like this are exactly why I am posting the journey here.

Now to figure out where to get these worms!

they should be available at better garden centers, Amazon or if you find a neighbor who has a worm bin you could just scoop up a load of them out of theirs, if you were in America I would send you some. They have the BSF larvae on Amazon as well, live ones seem to be available for people who keep reptiles so a good reptile store might have them there. They turn waste into high protein food for livestock or fish or even people. I have had a worm bin for years, don't buy anything special for the worm bin any sort of large bins you can stack will work, lots of plans online.

Thanks for this info! Again, an awesome idea. Had never considered the importance of worms till now I love the idea of having a worm bin.

This is what I will look toward for the future.

Thanks for being interested, you got me looking into the black soldier fly larvae, I was so hyped I almost ordered them but I am going to actually build their enclosure first. Being able to compost meat, citrus and dog shit is going to be a whole new world.

Excellent to hear this my friend ;)

I would be very interested to see a post from you (with pictures!) showing your progress on this mission.

If i get it done I'll have to take a few pics and post something, funny how somehow that adds pressure to the whole situation though. Today it is raining and snowing so it's hard to conceive of doing anything productive.

No pressure my friend. It mystifies me how these computers work because yesterday YouTube was suggesting films about this exact subject (like it knew what we were talking about!) and I was reminded there are probably a lot of images out there already if am I seeking to understand this better.

No worries, pressure is good, I got er done, I feel my design is a lot better than many I saw on the internet.
https://steemit.com/informationwar/@funbobby51/diy-black-soldier-fly-larvae-compost-bin-turns-meat-dog-turds-and-other-uncompostables-into-high-protien-feed

The answer is that google is evil and it is watching you


Everything is okay! 👌


You received an automatic vote, because I believe in you and I love what you create! ;)

A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

I love promoting !sbi status

Hi @amico!

  • you have 156 units and 685 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 879098808087 or 0.619 $
  • as you did not wrote a post within the last 7 days, your comments will be upvoted.
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.025 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 8.64 % has come from your subscription level
  • 83.76 % has come from your bonus units
  • 7.04 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.56 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Value % breakdowns are in beta and some oddities may appear. These % are historical and represent source of vote value pending and already delivered. Recent changes (increase in delegated SP, for example) may take time to noticeably change the % breakdown.

You’ve been visited by @walkerland on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Congratulations on getting an allotment. I have to say, the setting is absolutely beautiful. I see so much potential there and it looks like you have some lovely bee friendly things growing along that hedge as well.

We are also running our fortnightly competition for steem rewards, where you can explore a plant medicine! Check it out here - this fortnight's plants are valerian, salvia divinorum and thyme!


50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking above. We love to support those on a healing journey or writing about natural health wisdoms. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you.

Thank you @walkerland for your curation efforts :)

Our little patch of land is not quite natural medicine yet, but by the end of this growing season it will be!

I need to sort a composter currently i am using old compost bags and am not sure on the effectiveness to be honest. But will follow you're efforts and compare haha. I am waiting to move so kind of in limbo currently 💯🐒

Excellent to hear you are also at it!

There is something very satisfying about all of this.

Good luck with your move... when it comes.

It's very frustrating as I don't have a decent compost and am running out of bags. I need to move so I can build something more permanent 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74