You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Black Soldier Fly Larvae Compost Bin turns meat, dog turds and other uncompostables into high protien feed!

Oh! So jealous! We have looked at those, never got around to making one! We did aquaponics for a few years, and there was a guy who had it set up so they fell right into his fish tank - off grid auto-feeder for his fish lol!

Sort:  

having them go directly into a fish tank or chicken coop seems ideal. you need to feed your fish a lot of protein for aquaponics, how did you set up your system in terms of pH controls?

We just checked it manually. We changed the water fairly often. We always made sure none of our grow media altered the pH before it was used. And to be honest, it was 5 or 6 years ago now and I cannot recall for sure, I remember putting baking soda in couple times, I think we used some spa chemicals but it has been many beers ago. I mean years. OK, I mean both.

LOL The pH is the tricky part because the plants and fish don't necessarily like the same pH

It seems to me that once we settled on a good medium, it was not a big deal. We used hydroton, it was not cheap. But it just was not a big hassle. Aphids on the plants was the biggest problem we had. I got SICK, like several days just could not go out and trim dead stuff off the beds, and when I got out there we had an infestation of Biblical proportions, I was stunned, it was JANUARY. Still don't know where they came from!

My husband sort of managed the fish, I did the plants and the breeding. This is my most viewed youtube ever, I am still pretty proud of it!

i need to get a canning funnel, here I have been cutting the bottom out of solo cups.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65