Best Indian Food in Bangkok??!

in #indian6 years ago

Just suddenly felt like having some Indian food. Not sure at all how big it is in your country but mine, in Thailand, Indian food is not that common, really. The ones you probably see often are one of those street food wheeled vendor selling sweet roti with banana, sugar and whatever. Well, what if you feel like some real food like, the savoury ones.


5vod30lipu.jpg


I don't know many Indian places here in Bangkok as I don't crave it very often but dude, I know one good place my friend took me there many years back. A place just very close to 'Khaosan Road', one of the very popular spots for nightlife in Bangkok. Lots of lots of Backpackers there! Like, a really good Indian food could be found here!


Karim Roti Mataba

Probably less then 15 mins walk from Khaosan Road. Located actually on Phra Athit Road just across the street from the 'Phra Sumen Fort'. This place called 'Karim Roti Mataba', a family owned business that's been open for generations.


There's a second floor with air-conditioning which is great as really, even it's winter in Thailand, it's hot still! lol We didn't hesitate and walked straight up on the upper floor and ordered a few dishes..

blylhgr8kv.jpg


Mutton Kurma


image.png


This one is a curry called 'Kurma' with mutton (They have many choices but we went for this one as it's pretty rare in Thailand) and you will have to order plain roti / naan separately to eat with it. Before going this last time, I hadn't been there for years and really forgotten how great the taste was. It's really just umami! The deliciousness you can't explain how delicious it is. Like, really! This is my most favourite out of all three we got.


The texture of this homemade naan is super duper as well. It's kinda crispy outside but inside just soft and firm. I ended up (Actually just right at the beginning of the meal lol) using my hand to eat just to get that real Indian vibes going.


Mataba


image.png


This one is also so yum and easy to eat as it's like a thin dough stuffed with some curry with your choice of meat. We got the seafood one. Served with pickled cucumbers and red curry sauce.


Chicken Briyani


image.png


This one we have it all over in Thailand. I have been eating this since I was little but had not known it's Indian till I went to travel in India while back. This one I think it's good still but somehow, it's just a bit too herbal. Like, you can taste it. You can smell it and it's just a bit too much for me, personally


j9fa65z6g8.jpg

In front of Karim Roti Mataba


2o0sbvvbsu.jpg

Naan and Roti Mataba being fried on the pan

8rbponr3nc.jpg

All the curry you could choose from..

teyjfvnup5.jpg

Make it just right by the entrance so you could see!


So if you ever come by Bangkok and crave some Indian food, Karim is totally a place I recommend you come check it out ! Very Delicious and reasonable priced.

Oh! If you haven't checked out this mini Indian vlog, here it is :)


Lots of lots of love,
Mo ❤




I DO USE. I DO LOVE ! ❤

vaq5x9vdnu.pngwt786mgexg.png

㋡ Here's my main gears !


banner.png

All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com


We would love to talk to you ! on Fundition Discord server & eSteem Discord server

Check out My Youtube Channel!!!

Sort:  

that resto looks like some legit Indian resto!
from the picture I'm already hungry dude!!! :O

Hahhaha yeah, it's sure a good one and yes, I'm hungry too!!! hahaha :D

hopefully I'll get to try that in bangkok! :)

I don't think I could live without Indian food occasionally. I put curry spices in pretty much everything and make curry and rice or noodles occasionally for dinner. I don't go out a lot though, so I guess it's not a super big deal if there's not a place near me that serves it.

Do you guys have thai indian fusion cuisine though? Like coconut milk curry? That seems pretty popular in San Fran Cali last time I went. There were a few Thai restaurants that had quite a few Indian influenced cuisines.

I actually think that 'coconut milk curry' is Thai.. What different is the curry pastes we use.. and the ingredients we put in them I suppose :D Good you don't eat out so often. That's healthy life. I can't / don't want to cook much as you know, eat out in Thailand is pretty cheap :D Thanks for checking the post out! :)

Thai curry is a dish that was influenced by India...but it was a bad example, because we don't have many places around here that server Thai food, let alone fusion dishes, so I don't know the names of them. It's definitely very Thai after so many years though.

I think it really should be affordable to eat out. Not everyone has the time to cook for themselves, or the capability, so they should be able to eat out occasionally without breaking the bank.

Yeah, I'm actually not sure about 'Thai curry is a dish that was influenced by India'.. but it's the fact? I guess.. Sure eating out should be something affordable and not cost an arm and a leg. I love eating out as I'm lazy! lolololol.

Yeah, all curry originates in India. It's based on the Indian word for sauce.

Curry is pretty much everywhere now though, while a lot of other Indian dishes are still far less common outside of Indian cuisine.

Oh! now it makes more sense! Thanks for the info! :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=waybeyondpadthai
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=best-indian-food-in-bangkok-698c7dce061deest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Chúc mừng @waybeyondpadthai, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I haven't been there before but, I think I would rather visit the place some other time.
The food looks delicious! 🤣

Yes! You should!!!! and come on! It's soooo famous! (Hype lol)

Hahahah! I would love to but, not this month! Maybe in December and would love to have a date with you there with me! (Hyper joke! Lol! :D)

Already capture the screen, cut out the last part and sending it to your wife now lolololl

Now that's what I'm talking about! Hahahahah! :D

Nice... Now I know where to look for my Indian fix in Bangkok, Thanks for sharing

You're welcome and yes yes yes, go for it! It's a good place for Indian treat! :D

:))

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @waybeyondpadthai!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.076 which ranks you at #982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 24 places in the last three days (old rank 1006).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80