Let's Eat Sea Urchins! - How to Weekly Contest by Janice Mars

in #howtoweekly6 years ago (edited)

20180419_134058_0001.png

Hey guys! How's it going? This is your babe again and as promised I'll be sharing with you how I prepared sea urchins.

Get your taste buds ready because this time, we will be serving something a little exotic: Fresh. Raw. Sea urchins!

I love sea urchins. In Cebu, this is locally known as "Suwaki". Too bad, I've only met very few people who have actually tasted it. Fresh sea urchins are my favorite. They have a distinct taste that always reminds me of the beauty and bounty of the ocean.

I had the chance to prepare them when I visited Moalboal, Cebu. Two cute and hardworking little kids came to the resort selling two buckets of fresh sea urchins. Each bucket costs Php 100 (about $2). Now, two buckets may seem a lot but after all the preparations, you will be left with only two small bowls of this delicacy to enjoy.

There are other ways to prepare sea urchins but my favorite is Kinilaw (Filipino style Ceviche). Yes, I'm so into eating fresh and raw sea food.

Though I love raw sea urchins, I would still admit that it may taste a little weird; especially for those who are not so familiar with the dish.

Dare to try?

Here is how we prepared our 2 buckets of sea urchins.

IMG_20180406_082833.jpg

Ingredients :

2 bucket sea urchins
5 sliced tomatoes
3 sliced red onions
6 sliced lemons
1/4 cup vinegar
1 tea spoon salt
red pepper chili(optional)

  • Carefully smash the shell of the sea urchin in half using a spoon or similar hard object.

  • Wash the sea urchins. Scoop the flesh out and place it in a bowl.
    Repeat process until all sea urchins are done.

  • mix together all the ingredients with the flesh of sea urchins in the bowl.

  • serve and enjoy!

Sea urchins are best served fresh at the beach. It is a good appetizer. It is important to note that after a few minutes of getting exposed to the air, the flesh of the sea urchin will start to melt.

20180419_161749_0001.png

Benefits of eating sea urchin:

  • Sea urchins are rich in proteins.

  • Sea urchins has good dietary fibers.

  • They are great source of Vitamin C, and A which are vital to boost the immune sytem.

Check my other Kinilaw recipe here: https://steemit.com/howtoweekly/@janicemars/kinilaw-na-bawdnon-how-to-prepare-exotic-filipino-style-ceviche

🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻

Hi! I'm Janice Mars and thanks for checking my blog! I'm a writer, beauty queen and model from Cebu City. I write about travel, culture, beauty, food, adventure, and random fun stuff! All words and photos used on my blogs are original, unless otherwise stated. Follow me for more interesting stories!

🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻

Sort:  

Haha, I have taken a picture of that and I have never eaten it so one day I will try that.

Can't waaaait! Let me know if you like it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:20:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 37.40/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 8.24% upvote!
I was summoned by @janicemars. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 11.83% upvote from @pushbot courtesy of @howtoweekly!

Congratulations @janicemars! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Ive been stung by these on the leg numerous occasions while diving and especially at night when glow diving as they don't have bio florescent properties like the corals they live around.
I've opened them up and fed them to the large blue groupers in Sydney that follow us everywhere like puppies.
Ive yet to taste one one though and maybe liken it to eating oysters. I will give it a go one day. Need my revenge on all the times they got me.

Hahahhaha!!!! The 'revenge' made me laugh! I can't imagine being stung by this. I've heard enough stories to know it's horrible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05