Howto Series | #1 — What makes a photography post irresistible

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

So this is my 2nd week as a Curie curator. Last week, I mentioned about messing up with my CS & AR points (more info here) so this week, I'm more careful with my content selection. No proposal until I'm 101% sure of my decision.

A scoring point of more than 2.5 and 100% will earn me more submission limit (i.e. 15) for the upcoming week. With me joining @curie, @smartsteem, and @newbieresteemday, I realized the dire need for great (if not good) content. While there are amazing contents out there, there are also lots of horrible ones.

So, to play my role in fighting bad content and uphold my responsibilities towards the ecosystem, I've decided to come up with a 101 guide (read: the how-tos) to creating exceptional content.
 


 

Bear in mind, that this is not a sure way or guarantee that'll you'll be selected by Curie or whatsoever. But it will definitely increase your chances of being selected, if not kept in view by curators.

You should also know that there are many curators out there who are watching you and could possibly keep you on their watchlist. Your content might not be noticed immediately, so please be patient.

As long as you're creating contents consistently, you will be rewarded someday, one way or the other.
 


The Caveat

 

For this initiative, I will share the dos and don'ts when creating content on Steemit. Please note that these are only guidelines and at the end of the day, what curators or reviewers deemed as the quality content is quite subjective, although after I have personally experimented and studied closely a variety of epic contents; I am quite confident to guide you on this topic.

At the end of each post, I hope to create a space for creators to constructively feedback on one another's content. So feel free to submit your link so my partner (@maverickfoo) and my self will be having a look at it and constructively provide feedback to our fellow Steemians.

If you don't know yet, @maverickfoo is a great storyteller and crafts amazingly creative contents. Check his profile out to decide for yourself. I'm sure you can greatly benefit from his insights and feedback as well :)
 


The Dos and Don'ts

 

Do: If you're a photographer, here's a great way to showcase your work

 


 

The Oomph Factor:
@garethb explains his techniques and methods in-depth in his area of expertise— photography. Succinct yet on-point, his post educates and the pictures hypnotically pull his readers in, leaving room for imagination yet allowing space for his readers to experiment and explore beyond their boundaries. Posts like this encourage experimentation and gather a cult of following from photo-enthusiasts.
 


 

The Oomph Factor:
@cinemaninja shares the ultimate experience with us via his/her video. This personal and intimate gesture allows the readers to connect with the author, thus making this content a great one.
 

Don't: Slap on a picture and call it a day off

 


 

The Yikes Factor:
I know what you're thinking. You're thinking of putting something (anything) up so you can eventually bid bots and buy votes for this specific post. I call this lazy and lousy content. This is outright content abuse, some might even call it raping the rewards pool. For Smartsteem, you will never even get whitelisted for this kind of content. And if I find out that these pics are not yours, I'll even blacklist you. (No, you won't get to appeal for blacklist)
 


Tips for #photography posts:

 

  1. Treat your Steemit account like your personal portfolio on your website. You won't create crappy content if it's your own domain, right? It's the same concept here. The thing about Steemit, it's not only a content creation platform but it kinda works like your portfolio book as well. Check out Neil Strauss' work on Steemit here. If you don't know who's Neil, he's the genius behind the bestselling love-relationship books like The Game, and The Truth. His Steemit account pretty much reflects on his personal work. Now that's his identity and you can create the identity you want on Steemit too.
  2. Explain the mechanism of your work. Detail the process, document the details. Then, finally showcase the outcome of your work.
  3. Use quality, clear pictures. If it's not a hell-yes pictures then don't put them up. You don't need a lengthy post for it to be good, you just need the right amount of details to justify the quality of your post. If it helps to have GIFs or video to document your work process, by all means, do it.
  4. If your pictures have a theme, tell your readers about it. If your photos contain its origins, culture, and story, convey its underlying messages. That's what make exceptional posts— exceptional; themes, stories, and personalization.

 

More examples of great photography posts here: [1, 2, 3]

 

PS: You can also propose great content that you think is deserving. Remember, the more you help people, the more you will receive in return from Steemit. That's how it works. The community helps those who help others.

Disclaimer: Please do not spam me with "upvote for upvote" or "follow for follow." You don't have to beg for votes and follows if you're worth upvoting or following. If not you'll just risk being flagged/ downvotes. Also, this is my personal initiative just to help more Steemians improve their content creation and in no way, am I sponsored or entrusted with this task from any of the aforementioned entities.

 

Image credit: All public domain images are taken from Pexels, unless stated otherwise.
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit.
I still have my portfolio and personal sites— virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com.
But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog.
Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :)
Follow me and I'll take you through my unpredictable journey— filled with wilderness, curiosity, and randomness.

PS: Join #steemitbloggers to unite with other bloggers and #sfg #steemgigs to partake in the freelancers' clan. Also, check out @kristyglas amazing divider below. Support her work by sharing as she puts in tremendous effort into creating pretty dividers for Steemians.

Sort:  

Hey @deborism, these are some great tips coming from a curie curator! As a proud member of @newbieresteemday and @steemitbloggers myself, I too am always on the look-out for good posts and like you, have found a lot of really great ones, but also a lot of bad ones.

The idea of posting a photo with absolutely no explanation does seem awfully lazy. I take pride in my work and would feel embarrassed and ashamed to post garbage. I think every photo tells a story, but it's nice to hear the actual story from the poster as well.

Thanks again for this! Cheers :)

Thanks for stopping by @lynncoyle1 :) You're doing just fine... keep doing what you're doing 💪🏼 Looking forward to more of your emotional and impactful posts <3

Oh thank you so much @deborism! That really means a lot! :)

I've been dabbling in the photography one's a bit and posted one today that I would love your feedback on...not obviously looking for votes or any such nonsense, I'm just very curious about what you think. I actually sent you a friend request on discord to ask, because I HATE anything that appears to be public begging. I'm just really getting interested in the photography part of this and want to learn more. For me, the photos plus the attached story is what is impactful, so maybe not simply photography perse. You see? I need advice haha

Upvote for upvote.

Oh sorry :D

This is a great article. One of my main goals of being on steemit and curating is to try to encourage photographers not only to dump a single image on here and hope for an upvote, but to define the thought process behind the image. Why did they choose the settings they chose? What could they have done better in retrospect? That sort of thing. It's very rare that a single photo gets a curie upvote, but it's more likely that any curator from anywhere will be more interested in a post if there is a good story or description behind it.

Id also like to get people doing videos of them actually taking photos. theres loads of that on youtube. Some great stuff is by the likes of Thomas Heaton and Brendan Van Son. That is the sort of content we want on this platform.

Thanks so much for your encouragement @markangeltrueman. It means a lot coming from a top curator ;p Speaking of which, I couldn't agree more to this statement

...to define the thought process behind the image. Why did they choose the settings they chose? What could they have done better in retrospect? That sort of thing. It's very rare that a single photo gets a curie upvote, but it's more likely that any curator from anywhere will be more interested in a post if there is a good story or description behind it.

I've seen an approved photography post from @carlgnash recently, and that somewhat triggers me to create this post too. But of course, with your vast experience in photography, you would have spotted a great photography post. To be honest, I can only know if the pictures are good but what goes behind the scenes? I'm usually clueless- that's what makes informative, creative post mind-blowing if done right :) And I also noticed that many people are actually great in content creation, but they're not on Steemit yet. Sometimes, I'd go like - man these are 'curie-worthy' and if they're on Steemit they could have done so much better than in Facebook, IG, medium... etc. You know, I know, we know ;)

Nice explanatory how to @deborism it is about presentation, when I see photography with no reference to country or area it makes it difficult to relate to the photo.

I can relate to that feeling too @joanstewart. Especially if it's food photography, like come on! Share the locations already. Add value to art!

congrats on making it to curie

Thank you @orangila ... looking forward to your photos :)

Photos posted...

Oh you're a curator for curie? I didn't know that! Awesome! Congrats!

@branlee87 no biggie :) but thanks!

Great post Debbie. I’ll find some time to write a post and explain to our newbies some of the things they want to keep in mind when writing , and perhaps to get curie selected. Of course to also direct them to your 101 tips. That’s great you’re helping newbies with the #newbieresteemday initiative too!

Feel free to do so @beeyou. Always appreciate your efforts. The key is to get people to consult here or even in discord. my discord handle is @deborism#5857... :)

One thing I've been doing is combining my photography and writing so that the two supplement each other, and so both appeal to a broader audience.

I would also add that any newbie photographer (or even established ones!) should participate in @photocontests (you can read the instructions here). All it takes is adding one of their tags into your post and you're entered into contests for prizes, and you get XP for participating, which eventually translates into upvotes. It's a great community and another fun way to "gamify" your Steemit experience while being put in touch with some amazing photographers.

hi @malloryblythe, I recognize your amazing profile because if not mistaken, you also got curied recently right ? :) congrats! I like how you put effort into creating your content and you totally deserve the recognition if not more. Thanks for the information about @photocontests and you're right about Steemians participating in it for more exposure and engagement. Helps in building following too. I'd highly recommend it as well. Thanks for sheeing light on this <3

I did, thank you! It was a wonderful surprise and it totally made my week. I'll do my best to live up to expectations.

Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.

It is nice seeing someone thinking about curating the photo people, there really are some very excellent ones out there.

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)


Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

Someone is making it on Steemit too huh?? :)

winkz

Everybody's making it great ;) winksssss back at ya

at last i found something that contains photography, especially in Malaysia. Nice one debbie. I just join steemit, and have 2 post at this moment haha. if u free to drop by will be appreciate.

hello @srapdsign, nice to meet you here. unfortunately, we can only gauge how good, and consistent the content creator's contents are after a series of posting. But I have already kept you in my loop and looking forward to more posts from you near future. Keep it coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80