Five Lessons from The Walkerland Homestead

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

five homestead lessons.jpg

When my husband and I first moved to our homestead, we had a picture in our minds of how it would be. For the most part, we have achieved our goals but it's not been without lessons, challenges and compromise. Here are a few of the lessons we've learned.

Raising Animals For Meat

We told ourselves that the farm animals will have a great life and only "one bad day" with us. The animals we raised for meat (pigs, chickens, quail) did only have one bad day (for the most part). They had lovely, wonderful lives here. We did have one disaster when the baby quail we hatched died horrifically in the night because we didn't realize there was a draft coming in from underneath the door.

We did not truly understand how profound and painful the process of raising and killing animals can be. For some, it gets easier with time, for others its no big deal and for some, it's quite am emotional roller coaster.

We've learned that we aren't all cut out for all things when it comes to homesteading. I love having animals here, I do not like having them die at our hands. My husband has mixed feelings about it. It's changed our approach to adding livestock to the homestead.

IMG_9359.jpg

Gardening and Crops

We've done well with growing large amounts of food, saving seeds and expanding our perennial food gardens. We just didn't know how hard it would be to prepare fields for growing. Our soil is clay and it's been super challenging and backbreaking to work. I had visions of crops in various fields and had big plans to become a "garlic tycoon" but its been REALLY hard! Potato bugs, drought, floods, we've seen it all. It can be disheartening to see a weeks worth of work rotting away from soggy feet.

We've learned to take smaller chunks and focus on smaller areas. Scaling up gradually is more realistic than trying to do it all at once. I've also learned to embrace the things that work well for us, like raised beds.

IMG_7750-1170x780.jpg

Old School VS Mechanical

I thought we would be doing most of the work old school with just our muscles. There were visions of how fit we were going to be. Maybe we would eventually get a mule or horse and work like the Amish.

The truth of the matter is that a wheelbarrow and 10,000 pounds of manure or gravel...takes a long time to move and is really inefficient. It also depletes your physical energy fast and is quite punishing. When you have acres to get around, it's also inefficient and jobs can take "too long" to be feasible. My husband picked up a used Kubota with hydrolic dump box and an old Massey Ferguson tractor. They've really become treasured tools saving us weeks of valuable time. they've made it possible to achieve things in a day that would have taken weeks to do by hand.

We've learned that there is a place for mechanical and physical work on the homestead. I still use human power as much as I can, a broadfork for example can be used in early spring when a tractor would just compact the soil. There is a place for both in our lives.

IMG_1003.jpg

Eating Like A Pioneer

We've done well with growing a lot of what we eat, preserving food for winter and keeping a well stocked pantry. We've learned how to can foods, freeze, dehydrate, ferment and brew. Our skills keep growing and this is an area where we've become really strong. It's hard work growing and preserving all that food. I spend a good six weeks in front of that stove just canning food. For dried goods we shop in bulk, store food properly and cook with raw ingredients. Our way of eating has really changed, I really like where we are going with our food efforts, but it is a lot more work that I had originally imagined it to be.

We've learned that it takes a heck of a lot of food (and work) to feed a family for a year. We probably won't ever be fully self reliant when it comes to food, not without sacrificing "comfort".

HBN-5075.jpg

Wood Heat

It's easy to have romantic notions, maybe even a little "Little House on The Prairie" esque type of imaginings about heating your home with wood. A home heated with wood is really quite cozy and nice. It's also a lot of work. We've burned through five cords of wood so far this year. It's been a particularly cold winter here. I swear to you, I've held at least half of those logs probably five times. From lifting moving and stacking them into the Kubota, to stacking them in the wood sheds, to hauling them to the wood furnace, or fireplace in the house.

With 90 acres of woods to manage, we also do a lot of work cutting up and hauling out fallen trees from the woods. Wood heat is really physical. You can't have "too much" wood on hand.

we've learned that to be properly prepared, we need a LOT more wood on hand that we realized. We need wood for the year plus wood for the next year stacked and seasoning.

IMG_6102.jpg

We love this life and wouldn't change it for anything but it is far from a "simple life". Every day we learn new things, face new challenges and this is a good thing. It keep us sharp. We are apprentice mechanics, plumbers, carpenters, woods(wo)men, gardeners, food producers & innovators. The freedom to grow and develop skills in so many areas is quite frankly AMAZING! I am so glad that we are homesteaders.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

All sounds so true. Been there done that!

Homesteading is not for the faint of heart. It takes more work than some folks want to put in. If you are willing to put in the time, effort and jump in with both feet with no grandiose ideas, it is well worth it. And homesteading is different for each person/family. What is right for you may not be good for me. It depends on our values and where we are in life. You have learned some great lessons and give good advice based on your experiences. I enjoy your posts!

I 100% agree with you- it is not for the faint of heart and for people who watch the TV shows that romanticize the lifestyle.

I thought that we had really practical ideas about what this lifestyle would be like, but there were definitely some things that we really didn't quite "get" until we actually did them. When you've got an axe, and a wood stump and a chicken .... things get very real.

You are right @cecicastor homesteading is different for every person.

Eating like a pioneer is the one that spoke to me the most.
Learning to:

  • Preserve and can
  • Dehydrate
  • Ferment
  • And NOT waste

All things I believe the majority the population don't do, know how to do or have ever wanted to do.

Going back to basics. Learning forgotten skills. So many skills are gone now; with no one to teach newer generations.

Gardening and filling the pantry with the food we grow and gather is my favourite part of this lifestyle :)

With so many people teaching themselves old skills, and then sharing them, at least there is a growing amount of resources available. Imagine trying to learn how to do all of this without the internet and libraries filled with books? I would be lost!

Mine too. When I'm in the garden or kitchen I am my happiest; always have been.
I still have many more skills I want to learn and am hoping to do so in the next few years.

Wow your pantry looks amazing - so tidy and organised. Yip firewood is a major - there's only me here to cut gather and stack so it takes a lot of time and energy - I don't have any other way to heat my house so it just has to be done. Growing veges for the family is also a lot of work - I'm lucky I don't have to grow so much for 1 but I'm still learning not to waste the surplus.

It really is true, when it's your only option, it just has to be done. I really appreciate and respect how hard you work!

There are down times like now when the calves are reared and the firewood is almost done for the year - in saying that I'm having a huge gum tree down next week and that will take some cleaning um - the benefit is that I can use every part of it and kindling - so no splitting yippee! Lots of preserving to do now though.

I guess you'll soon be enjoying the quieter season as we begin the busy one! It's so nice learning about your homestead life across the pond. I was realizing that I've never actually seen a fig tree.

I love stocking the pantry but I get a bit grumpy near the end when I want to be doing other things and not be stuck in the kitchen day and night! Our stock is getting low on the stuff we love to eat and I am realizing that we have way too many green beans!

Lol beans are my least favorite thing!! What do you preserve most of? - I've just done tomatoes into soup, sauce and some puree, beetroot and I'm freezing my spring onions etc

I would say tomatoes and apples are two foods that we preserve a lot of. we do apples a dozen or more different ways. I love beets, we've still got some left thankfully!

Congratulations! You are now an Official Featured Blogger on Sotall.org. This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. You can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

We're at the very early stages of our homesteading journey. It's been around a year and even in that short time we've made and learnt from our mistakes. It certainly isn't an easy journey but I think it's one of the most rewarding. You've compiled some great advice from your retrospectives and even though we're in entirely different environments, I've learnt a thing or two from this. We have around an acre to manage and I'm still young enough and confident I can take on the challenges of living off the land. Time will tell how that goes. I've learnt that nothing usually goes to plan and there always has to be scope for improvising.

The younger the better I envy those of you who are still in your 20's and 30's and starting out. I wish we had been able to start sooner. I love following your journey, you've chosen an exciting adventure!

Many fall in love with the romantic notion of homesteading and living off of the land without fully realizing how much work is involved in the "simpler" life! I have been amazed on how much wood is actually needed to heat a 320 square foot cabin. Next winter I will be better prepared!

Exactly... but in real life there are no edits, retakes and do-overs. I enjoy watching some of the shows, mainly because they can give me ideas for gardening, repairs, etc

Its true, in real life what you do, you live with. If I could take back some of the things, like killing all those baby quail or raising pigs ... I probably would. Those were harsh lessons. I LOVED raising pigs and we were really good at it ... killing them still haunts me though. I don't think I could ever do that again.

We've missed out on most of these homesteading type shows, we don't have cable/satellite and our internet is horrible. IF I had TV I would watch them though, I like seeing what others are doing even if its edited. I do have wartime farms on DVD and have watched it probably 20 times (lol). You can watch it on youtube if it ever strikes your fancy. (It's really, really good) I have learned a whole bunch of useful vintage skills from that show!

it's true! We look at all the wood we have stacked and at the time it seems like so much, but we had a really cold winter, colder than usual. Right now we are being very cautious with wood and keeping the cabin cooler than we like because the woodpile is really getting low. Next winter we'll also be far better prepared. Each year we get better at knowing what we need to do.

Yes, the animal part is really hard, and never gets any easier. For the gardening part, I've found that working on balancing my soil has started to eliminate the pest and disease problems. I do use a broadfork in the gardens, but the first thing we bought was a tractor. Our disabled bodies can't do the heavy stuff. My mom cooked from scratch and that's the way I've always cooked too. Keeping an inventory of what you put up, how much was used, and how much to do the following year has been very helpful for me. And we've been heating with wood since 1978. We used to go out and collect wood, but when the disabilities got too pronounced, we started having log length delivered. We are reaching a point where we might have to go to cut and split delivered...

All good points! Excellent post!

Thanks for sharing @goldenoakfarm! You brought up some great points. I'll admit we have thought about how we'll do things as we get older or if our heath is compromised. I appreciate your insights.

This is a really useful post with some great insights. As a veggie with a meat eating family I have struggled with the idea of raising animals for food, but I am not a zealot. I considered it because, if you are going to eat meat then you should at least make sure that animal has a happy life before being slaughtered.

I believe everyone should know where their food comes from and should kill and prepare at least one animal to have proper respect for the life that is being taken. After much thought and discussion we have decided to not raise for meat beyond the odd chicken, mostly due to the labour involved, but to use less meat as a consequence.

As for wood heat, I urge everyone to look at rocket mass heater technology. A rocket heater will burn 2/3 less wood than a standard stove, and can store the heat for much much longer. They have been researched and developed by enthusiasts to the point where they are super clean burning and efficient and can be designed for many different purposes. I am planning to write some in depth posts to illuminate the community to their benefits.

I am in a similar position, a vegetarian in a meat eating family. My husband has adjusted his diet a lot to be more vegetarian for similar reasons as you have outlined. Going through the difficult process of slaughtering animals has been a life changing experience.

I look forward to reading your posts about rocket stoves, its certainly an interesting technology! I would like to build one in a specially built winter greenhouse, I've been thinking about it for a while but we have so many things to get done first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74