You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Lessons from The Walkerland Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

This is a really useful post with some great insights. As a veggie with a meat eating family I have struggled with the idea of raising animals for food, but I am not a zealot. I considered it because, if you are going to eat meat then you should at least make sure that animal has a happy life before being slaughtered.

I believe everyone should know where their food comes from and should kill and prepare at least one animal to have proper respect for the life that is being taken. After much thought and discussion we have decided to not raise for meat beyond the odd chicken, mostly due to the labour involved, but to use less meat as a consequence.

As for wood heat, I urge everyone to look at rocket mass heater technology. A rocket heater will burn 2/3 less wood than a standard stove, and can store the heat for much much longer. They have been researched and developed by enthusiasts to the point where they are super clean burning and efficient and can be designed for many different purposes. I am planning to write some in depth posts to illuminate the community to their benefits.

Sort:  

I am in a similar position, a vegetarian in a meat eating family. My husband has adjusted his diet a lot to be more vegetarian for similar reasons as you have outlined. Going through the difficult process of slaughtering animals has been a life changing experience.

I look forward to reading your posts about rocket stoves, its certainly an interesting technology! I would like to build one in a specially built winter greenhouse, I've been thinking about it for a while but we have so many things to get done first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62555.95
ETH 2435.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64