You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Lessons from The Walkerland Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Eating like a pioneer is the one that spoke to me the most.
Learning to:

  • Preserve and can
  • Dehydrate
  • Ferment
  • And NOT waste

All things I believe the majority the population don't do, know how to do or have ever wanted to do.

Going back to basics. Learning forgotten skills. So many skills are gone now; with no one to teach newer generations.

Sort:  

Gardening and filling the pantry with the food we grow and gather is my favourite part of this lifestyle :)

With so many people teaching themselves old skills, and then sharing them, at least there is a growing amount of resources available. Imagine trying to learn how to do all of this without the internet and libraries filled with books? I would be lost!

Mine too. When I'm in the garden or kitchen I am my happiest; always have been.
I still have many more skills I want to learn and am hoping to do so in the next few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32