You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Lessons from The Walkerland Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Many fall in love with the romantic notion of homesteading and living off of the land without fully realizing how much work is involved in the "simpler" life! I have been amazed on how much wood is actually needed to heat a 320 square foot cabin. Next winter I will be better prepared!

Sort:  

Exactly... but in real life there are no edits, retakes and do-overs. I enjoy watching some of the shows, mainly because they can give me ideas for gardening, repairs, etc

Its true, in real life what you do, you live with. If I could take back some of the things, like killing all those baby quail or raising pigs ... I probably would. Those were harsh lessons. I LOVED raising pigs and we were really good at it ... killing them still haunts me though. I don't think I could ever do that again.

We've missed out on most of these homesteading type shows, we don't have cable/satellite and our internet is horrible. IF I had TV I would watch them though, I like seeing what others are doing even if its edited. I do have wartime farms on DVD and have watched it probably 20 times (lol). You can watch it on youtube if it ever strikes your fancy. (It's really, really good) I have learned a whole bunch of useful vintage skills from that show!

it's true! We look at all the wood we have stacked and at the time it seems like so much, but we had a really cold winter, colder than usual. Right now we are being very cautious with wood and keeping the cabin cooler than we like because the woodpile is really getting low. Next winter we'll also be far better prepared. Each year we get better at knowing what we need to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62555.95
ETH 2435.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64