Eating Like Pioneers & Learning to Make Do

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)


I sit typing this while drinking a big mug of black coffee sprinkled with a bit of cocoa and sugar.


It's a mocha latte 'hold the latte,' not terrible but not very good either. I love coffee with cream and can't stand drinking coffee black. I'll try not to dwell on that too much as I sip my drink. I should be grateful that I am drinking coffee in any form. Coffee is an indulgence, and right now we are eating like pioneers.


We were not planning to eat like pioneers this month. We've been trying to limit our use of the grocery store for a while, relying more on our pantry than ever before but we still allowed ourselves indulgences. Once a week I would head to town to get some supplies.

The weekly drive to town stopped three weeks ago when the truck went in for some much-needed work. We only have one vehicle, so this meant we would be stranded until it was fixed. What was supposed to be a one week job is now trickling into three. In this time we haven't been able to go anywhere, and we've long since run out of some of the things we love to eat.

Sure we could call someone up and beg for a ride to town or borrow something but we like the challenge of making ourselves make do with what we have. It is good to put yourself into uncomfortable situations sometimes, you learn a lot about yourself and I think your skills and abilities expand as well. We are starting to see where we are weak in our food supplies. This will help us become better at stocking the pantry in future.

I feel like I understand pioneer living a bit more now. You quickly learn to make do with what you have when you've got no choice in the matter.

We live in this age of convenience where it is so easy to run to the store and get what's comfortable rather than learning to work with the ingredients that you do have. I've surprised myself with the creativity that's coming out of the kitchen in this time where my choices continue to dwindle.

When you are relying on what you've got, things you would never deem acceptable to eat regularly become a treasure. I've noticed that I look at the ingredients we have quite differently now.

Freshly baked bread and thick layers of sweet jam are not exactly health food at its finest, but when it's that or sit and listen to your belly growl, soon compromise becomes quite acceptable. When there are four eggs left, and the chickens aren't laying, those eggs become quite precious.

We are lucky because we've got a lot of food staples. Oats, beans, and lentils are highly nutritious and versatile. We've also got bags of frozen berries in the freezer, and there's loads of jam and tomato sauce that we canned.

We could go on eating like this for three months at least. I think we might even be able to stretch it to six months if we had to. By then we'd have a lot more food because we'd be back to growing and foraging. I'd rather not live this way all of the time, but I am glad to see that we would do alright.

Another thing I've learned is that we have too much of certain things that we don't often use (like cucumber relish). I won't grow so many cucumbers next summer. 40+ jars of relish are not quite so satisfying when you actually have to eat it.

I've got seeds sprouting on the counter for some fresh greens, and this is turning out to be quite a treat. We are in the depths of winter and having fresh food is what I miss most.

Honestly, this is an interesting experience, and we are better off for having done it. When the truck is back in our posession, you can bet the first thing I'll be doing is heading to town. For now, the empty glass jars keep piling up as we eat our homegrown preserves. The coffee although bitter, does it's job and I am grateful that we won't run out of it for a while yet.

We are warm, safe and well fed. Worst case we've got plenty of homeade wine to comfort the soul with. It's potent stuff and warms you to your toes.

How long could you go with the food you've got in the house? Have you ever tested this? I'd love to hear your story.



Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/eating-like-pioneers-learning-to-make-do/

Sort:  

Really good food for thought. I consume very little dairy, but I do like cream in coffee. Hope the truck is home soon.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Thank you @pennsif! Much appreciated.

I don't have a garden but I'm sure I could go at least 2 weeks with what I have at home BUT I would not be able to get all the nutrition that I need. We're both vegan and we try to eat as versatile as possible so we would definitely be missing greens at home if we would do such experiment.

It sounds so exciting that you do it though! We think that we need much more than we actually do need. I remember when we had a garden back home we would never go to the shop. We would grow veggies and fruits, my mom would bake bread and make pasta and we would have meat, eggs and milk from our farm (well, I wasn't vegan at that time). The only think that we would buy would be pasta and some legumes that we didn't grow (such as lentils).

I wish you a lot of strength during this time and I am sure that you can make it and you'll be feeling great about living in such a way for a while :)

I hope that your truck will be fixed soon :)

Have a lovely start of the week!

40+ jars of relish are not quite so satisfying when you actually have to eat it.

Ha!!! I've been guilty of those kinds of jars... in the end throwing them out years later!!

We just got a new fridge and when we cleaned out the old one there were half empty jars of stuff we hadn't touched on months. I have vowed to go to.supermarket LESS and make do.

I don't mind black coffee but instant??? No thanks. I make sure we have a few kilos of beans at all times lol.

Lucky we live in a place where even in the dead of winter we have silverbeet and beetroot tops for greens. And as long as I have my giant jar of jalapenos and preserved lemon for zing and olives for salty bite I an make do. Actually sauted greens and spring onions with brown rice and jalapenos and preserved lemon is delish. Even more delish when I have halloumi which I usually have about 4 blocks of in fridge so yeah I'd miss that!!

But I like making do.. it's creative and interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Our fridge hardly has anything in it right now. It's mostly just jars of fermented food and condiments. I know what you are talking about though, I've been there and thought the same. I hate wasting.

You really are lucky to live in a climate where you can grow something all year long. The shortage of freshness is something we need to solve. Winter is LONG and I just get so tired of canned and frozen.

All the tasty looking foodie photos are making me drool. That grilled cheese post you wrote has me talking about cheese and grilled things to my husband. He is laughing at me because he says I've never spoke of cheese with such longing before. Those little luxuries in life are really nice.

I looked at a map thinking I might walk to the nearest shop but a seven-hour trip in cold, snowy, slippery, windy conditions just doesn't' seem worth it. I'm going to pop some corn and have a glass of wine instead. :)

Dude, you have wine, it's all good!! He he xxx

I can't live without greens so do empathise.

Posted using Partiko Android

It really IS all good!

I'd cry if I tried to count how long we could last on our pantry 😂

We'll be getting into preserving this year, I can't wait. Mom has said she'll give us her jars and canning supplies that she hasn't used in a long time. Looking forward to the adventure!

How exciting! I bet you will love it. It takes time to build up a pantry, but its totally worth it! Once you start preserving it will start to feel really good I bet! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello dear! It’s been a while since I’ve checked in and what a perfect post in which to do so! I love the exploratory nature you’re viewing this snowed in experience with! It’s like an experiment nd I echo what you said about it being good for us to test ourselves in this way. Good thing ya got that homestead wine :) it’s a great way to tap in to the reality of what we wish to grow and put away next summer! Xoxox

Hello Lovely, so glad to hear from you. It has been good and interesting. You are right, it has me thinking about the garden quite a bit. Much love to you. xx

That's an impressive pantry of canned goods! I imagine it's a good feeling to know that you would be all right with what you have, if you had to be. That is our goal, too: to get to the point where we are able to enjoy modern, store-bought comforts; but also have confidence that we would be fine without them if it ever came down to it.

It is a good feeling, and it has been such a lot of work. Time like these help to reinforce that it is worth the effort and thought. So glad to hear from like minded people on this subject! :)

Wonderful to read others living rural survival grade. I live in woods, I just went over 2 months without water due to big snow freeze and underground pipes breaking. I caught rain water and made me a porta-potty with a plastic salad bowl placed in toilet. I have Stanley Irish wood cook stove, so I heated rain water to wash up with. I also grow my own as much as possible and have a pantry; I encourage others to do the same. I survived over 2 months in a situation where some one whom was not educated in rural survival & traditional lifestyles would go freakin nuts ;) I was at peace. Cheers

Well done on being so resourceful and calm during more challenging times. Thanks so much for sharing your story, very interesting indeed. It is such a good feeling to test ourselves from time to time (although it is often unplanned).

Yes, I felt calm about everything as I knew I had food, rain water, crap control, heat....roof over my head.....I feel fortunate. I lost my phone and internet too for a couple of weeks during that time. I did tell my friends however to look at Richard Wagner's life, he composed exceptional music and he did not live any differently than I was at the time......:) Cheers, glad to have found this community....

My husband and I could live for weeks on venison and canned green beans....I canned some insane number of quarts of green beans last summer, like 50-60 jars, so those are my version of endless cucumber relish 😆 And bread and jam is truly one of my favorite things, eclipsed only by baking powder biscuits and jam. I'd happily "survive" and gain like 20 pounds on that diet!

mmmm. I love biscuits and I love green beans. I wihs we were neighbours!! That is so great that you have an abundance. My husband wishes we had some venison and plans to hunt next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32