You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eating Like Pioneers & Learning to Make Do

in #homesteading5 years ago

40+ jars of relish are not quite so satisfying when you actually have to eat it.

Ha!!! I've been guilty of those kinds of jars... in the end throwing them out years later!!

We just got a new fridge and when we cleaned out the old one there were half empty jars of stuff we hadn't touched on months. I have vowed to go to.supermarket LESS and make do.

I don't mind black coffee but instant??? No thanks. I make sure we have a few kilos of beans at all times lol.

Lucky we live in a place where even in the dead of winter we have silverbeet and beetroot tops for greens. And as long as I have my giant jar of jalapenos and preserved lemon for zing and olives for salty bite I an make do. Actually sauted greens and spring onions with brown rice and jalapenos and preserved lemon is delish. Even more delish when I have halloumi which I usually have about 4 blocks of in fridge so yeah I'd miss that!!

But I like making do.. it's creative and interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Our fridge hardly has anything in it right now. It's mostly just jars of fermented food and condiments. I know what you are talking about though, I've been there and thought the same. I hate wasting.

You really are lucky to live in a climate where you can grow something all year long. The shortage of freshness is something we need to solve. Winter is LONG and I just get so tired of canned and frozen.

All the tasty looking foodie photos are making me drool. That grilled cheese post you wrote has me talking about cheese and grilled things to my husband. He is laughing at me because he says I've never spoke of cheese with such longing before. Those little luxuries in life are really nice.

I looked at a map thinking I might walk to the nearest shop but a seven-hour trip in cold, snowy, slippery, windy conditions just doesn't' seem worth it. I'm going to pop some corn and have a glass of wine instead. :)

Dude, you have wine, it's all good!! He he xxx

I can't live without greens so do empathise.

Posted using Partiko Android

It really IS all good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32