OLD BARN № 007

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)
This beautiful barn was quite problematic for me to photograph. As it faces north, the sun is always to the south and glaring back into the camera lens. Even driving past this barn at different times-of-day was not much help because of the angle of the sun. It finally dawned on me that going on an overcast day might work, as the clouds would be distributing the light more evenly. That tactic worked!

OldBarn-007.jpg
• OLD BARN № 007, PHOTO BY ME •

The weathered wood is incredible, and the design of the barn is wonderful! It is a large structure with two levels. Based on the large double-doors and the hay-door above them, this barn was probably used for horses/mules or cattle. Storage on both sides for farming equipment is always handy to have, and the window above the hay-door (as well as another on the back-side of the barn) provides additional light.

The most curious thing to me is the triangular device against the barn. I am not sure if it is attached to the structure, or just resting there. I can't imagine what function it provides, never having lived on a farm. It is possible, too, that it is merely a decorative item, perhaps representing the "brand" that was once used on livestock. It's always been there every time I have driven past this barn, and adds a delightful touch to the scene, regardless of what it is!

As I've done with the past couple of barns in my Old Barn Project, I checked it out on Google Maps "Street View" and it seems to be in the same condition today as it was when I photographed it. It is nice to see such a lovely structure given good care.

OldBarn-007-Gmaps.jpg
• ENHANCED PHOTO FROM GOOGLE MAPS "STREET VIEW" •

ThanksForReading.png 😊


!steemitworldmap 34.962677 lat -82.633388 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR


SeeOtherPosts--Barns.png

Sort:  

Old wooden structures always appear to have a story of their own, lovely photography and good choice going back on an overcast day @thekittygirl

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-barn-007


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

you are doing a great job, not just photographing curious places but giving us interestings facts about them. Congrats lovely kitty!

I love old buildings and thay barn is quite beautiful. Did you manage to get the shot on an overcast day? Sounds like that could have solved the evil camera glare issue.

I think you did very well with this - love the textures and wonder the stories this barn has to tell. I have also learned that for some photographs I need to take for the properties I market, overcast is best.

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

Oooo, that's something that would've never occurred to me, @thekittygirl! I'll keep that overcast day reducing glare thingy in my back pocket, for future reference. And holy cannoli, did that ever work for you - that photo is awesome! The barn looks like it's got a million awesome stories to tell - excellent capture!

For me this looks like there're a lot of stories in it. Like in a movie. :-)

Are you able to walk up to it? 😬 Just curious ... wonder what stories it holds ...
Thanks for sharing @thekittygirl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56