OLD BARN № 004

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)
I was reminded recently by @sultnpapper that I have been remiss of late in sharing photos from my "Old Barn Project" series. In retrospect, I had only shared three of them before dashing off into photos of flowers, mountains, crystals, stones, science topics, and all the myriad things that interest me.

So, I present to you the fourth barn in my Old Barn Project. This charming little barn, as many others in the area, is made with redwood planks ~or~ stained to look like it was. It is interesting to note that this barn appears to have been expanded at some point in time as the planking on the right side of the barn is different than on the left side. The barn also appears to be leaning, likely due to settling of the ground underneath. I wish I could have gotten a clearer photo of it, but that was not possible without contacting the landowner and attempting to gain access to the pasture in which the barn is located.

OldBarn-004.jpg
• PHOTO & PROCESSING BY ME •

Whether this is still an operational barn, I do not know, but it was used at one point for storing hay for livestock. That is apparent by the presence of the "hay door" (the square opening in upper-left) that provides access to the hay loft. Bales of hay were once hoisted — either manually from the back of a wagon, or via a rope attached to a block-and-tackle pulley system — through that opening for storage. Many barns in this area feature a hay door.

Since I like trying different editing techniques on photographs, I added some pastel effects to this old barn, and I like the results! I think this gives the scene more "character" than my original photo. What do you think?

OldBarn--pastel.jpg
• PHOTO & PROCESSING BY ME •

ThanksForReading.png 😊


!steemitworldmap 34.881635 lat -82.667602 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR


SeeOtherPosts--Barns.png

Sort:  

Well that was quick, thanks for being so responsive. I could use a pepperoni pizza and six pack of Corona too.
Nice old barn, spend many a summer day working the block and tackle storing hay, that brings back some memories for me, now I'm itching just looking at the picture.
Thanks for sharing this, and the pastels do enhance it for sure.

If I had your address, I'd send you a pizza, just for the comedic value of it! LOL! Thanks for confirming my suspicion that the pastels were an enhancement! 😊

I wouldn't doubt you would send one, I figured it would be a picture of one though.

this photo is realy very nice .. nice post friend .. have a nice day

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-barn-004


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I LOVE old barns! We have so many around here and I am always snapping pictures and wondering what happened to the family farm and curious as to why they stopped farming

Lovely photo. I should pm you for some photography tips. I'm a bit of a hobbyist.

This is an amazing barn photo. Im jealous where is this?

Looks like gorgeous country. I'd love to take a walk with you there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60661.72
ETH 2395.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56