OLD BARN № 005

in #homesteading6 years ago
This more simplistic style of barn is called a granary. The upper level in the center is used for storing threshed grain or animal feed.[1] The storage room is elevated well above ground level to prevent rodents and other critters from getting into it. The "lean to" porticoes on both sides of granary-style barns are typically used as animal pens or for storing tractors and other equipment out of the rain.

OldBarn-005.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The above photograph was taken several years ago when I first encountered this barn and added it to my Old Barn Project. Because I wanted to add it to the #steemitworldmap project, I looked at the location on Google Maps today to get the latitude and longitude of the spot where the photo was taken. I was surprised to discover that the "Street View" seems to indicate that the owners cleared the land immediately around the barn so that the full structure is now visible. I took the following screenshot and processed it in the same way I did the above photo:

OldBarn-005b.jpg
• PHOTO BY GOOGLE MAPS, "STREET VIEW" •

Now I suppose I should revisit the barn and get another shot of my own without the bushes and weeds in the way!

ThanksForReading.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Granary

!steemitworldmap 34.961915 lat -82.636734 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR


SeeOtherPosts--Barns.png

Sort:  

That is a great idea, i should have a place that isn't on the map and go check it out to be added to the map. Thanks for sharing with us during the show!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

pretty pictures, I once took a trip down the eat coast of Australia, photographing old railway bridges...unfortunately, I lost them. :)

Awesome photo. Having a collection of barns is quite a journey and challenging. :-)

Very cool! I love old historic stuff like that.

Reminds some of the barns around here! I live in the countryside so see many kinds of barns here! Upvoted :)

My wife’s family has a gristmill in her family, great Great grand father

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=old-barn-005


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It is very charming standing against the lush greenery. The weathered wood, probably birds nesting inside... Reminders of a still life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80