We're Trying To Propagate Wild Oyster Mushrooms For Cheap On Cardboard! (Video)

About a week or so ago, I posted an article about some mushrooms that I found growing on a tree in the back yard. I detailed the research that it took to positively identify them as Pleurotus ostreatus, more commonly known as oyster mushrooms (You can read that article right here. I kept them in a ziplock bag while I researched them, because oyster mushrooms are very popular edible species; unfortunately, by the time I had convinced myself they they were in fact P. ostreatus, they had begun to look old. Instead of letting them go to waste, I decided to try propagating them on some cardboard.

I've never tried growing mushrooms, before, so this is just an experiment. I'll have to be looking up what to do with my new fungal growth, just in case it works.

CHECK OUT THE VIDEO!

Growing Wild Oyster Mushrooms On The Cheap: Propagating On Cardboard


Sort:  

Keep us posted on the progress! I tried to grow them from storebought oyster mushrooms on used coffee grounds. Eventually it didn't work out, but I was on the right track! See here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@nerdi/grow-your-own-series-1-oyster-mushrooms-the-easy-way

So far, I think it is working. I spent some time this evening taking what I've grown so far and inoculating some more cardboard. I think I will need more if I want to grow the actual mushrooms. I hope to have the post ready within the next couple of days.

I did read some about growing oyster mushrooms in coffee grounds. Are you going to give it another try?

Someday I will, for sure. Right now it's not really a priority and I also got a couple of inoculated wooden logs for Christmas, so I'm good for now :-)

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



That is awesome! Thank you!

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44