Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 903 : Visit to the Walled Garden Treberfydd near Brecon [part 1]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

After writing my homestead dream post about growing bananas I started researching wall gardens.

Today I went of my first 'research and learn' trip to the Walled Garden Treberfydd near Brecon.

I went there to attend a Plant Propagation course that I will talk about in part 2.

The Walled Garden Treberfydd is a commercial plant nursery run by Alison Sparshatt. Alison bought it when it was very run down four years ago.

As well as selling a wide range of garden plants Walled Garden Treberfydd also runs a series of courses throughout the year.

The garden was part of the adjacent Treberfydd House who started leasing it out about 50 years ago when they could no longer afford its upkeep. At its peak the House employed five or six full time gardeners to look after the walled garden.

The house can just be seen in the background of this photo.

Although the walls are of a traditional walled garden, the layout has been altered for commercial purposes and the original wooden greenhouse on the south facing wall was removed.

The plot of the walled gardens is on a slope and so the walls are stepped and there is a step down half way across the gardens.

The gardens have a beautiful old wooden side gate. These wooden gates capture the magical mysterious essence of walled gardens for me.

The Walled Garden has magnificient displays of flowers - both common like these dahlia and michaelmas daisies and many more unusual varieties.


The nursery also has a wide range of plants to sell all year round. Most of the plants they sell are propagated and grown on site.

I will be doing a follow up post to this one with details about the Plant Propagation course - it was excellent and I learnt a lot.

Unfortunately while I was there I could not get access to take a photo of the main Treberfydd House - hopefully I will be able to get there when they open it to the public twice a year.

The House is available for weddings and exclusive events. Maybe we could hire it for a first SteemFest Wales 😎

I did manage to get a snap of Saddlery Cottage, one of the two properties that Treberfydd House rents out on a self-catering basis. Ideal for the Hay Festival of Literature & Arts, the Glanusk Green Man festival or the Abergavenny Food Festival.

That's all for now.

The part 2 post about the Plant Propagation course follows shortly.


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  

thx for sharing

I love those old gardens! I'd move to the UK just have one haha. I imagine they help with inclement weather as well?

Yes I think part of the reason for the walled gardens was to give a more stable environment. And I guess there would have been some retention of heat from the sun in the walls.

It's really beautiful! We might have to consider walling in our garden if we ever get our forever property. Hoping to move to northern Idaho eventually so it could help a bit with the growing season!

Ah yes. I've watched The Grass-fed Homestead on YouTube. They are in Idaho aren't they? It looks much colder in the winter there.

They are though I'm not sure where in idaho, it's a big state. We want to eventually move to northern idaho!

Idaho looks to be a big open space. Is land quite cheap there?

I'd say it's reasonably priced. I just found a listing for 15 acres for $160,000. We decided on idaho for the laws and then northern idaho for the climate

On one hand I wish I could see it as it was in the old days, on the other hand I wouldn't want to wear a corset so I'll be satisfied viewing your wonderful photos! The wooden gate/door is beautiful! I hope you get to take photos inside when they have the open house you mentioned.

Yes I love the wooden gate. I am planning on a visiting a few more of these old walled gardens to compare.

This one has been kept alive by being used commercially. Others have been pulled down or left derelict.

That's so sad. Though abandoned buildings do have their own pull.

Some friends of ours bought a hotel recently that had a walled garden. But they could not afford the public liability insurance for the walled garden so they pulled it down. Nooooooooo....

Gosh I miss Europe, your photo's bring me back, so much heritage and century culture, thanks for sharing your beautiful country.

Glad you like the photos. I'll do some more posts like this if people are interested.

I just love it. We get to see the world

thank you for sharing valuable information.

That is so awesome. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! Waiting for more posts! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42