Homesteaders - Living Naturally, Newsletter. 1st May 2019

Well look at that, it's May Day! The first day of the last spring month in the north and autumn in the south. I'm pretty relieved because we got our first decent rainfall in months last night, here in South Australia. It's amazing how quickly brown grass can start to look greener again when it gets a good drink. Let's hope we have a break in the droughts on the agenda this winter. Weather has been rather contrary the world over, these last couple of years and you are certainly more aware of it when you live with the land.

Things happening in the community.

@sagescrub has put forward a support application on behalf of @homesteaderscoop for @curie's Community Building effort. If accepted this could be a good boost to help the Co-op with marketing and growth. If you are fairly new to what the Homesteaders Co-op is about, this application gives a great explanation.

Another like-minded community making their @curie application is @naturalmedicine. Read more about them and how they plan to use the support if received here.

Over at @theinnerblocks there have been updates to their dApp as the project continues to move forward. Read more about it here.

@ecotrain has part 2 of its challenge up. They are taking entries until 9th May, so there is plenty more time to get them in. You don't have to have completed part one and you don't have to be a passenger to enter, so have a look at the challenge and see if you can come up with something.

On the subject of contests and challenges, @wildhomesteading is running one for homesteaders and gardeners. Full details can be found in this post. Also, @simplymike's Community Garden Journal Challenge has two days left for entries. It's a busy week for challenges and these are always great opportunities for getting your work noticed if you're still fairly new here.

Welcoming Newcomers

I didn't find any newcomers this week, but a fairly new and upcoming user who stood out to me is @clifun who arrived in September last year. I'd like to share their most recent post on discovering the benefits of learning how to sharpen a chainsaw blade instead of buying a new one each time. Waste not!
chain.jfif

Some highlights of the week

@sustainablyyours is hoping to grow 100 pounds of potatoes in a box. Read about his research in preparation for this and you can follow on with his video on preparing and planting the box..
sus.jfif

@thebigsweed is on a mission to build a garden which gets you off your knees! Follow his step by step to building a raised planter.
box.jfif

Have you ever read the ingredients lists on boxed cereals and do you ever feel guilty about all that packaging which goes to waste when you've finished the box? To me, the huge lists of ingredients rarely make sense when the obvious ingredients are really that simple. @homesteadhippy shares this simple and wholesome strawberry granola recipe which looks and sounds just delicious.
granola.png

Two food posts this week!? I'm sorry, but I couldn't resist. Here's another from @artemislives that I just had to share and plan to try myself to see if my family like them before I go a bit mad and buy chickpeas in bulk. These Crunchy Indian Marsala Chickpeas look mouthwateringly good!
chi.jfif

Thank you for stopping by. This week's newsletter was brought to you by @minismallholding.




Homesteaders Co-op


Our Free, Community Marketplace

Shop with pride: Our vendors are committed to sustainability for a healthier planet. As a Co-operative we are community run. And unlike other marketplaces our vendors are not charged fees or commissions. Vendors: Learn more

Support Our Alternative Economy


Logo design by FireFly Creations - illustrator & artist available for commission

Sort:  

Great selection of articles, and I love how you present them. Glad you got rain - we had a little bit this morning, but not alot. It's a strange sound, isn't it, when it comes in?

I loved @artemislives chickpea post, and those raised planters look pretty cool. I'll leave the tool sharpening to the hubby! Thanks for putting this together, it's appreciated by us all.

Thank you

I wasn't expecting the rain to start until today and it had been warm and sunny all day. So my laundry was out and when I got back in the evening it was drenched again!

Oh gosh. Well... it's just hit here. And I put my washing under eaves so never a problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

It usually reaches Victoria shortly after our before us, but I hope its not all left us and we have a bit more yet to come! I like that it's for for evenings at the moment so I can sort the chickens out in the day without getting drenched.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, wouldn't that be ideal. Rain all night, sunshine in day. It's not even soaking in.. just big puddles everywhere...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the inclusion, and thank you for bringing the rest of the highlighted articles to my attention. Those last two made me super hungry!

You're welcome.

Haha! Those last two make me want to raid the cupboards! Unfortunately I haven't made them yet...

Posted using Partiko Android

Lot's happening! Thanks for pulling this all together for us!

Yes, it's a busy week this week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the mention in this post @homesteaderscoop, it is greatly appreciated. Read the other 2 posts you also included. I really enjoyed them both. Have added #homesteaderscoop to my follow list.
Thanks again for your support.

Always appreciated!
Always humbled! thebigsweed

Very much my pleasure. Always lots going on at HSCO so well look forward to seeing you around.

Posted using Partiko Android

Really great newsletter @minismallholding! I love chana masala and it was nice t see this recipe here for cruncy chana masala! :)

Thanks for including our Curie application effort... we got some support from them after all!

Thank you.
That was fantastic news on the curie support. I'm looking forward to seeing all the marketing efforts, hopefully soon to come. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, me too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68