Melting Aluminum In A Homemade DIY Furnace Foundry - AGAINsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

The "AGAIN" part of the title is because a few years back I posted a video of the first furnace that boys experimented with. Man! did that bring some bipolar emotional comments! Wow... I'm happy that people are concerned for the safety of my boys, but sheesh LOL.

Melting Aluminum

This video shows a new and improved furnace foundry. I forgot that this video existed. While digging around in my old videos I stumbled across this moment and decided to share it today. Perhaps someone will learn a little something and be inspired to use these ideas or improve upon them for their own creations.

Homeschool Fun!

My family is all about letting the kids experiment with science and they are allowed to experience the outdoors. To me there is no greater education than what nature and imagination can provide. My boys decided to do this all on their own. I let them. They have this cool looking aluminum trophy to show for it. They are not likely to forget this experience because they were allowed to work through the process on their own. The design of the furnace is theirs, the process was completed 100% by them.

900300-furnace.png

What good is a trophy...

if you can't shoot it! This was the next logical step for my boys. What was this aluminum trophy good for except to see how it reacts to being SHOT! Haha, I thought it was great. They practice good range safety and like to see what the impact of different calibers have on different materials. Again... education that the schools cannot provide.

P1060623.00_00_16_20.Still005.png


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - HAT GIVEAWAY! - E1723
daddykirbs blogWhat is a Silver Lining? - Embrace Community
daddykirbs blogThe Daddykirbs Live Show Getting Lively-er
daddykirbs blogWin A Daddykirbs Hat! - Watch this video to learn how [ 🔴 My Video Inside ]
daddykirbs blog[STEEMGIG] PREPPERS Identifier Badge - Customized FOR YOU! 😎


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

That sounds like my kind of school! Can I sign up for the Fall semester?

This reminds me that I have a truck load of coal that I haven't done anything with. I want to make some bronze castings with it.

Bronze castings sounds like loads of fun! That might be a little harder to achieve. The melting point is a bit over 1200 degrees F, but bronze is about 500 degrees hotter :)

Loved the video and yes experiments can be hot. You are doing a great job @daddykirbs!

@daddykirbs Fascinating. What made the boys decide to melt the aluminum in the first place? Oh By the way, anybody who knows you, knows that your boys were properly supervised while doing this so don't let the nay sayers get you down.

I'm not actually sure why they wanted to do it. Normally I don't know the motivation... only to observe and offer kind advice to help keep them out of trouble (It doesn't always work LOL).

if this is an old video on your yt channel I guess I did not snoop far enough back as I don't recall seeing this before today :/ I'm sure glad you don't go mad doc on the animals :D thanks for sharing :)

There was the one video about their first attempt at a furnace.

ok yes I seen this but figured the other video was right after this one as in what the melted metal was used for :) thanks for the reminder sir :D Hope everybody under your roof and on the grounds is having a great weekend :)

Oh ok, nope. There was no follow up video. I am considering a full video from start to finish on this simple furnace. When my boys get together later this year we'll try to make it happen.

sweet I'll look forward to it :) so was it your oldest who kept saying something about finger printing the hot aluminium ? :O

Yes he's a big goof ball!

My oldest son. My oldest child is a lovely young lady :)

I've been wanting to do some aluminum casting for quite a few years now, but I've never gotten around to building the charcoal furnace that I have the plans for. I even have two 5 gallon buckets of green sand from an aluminum foundry that used to be in business in the local area.

How cool! What type of things do you hope to make?

The original plan was to make parts for a large scale railroad car, there's lots of other interesting ideas, like miniature engine blocks and things like that. I don't have any of the machining tools necessary to finish something like a miniature engine block, but it's fun to think about.

Congratulations @daddykirbs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I always thought this would be a fun project to do....maybe one day I'll get the chance!

Fun stuff! I have thought that it would be fun to do some kind of "Daddykirbs Coin" made from waste aluminum. I just need to make a good mold for it.

That seems like such a lot of fun!

Fantastic best way to learn by doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46