Feverfew Flourishing, Harvesting Yarrow Seeds & Seed Inventory For Upcoming Seed Exchange GiveawaysteemCreated with Sketch.

Feverfew Flourishing, Harvesting Yarrow Seeds & Seed Inventory For Upcoming Seed Exchange Giveaway


So much to share today... so let's get started


Feverfew Indoors Is Flourishing


ff3.jpg


I have been diligently watching the growth of this new herb that I just started growing in this container a few months back. I knew of its medicinal properties before starting the seedlings back in September and I am thrilled with how much it has grown and how lush and healthy it has become.

The reason I am choosing to grow feverfew is because it is said to help with ringing in the ears (tinnitus), dizziness, nausea and vomiting; all symptoms I suffer from on a daily basis with my Meniere's Disease.

ff2.jpg


Plus, as its namesake, feverfew is good for reducing fever; a fact I had forgotten about until I was reading a dystopian fiction book the other day and feverfew was used as an herbal medicinal remedy by the characters in the book.

I figure I will eventually transplant this one outside in the spring into my front herb garden; then start a new container of feverfew from seedling at that time. I plan on keeping the herb and plant at my disposal whether spring, summer, winter or fall.

I'm hoping this container will suffice until the spring transplant, or I will be doing an indoors transplant to a larger pot soon. The way the plant is growing, I may have to be prepared for a quick transplant in the coming months.


Yarrow Seeds Harvested & Dried Out For Next Season's Planting


Some of you may remember a few weeks ago on one of my morning walks that I spotted wild yarrow growing on the edge of our property, then I went back last week and snatched a few dried up yarrow flowers and seeds. I even did a market friday post last week about it.

Well, after they had a chance to warm up and dry out more, I harvested the seeds and added them to my seed arsenal and inventory.

yarrow plant.jpg


I was half tempted to try and count the seeds but decided to eye-ball the count. I guessed at about 200 seeds. And that's just from ONE flower. Not a bad day's haul in my mind.


yw2.jpg


Seed Inventory Happening Today


I sat down this morning to take an inventory for two different reasons.

  1. To make sure my seed order for next year is more prepared and ready
  2. To see which seeds I can possibly giveaway starting next Monday with the Homesteadersonline Seed Exchange Giveaway

So, two reasons, one count; and I am good to go. Watch on Friday or Saturday for an update on my upcoming giveaway.


se3.jpg

Seed Exchange Giveaway


Speaking of seeds, inventory and such... stop over at @beatitudes8's seed exchange giveaway! You still have a few days to enter his seed giveaway; a giveaway the homesteadersonline community will be having for months to come.

And yours truly is a co-organizer (along with @beatitude8) of this seed giveaway and when I do mine next week, I have some surprises in store so check out this post for more information.

se1.jpg


FINAL NOTE to @gardengirlcanada


I did do some baking after your Discord comment...
Treats for my baby girl...


thumbnail.jpg


Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Feverfew Flourishing - say that 10 times!!!

Interesting, I didn't know that plant, looks a lot like parsley

lol- I know, right? Quite a tongue twister!

It does resemble parsley but feverfew is apparently part of the chrysanthemum family. When the flowers bloom they are like little daisies. That is what I am anxious for next summer; the flowers

Oh yes, look like little dog daisies, cute

I think you did a fantastic job on your Steemit world.
The article was interesting & engaging
I'll certainly look forward to reading further articles in your series

thank you for your comment, but a word of advice; you should really be careful about copy/paste the same response and comments into multiple posts. You can tend to offend people and lose reputation on here.

I took a class on how to make extracts and feverfew extract was one of the ones I made. It really did work when my child had a fever. Just a few drops and it reduced her temperature. :)

OH WOW! That is wonderful! I wish we had classes around here. I checked with my state's cooperative extension for gardening, herbs and all other topics and they have SOME... but the closest one was about a three hour drive from me. And since I have some personal (medical) restrictions for long driving, I wouldn't be able to go alone. I need a carpool buddy!

have you made a post about making the extracts? I would love to see it... or maybe... you could make one? That would be so cool!

Bummer that you can't find a class closer to you! Writing a post about making extracts is a great idea though, and I think I will definitely do that soon!! :)

AWESOME! I will watch for it. I have a new fascination with all things natural and herbal remedy.

Ok!! It probably won't be today but I'll tag you when I write it so you'll know. :) It is a fascinating subject!

Great information! I am sure you already know this, but for the newbies to foraging, yarrow is one of the wild plants that does have poisonous look a likes. Do your research and learn what the difference is or better yet, buy some seeds and plant some now for future use in emergency situations.

Absolutely! @fernowl13 is my favorite foraging steemian!

Yarrow is a new one for me. what will you use it for?
I cant wait to see what all you have in store for the HomesteadersOnline next week!

Use it to make herbal tea for nausea and stomach issues.
also will be attempting to make topical creams and salves for skin itching or rashes

I've never made herbal (medicinal) salves but I have been reading a lot about them. I am still on my trek to use more natural remedies.

Great article. Thanks for posting. I make balms (salves) and sell them in my website store (www.joyfulmountain.com). It's a very easy process, and it only takes a few minutes. All you need is oils (like coconut/olive, etc.), beeswax, and whatever medicinal oils you wish to add. Before you make it into a balm/salve, though, you need to infuse the herb into a carrier oil, like olive oil. Then it's just a few minutes away from being a salve. :) Next time I make a batch, I'll try to blog about it.

You do??? I will have to check out your website!
AWESOME!! thank you for the information... I have all those ingredients in my little world (kitchen), I just need to set aside some time to make ones that are beneficial to my family's needs.

I have dried yarrow already in an infused oil (olive oil) been setting up for almost three weeks. I had planned ahead for this- all these herbal and home remedies take time. You just can't wake up one day and say... I'm gonna make this... make that

I value you advice and opinion- thank you AGAIN!

Congratulations @goldendawne you have WON...

a world class mention by master post finder Albertus de Saad. Currently using the steemit account @steph4nus. Find your mention by clicking here.

Join me on my Discord Channel by clicking on this
link.

Calling !originalworks please

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @goldendawne to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you!!!!
Will check out the post!

@goldendawne I can see the passion you have for this from the way you analyse it, you are doing a great job keep it @theheralds

What a lovely post. I haven't planted feverfew but I did buy the tincture this spring. Do you make your own tinctures? I will make sure to get seeds for next spring. I also like to save my seeds. Every year I get more organized. I have followed you and will keep an eye out for your upcoming posts.

No I don't...yet. BUT... fellow steemian @snowpea does and she just did a new post the other day on how to make them. She took a class on how to make tinctures and now I'm super excited to try it myself.

This is very cool. I love growing plants indoors. I'm hoping to have a protected outdoor space for summer. This new yard is full of deer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48