Walkin' The Yarrow Trail: Uses For Yarrow (Achillea)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Taking A Walk Along The Property Edge & Look What I Found


A cool crisp morning was awaiting me today and I decided to take advantage of the sunshine; as the rest of the week is calling for rain, sleet and some snow flurries in my great state. So me and my baby girl got dressed and headed outside. Our main reason for heading out was to get the last few days' worth of mail... yeah, I am BAD about getting our mail.


yarrow 1.jpg

YARROW- A Hardy Perennial



Yarrow Is HERE? I Had No Clue


We have only lived at our current location since February 2016, so I am not completely familiar with all the plants, wild flowers or trees near and on our property. Imagine my surprise when I came across some yarrow this morning!

yarrow 2.jpg


I had thought about going back out and cutting a few of the stems to harvest the seeds, but then thought not to. I'll leave them where they are at currently; growing along side the creek bed/embankment. It's their more natural growth and it's only about 50-feet from my back door so I can go out there in the spring and gather them as needed.


Uses For Yarrow


All parts of yarrow are useful with the flower being the most commonly used.
Harvest and collect when:

  • Flower is fully open
  • Not turning brown or yellow

According to Wine Folly:

the flower is higher in aromatic oils, whereas the leaves are higher in tannins-
tannins is a naturally occurring polyphenol found in plants, seeds, bark, wood, leaves, and fruit skins.


yarrow-flowers-2.jpg

Image Credit


Leaves & Flowers


  • ROOTS- Can be used for toothaches
  • Used in tea for relaxation, anxiety and sleep
  • May help stop cramps, encourage menstruation
  • Helps to relieve inflammation
  • Used to treat colds and helps lower fevers by inducing sweating
  • Indigestion; acts as a stimulate to assist in releasing stomach acid
  • Can help with digestion of fats and proteins
  • In tincture form it can be used in skin treatments and for slow healing scrapes and wounds
  • Can be used in lotions or salves for dry skin or eczema

My plans are to use for lotion, soap and making herbal teas. I'll offer some dehydrated leaves and flowers next summer when it's done to my mom. She will like this for an additional use in her teas too.

I may even attempt to make some tinctures. I never have; plus we don't drink alcohol so I'll have to find out which is the best alcohol to use to make a premium tincture. Sounds like another Golden D Homestead experiment is brewing!


yarrow 3.jpg

Miss Nosey doing here best work here wanting to know what I was looking at


Burdock In The Autumn/Winter

I already knew we had burdock growing and I noticed a few months back that there was some new plants growing next to and near the existing burdock plants. This got me excited! We have about two dozen existing burdock plants, but I did eyeball new ones just starting out in the middle of the summer.


burdock.jpg

I stopped to grab a few pictures of the burdock plants at the edge of my property during our walk


Hard to believe that I missed out on harvesting some burdock this past season; but next year will be different. I hadn't found out about the uses for burdock root until it was too late in the season to harvest it at its full potential, so next spring I will be chomping at the bit to get it in time.

burdock 2.jpg

Curious and have been checking into recipes/stews and soups for using the burdock root in. Shhh, not going to tell hubby... yet

Burdock root tea can be used for:

  • A detoxifier to treat acne
  • For infections
  • Liver problems

I have MANY first-year burdock plants growing along the edge here and I plan on harvesting some next spring; when is the best time to get the first-year roots.

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead discordcommunity and have fun chatting with us- contact @pennsif or @greenacrehome for more information and to join!
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Wonderful post ..

thank you for stopping in... and for the double thumbs up!

Very informative. Thank you!

Thank you stopping by!
Looking forward to more of your posts too

Very good post Goldy.

You are making a good use out of everything that is out there it seems.

Didn't know these plants could be used for so many things.

Yes and I have been devouring everything I can read about the plants in my area. I even contacted the local cooperative extension to see about getting a list of indigenous plants, edibles, etc in my area. Can't wait for next spring to arrive so I can investigate.

Great example of an effort.
You really put out there.
Thumbs up!
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @goldendawne to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thank you for the compliment and for stopping by!

I've been meaning to do some research on yarrow myself, so you've saved me a job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42