Our Homeschool Diary #2: Freedom & Responsibility

in #homeschool6 years ago

Homeschool is freedom.

Yes. But it is reponsibility too. Our first quarter portfolio review is due in December. However, due to the holidays and tight homeschool adviser schedule, I got a review date for January 6, 2018. By then, we must already have covered at least the planned lessons for the first quarter, recorded scores for at least 5 short quizzes and a long quiz for each subject, and have completed projects/activities.

Tough Job

In between my mommy duties and full time job, I am also Teacher Mommy. Thankfully, I still have some time to spare at work and I am able to bring my son over so I can look after his tasks.

When I am not too occupied with work, I prepare for activities that he can do whenever I have to leave him with their nanny. I make quizzes and search the internet for additional references.

In the evening, we revisit whatever he has done during the day and discuss new lessons too. He has a bad handwriting- which he blames to trying to write fast, so I keep him busy with lots of paperworks during the day too.

Since he gets bored easily, he also has with him some books of his choice to read. For this he has to write a simple book report which again is aimed to improve his hand writing and test his reading comprehension. I am thinking of asking him to type his book report (for computer skills) - this thought just actually popped my mind just now.

So where's the freedom?

For one, we do not get to rush as early as 5:30am just to catch the school bus. We also get to choose which lessons to take at a particular moment and use the teaching-learning approach that suits the particular lesson.

We can take the lessons everywhere too. In the car, at the beach, at home my office or at the playground. Just like today. 😉

Right next to our office is this park called the Capital Garden. The dessert breeze has also gotten a lot cooler hence almost every lunch time, I come here to get some fresh air. Today, since I've got my son with me, we decided to take our books to the park and discuss a few lessons there.


Err, that was the plan. However, he thought that getting to the swing was a better idea.

So the books laid there for at least 10 minutes until he got tired of the swing and said we can now start. But with a twist. He said to just have a spelling drill instead. Ok. No problem.

I don't remember ever having a spelling test in this position at school ever. LOL

Neither can I remember any of my teachers conduct a lesson or give out a test while lying down and taking a selfie. 😅😂

So far, so good.

I feel we are doing good so far, my son enjoys the experience and me too. We are able to bond in a different manner- more open to questions and we sometimes seek answers to his questions together. Which means that on my part, I get to learn too.

There are moments when I feel that my patience is tested, but that's another thing I feel thankful for too. I improve as a mother and as a person by dealing with irritable and undesirable circumstances.

More to learn.

We're still early onto our homeschooling journey but I would like to say that we do not regret the decision so far. I wish and pray that we do not ever come to that point too.

We need to make it work, we want to make it work.

Check out what we've been up to recently:

Coding For Kids: Introduction to Programming
Art Time: A Mom on a Mission









Credits to @elyaque for the followers and reputation badges, @merej99 for the Community Engagement Badge. Want your own Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers, Preppers badge? Contact @daddykirbs.

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Homeschooling could work for many people, but if the parents did not learn their lessons while in school, then the school system is a better way to go.

Yes, perhaps @johnwjr7. Though with our homeschool provider, one of the requirements is for the parent-teacher to have a college degree at the minimum. In addition to that, we have academic advisers whom we can consult in terms of techniques and other resources too.

Excellent read. Though I’ve some questions as I am considering home option. One of the things that students and kids learn from school is how conexist and behave in a society. When we do home schooling how do we ensure that ?

Thanks @bobinson. You can try to find out within your community where there may be a nearby homeschool support groups that you can join. These group meet up regularly or even arrange for group field trip for example. Church is also a good way to get your child involvd in.

Thanks will check those options. But again going to school on a regular basis, establishing friendships etc can help ? I just met my friend from 2nd class to 4th class after some 20 years. I can like Call ask him anything anytime .... my family had moved out from the area but we still have Land there and we are doing few things. He is one of my first contacts there now

I am just trying to understand these things ok ?

Hi @bobinson! Some of us are fortunate to find long lasting friends in school while some have not so pleasant experiences like being bullied for example. There's pros and cons in each set up and you have to find one that will work out best for you. Friendship, as you said can be nurtured in school -but these can be found elsewhere too. Like the kids your child may meet in the homeschool coop, church, and his siblings most importantly.

Think it out, plus read a lot of homeschool articles. These can help you a lot in your decision making. All the best!

Thank you :)

Hey, just in case you're interested - here's my post from some months ago. You can see what other fellow parents and steemians think about it too. https://steemit.com/education/@arrliinn/i-am-a-full-time-working-mom-will-homeschooling-work-for-us

@arrliinn, homeschool teachers have a very challenging but rewarding job. My wife has homeschooled our kids for the last 5 years.

We love the flexibility we have as a homeschooling family, but my wife works hard, each and everyday. Congrats on educating your children in a way that works for your family.

Thanks @sumatranate! I salute your wife for all the hard work and patience. We definitely need lots of those. Haha. 5 years is no joke. It's just out first year and I am looking forward to the coming years.

Cheers! ❤@arrliinn

Homeschooling really needs parents who are creative and passionate in teaching their kids. :)

Thanks @zararina! That's what makes homeschooling fun. We "customize" the learning. Hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66