Coding For Kids: Introduction to Programming

in #gaming7 years ago

My Son Loves to Play Computer Games


If there is an ipad game that I let my kids play these days, it would be the Coding for Kids: Learn to Code by Internet Design Zone.

I have practically stripped our ipad of any other games, leaving this and Chess game only.

My eldest son loves to play chess. He has a small chess board which he sometimes plays by himself whenever neither daddy @kennyroy nor I can play with him. Since his younger siblings cannot play this with him yet, dad decided to let him have this game on the ipad. BTW, just a disclaimer - I do not know how to play chess. My son teaches me the moves. :D

What I noticed about my him is that he is very analytical when playing any games. He watches you for a few minutes and he will easily understand the objective of the game. Is it just him, or kids these days are really smart? Oh, I think both!

He carefully chooses his moves. Unlike me, who just takes a move whenever and however. I don't really "strategize". Hence I do not really keep any games on my phone apart from the good old Candy Crush and 2Fuse.

Introduction to Computer Programming


I downloaded this game after I watched a girl in the Philippines who became a programmer and an owner of her own company at a young age of 10! I thought this game would be very suitable for my son. He gets to exercise his brain while enjoying an ipad game.

Coding for Kids aims to "teach" the basics of coding or programming to children. The game enhances a child's logical and critical thinking by presenting different levels of obstacles that a player needs to solve through several commands. There are modules for sequencing, functions and loops throughout the game.

There are different games like, the Little Firefighter wherein the aim of the game is to put out all the fire by navigating the fire truck using the arrows.

There are levels that focus on sequencing, where the a command is executed one after the other.

A series of commands (arrows) to go from one block to another until you reach the front of the fire will complete the level.

There are also levels that require the use of functions in order to be completed. A function is a part/section of a program that performs a specific task. They can be called for in different parts of the program.

Here, you can create a function to put out the fire on the first two blocks and call the function again for the second set without repeating the commands.

There are levels which involve making the same action repeatedly until you complete the task. For these, you can use loops.

Two sets of loops will solve the above level.

In Action

My son says his favorite game is "Chomp The Fruit", wherein as the name of the game implies, the player needs to get to all the fruits to complete the level.

I've captured a video of him playing what appears to be the last free level in this particular game. You can notice him "tracing his steps" to complete his sequence.

The app is free to download from the App Store but would require in-app purchases for the additional games inside. However, they have a free access offer until the end of the year.

Long Way to Go


As far as programming is concerned, we still have a long way to go. I believe though that starting now makes a difference. Whether my son continues to pursue coding or not, I do not actually mind. What is important for me right now is what he learns through the game - logic, analysis, patience among others. These, he gets while doing something he enjoys.

Other Coding Apps for your Children

There are several suggestions that you can find through the following compilations. I noticed though that the apps like Tynker, Scratch, Move the Turtle and Hopscotch have been commonly suggested.

7 Apps for Teaching Children Coding Skills
Cool Coding Apps and Websites for Kids

Coding is Cool


There are lots of ways when coding can be beneficial to our children, or us adults, actually. I myself is starting to regret that I did not take my bachelor's degree (BS Computer Science) seriously. I ended up working in the insurance and financial services industry, and did not to upgrade my programming skills through the years. Now, I am out of date.

How cool would it be to create your own robot, or create your own gaming app for example? I think that is really awesome!









Credits to @elyaque for the followers and reputation badges, @merej99 for the Community Engagement Badge. Want your own Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers, Preppers badge? Contact @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Ma'am Arlinn!!!!!, thank you for this, I was looking for this kind of game too for my daughter though she's just 3 so baka madami pa sya di kayanin dyan but I will still put it, we'll never know, and you're right, programming nowadays is an essential skill, malay mo magkaron ng sariling company mga anak natin.

P.S. Tinuruan ko mag chess baby ko pero di nya pa gets haha

Yung daughter ko 3 years din, she's trying already. Though di pa rin nga nya masyado gets. Sabi lang nya help her with the arrows. Hehe
Malay mo nga, maging CEO din sila someday... 😍
Yang chess ang di ko talaga natutunan. 😅😅😅 pang dama lang ako. Haha

That's so neat, awesome post! I followed you, if you have the chance could you follow back and check out my posts?
thanks in advance =]

Hi, thank you. Sure. Will check you out...

thank you so much!

Thats cool. Thanks, i will share this to my son

You're welcome. He'll like it for sure.

Thank you for the information, otherwise I wanted to choose useful games for my children.

Yes, there are lots of games downloadable or that could be played online but I think there are realy few that can benefit the young minds of our children.

Thanks for passing by @magnata!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Mga ganyang game dapat ang pinapalaro sa bata, educational. :)

Korek. Adik kasi tong anak ko. Gusto laging ipad. Tanggalin ko nga lahat ng games. Hehe... pero in fairness gusto nya. 😅😂

Thank you for the info! My son is very computer savvy. I got him a raspberry pi for his birthday to work on and this is very valuable information. He also loves his games, so this is perfect! I believe minecraft has options to learn code too.

Welcome @misslasvegas! I hope you son will appreciate the game.

I'm not sure about minecraft, my son plays it with his friends in their ipad but we've not downloaded it. I heard it is addicting, don't want to take my chance with my son. Haha

Alice is another very interesting application which can be very useful ...

Thanks for the suggestion @bobinson! We will check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64