Art Time: A Mom on a Mission

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I have a mission.

When I was a kid, I loved to draw. I started with tracing interesting pictures on my books- sometimes with onion skin paper (tracing paper) or I would trace over them on a carbon paper. Afterwards, when I felt confident enough I would copy the pictures independently already.

I never evolved into a bright artist though. I could draw, but not really to an exhibit-calibre type. Maybe because I lost interest too, or I have reached my limit already. Besides, I am in my late 30's (omg. Huhu), errr, can I say mid 20's? To top it all, my hands are already full, juggling between an 8-5 job and being a mom of 3.

Oh yes! A mom of 3!

Observing my kids, I noticed that my eldest is not too keen on these activities which let him enhance his creativity. He did not like to draw, for the believed that he is not good. I needed to push him to take some time to try, always giving him a motivating pat on the back.

My girl though, at three, loved to draw. She started at 2 by drawing circles. Eventually, she learned to put dots on them and she would come running to show me her creation- a smiley face! Not bad of a two year old. These days, these smileys have already grown hairs, ears, legs and arms.

Gabbie, from several months ago, showing off her drawings.

Hence, my sister @erangvee and I had put on a little more effort on getting these kiddos interested to draw. Besides, she had me to thank for her exemplary drawing skills. Growing up, she imitated me on most things I did- writing, drawing, reading, etc. We're born 15 years apart and well, she exceeded what I was able to do.

Art lessons with tita @erangvee.

Art time with Kuya


Honestly, this boy needs a little more motivation. I always tell him that people do not turn great in an instant. All those amazing people he sees, put a lot of effort on their craft. Well, this boy gets frustrated fast.

However, since I see a good potential in him, I try to encourage him a little bit more. Most of the time, when I ask him to draw, I draw with him.

Like last night.

The night was young, we had nothing to do. At first, we were supposed to read a story. But they did not like so I raised up a drawing challenge. We must copy the pictures on the covers of our Learning Time story books.

My son chose this picture for me:

All because I made him draw this:

Of course, I concurred.

I started with the Hung Lee the panda. Then the boy, Whiz, followed by Prince Sooraj and the girl Lucy. I drew Yuma the Native American next, then Joji the Cat from Japan and finally Princess Natalya.

After I drew all the characters, I drew some bushes and trees at the background.


Afterwards, I highlighted the lines a litte bit more to enhance the drawing.

Meanwhile, Kuya started well with his drawing too.

He got frustrated when he could not draw the girl that the monster was carrying. So instead of him walking away from the task, I told him he could skip the girl. It came out like this,

I told him it would be nicer if the drawing had color. So he started on his.

Of course, I colored mine too. I started to regret my decision half way. We did not have a black marker to highlight the lines and the crayons just almost erased them.

So I had to make do with the blunt black crayon on hand but did not dare to retouch the face.

Same thing happened to kuya's drawing. The purple crayon almosed erased the details on the monster's face so I helped him to outline it.

Ultimately it came out like this

He took pictures and sent them to tita @erangvee to ask what she thought about it.

On the other hand, the other two kiddos entertained themselves by making a mess in the room.

Until I finally finished coloring mine,

Well, my "fans" were amused by it, so I was too. Haha.

Just the start.

This is just the beginning of my mission. I do not wish to impose. However, I want to motivate my kids to draw as much as possible. To nurture their creativity and self confidence too.

We should be doing a lot more activities like these, and perhaps share them here on steemit to inspire other non-artists to explore and tap their creative side.

Until then!









Credits to @elyaque for the followers and reputation badges, @merej99 for the Community Engagement Badge. Want your own Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers, Preppers badge? Contact @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Great to see your art process with the kids, as always.

Thanks so much for appreciating @joechiappetta! 😊
An honor.

I actually enjoyed it, felt like a kid all.over again too. 😉

A great post @arrliinn and you have beautiful children my friend. They are very lucky to have a mom like you supporting their interests and helping them explore their imagination and creativity. :)

Thank you @tonyr! It's challenging, parenting these three little humans, different in their own little ways. I try my best to deserve having them. 😍

I try my best to deserve having them. 😍

A beautiful thing to say and something I will try to remember. I have a young son myself and I know how busy and stressful things can get sometimes. :)

Yes. It only takes a matter of time, soon they will need us less. Besides, imagine how many people do everything and anything just to have children and here we are blessed with these amazing little ones. .. these are the things I try to remember everytime the stress seem too much to handle. 😉
Good luck to us, parenting the little ones. 😅

This is a good start kabayan @arrliinn!!!
Since during these early stages of their childhood, they still have sponge-like systems. They tend to absorb almost everything that is introduced to them.
This is also a good way to encourage moms to expose their offsprings with personality-enhancing activities like drawing, dancing, sports, etc., and assess what they enjoy the most. This will help them build their own talents in the future.

Thanks for passing by @smaeunabs! True. As parents we have the responsibility to guide these children and mold them into the better person that they could become in the future.

In this age and time when we almost make the digital media and internet take over our kids, we have to make a decision and become more adamant into taking charge. Influencing them is one. Because kids will really pattern from what we adults do.

You have touched my heart here. I don't want to thank you so much for this wonderful post, as I want to thank you for being a good mom to beautiful children. Love gets spread in this world, person by person. Pain and suffering gets spread in this world, person by person. Your home and family is a haven of love and light in a world that needs more havens of love and light.

I hardly ever resteem anything on my main account. I resteemed this tonight gladly. I love you! Cheers - Carl

Aww, thank you so much for the appreciation @carlgnash! This is the sweetest comment I ever got. Means a lot to me.

I hope to inspire more, and share and spread more positivity. I am truly blessed to have these wonderful kids as children of my own. I want them to have the best.

Cheers,
❤arlyn

That was seriously well done. Looking forward to more artworks from you and your kids!


Mabuhay! Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by the @bayanihan curation team.

Thank you @bayanihan... hope to be able to share more soon.

Nice bonding and talented kids, and mom. :)

Hehe. A mom's gotta do what she's gotta do! 😅

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arrliinn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35