SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory | I have a plenty of them

in Traveling Steem11 days ago
I consider ideal tourism as a situation where travelers benefit and enjoy by their outings however, I have seen destinations in my life where I was not happy. Being a marketing professional and traveler to the core, I have traveled long and short destinations and while I have experienced wonderful trips in my life I have a fair quota of bad ones as well.

photographer-1210242_1280.jpg

Image edited

I have had my quota of such travelers but most of them are from the pre-camera era as now the conditions have improved a lot. I would love to share my memories even if they were not pleasant to enter my experience for SEC-S18W4 | My worst holiday travel memory. I invite my friends @josepha, @sahmie, and @jyoti-thelight to share their experiences.

Bad tourism refers to a situation in which a traveler feels that the destination is too busy and too crowded. And this happens not only in cities but also around natural areas or historical sites. Some destinations are so busy that they are overcrowded. Busy shopping streets or historical places where we have to pass through the crowds reduce our travel experience.

When was your worst trip that you would like to forget?

I will give you a couple of bad experiences out of hundreds that I have faced due to delayed trains or planes but I consider them as normal even if I had to wait for hours on the railway platforms, airports, and bus stands.

In one of my worst experiences, my problem was water scarcity, which is a common negative impact but is becoming more relevant daily. Travelers use a lot of water at the destination, not only for bathing but also for swimming pools. When this is not managed properly, it makes water availability difficult for travelers.

I had this experience when I was posted in Dehradun. My sister-in-law visited us with her husband and daughter, and we took a taxi to Mussoorie. As some of you know, my wife can't travel by car, and if it happens to be a spiraling hilly road, she vomits like anything.

hilly-road-5128973_1280.jpg

Image

The situation was this: I was sitting in between my wife and her sister so both of them could sit in the window seat. My wife's sister had her daughter in her lap, and all three of them were vomiting. I tried my best, but during the distance between Dehradun and Missouri, a one and a half hour's drive, I was almost soaked by what these three were vomiting.

We stopped at the taxi stand in Mussoorie and found no water at any public tap. Then I saw a stable where they stand horses for tourists, I thought that place should have water, but to my surprise, there was no water.

I saw a few Tibetan shops on the footpath selling clothes. I bought a shorts and a tee and took my shirt and pants off and wore them. We stayed in that hill station, Mussoorie, for 3–4 hours, walking on the mall road, and came back to Dehradun. I didn't feel like eating anything because I was smelling lousy.

Then I had another incident in 2008, we had gone to Goa and reached late in the evening so we stayed at Bogmalo Beach which is close to Dabolim airport. It was our first evening in Goa when five people drowned within a few hours on the Arabian Sea coast.

beach-6292382_640.jpg

Image

We were on a seashore drinking beer when we heard that five medical students were missing. These tourists, aged 20–22, died due to drowning because they were so careless that as soon as they embarked on their buses they entered the sea without caring for the warning sign. Local divers tried their best efforts to save them, and they saved four students, but five students could not be traced.

The search was carried out by the coastguard team with helicopters, but they could not rescue them. We went back to our hotel and slept, but I got up at five and heard the sound of choppers searching for them. The entire group of medical students was sitting on the beach, hoping to see their friends, but the rescue team could not find their friends alive. They found their dead bodies not far off from the beach.

This was a bad experience that forced us to leave that beach, and we moved to Calangute Beach our main destination immediately after this incident.

What problems have you faced and who was with you?

I was on a trip to Patna while posted in Kolkata as a regional marketing manager and then I was scheduled to go to Gauhati (now Guwahati) in Assam. I had once before traveled by Awadh Assam train which had a longer route via Tezpur but I had a day spare so I booked my seat for the thrill of traveling old style in First class compartment on a meter Gauge route which is rare now.

Screenshot (1994).png

Source

Let me make it clear that the distance between the station where I boarded the train in Bihar, Muzaffarpur, and Guwahati is less than 1000 km which can be covered in 12 hours max but this train takes over 30 hours but as I said I had spare time so I wanted to relive my memories by traveling by this train.

Screenshot (1996).png
source

The train left the starting point and reached Siliguri in about 12 hours then crossed through New Jalpaiguri and Jalpaiguri and then stopped at three in the morning. That was Naxalite affected area so I thought as if Naxalites had attacked the train but nothing happened. There was just one more passenger in the compartment so we started talking until 5 am when it was daylight outside.

To my surprise, I saw several local Wenders selling tea, water, and breakfast sitting in the fields. I came out of the compartment and was told that Bodo revolutionaries had blasted the bridge near Guwahati on the Brahmaputra River so all traffic had been suspended until the army constructed a makeshift arrangement for trains to cross to the other side of the river.

How you managed this situation in the end?

Would you believe it that we had to stay at that place for three days and two nights in the dark because the engine of the train had left the train for scheduled maintenance to the next station which was already overcrowded with waiting trains? There was no proper food water or electricity and it was the peak of the summer to make things worse.

Share photos of this travel memory or give some referential pics

I was traveling on this route but it's an old story when I had no digital camera or even a phone with a camera. That was the time when I had a basic phone and even that phone had no signals in that area.

Screenshot (1995).png

Source

Incidentally, most people were dependent on public call booths and I was in a company that manufactured public call billing machines.


me.png

Sort:  
 11 days ago 

It is often sad when a traveler is been delayed at the airport, train station, or motor park the most annoying part of it is when the traveler is trying to meet up with an event or function. This is the reason why having your private means of car, or jet is the best. Most women don't like perceiving the smoke of a motor vehicle which is the reason why they vomit. However, your wife will not get to vomit if it is a private car that she enters. Thanks for the invite and good luck to you.

 11 days ago 

My dear friend @josepha car is the only vehicle where she vomits the most (in some cases) but as far as other means of transportation like airplanes or trains she never does so. She vomits in buses too but we mostly avoid traveling in them. As long as she is in the front seat of the car the chances her vomiting are remote. Thank you!

TEAM 7

Congratulations! Your comment has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen
 8 days ago 

Hello dear friend, most people tend to vomit in vehicles especially during long journey, I usually vomit in the bus during long journey and what usually triggers mine is when I perceive smoke and petrol but i have outgrown mine now. I'm so sorry about the young tourists that lost their lives just like that.

 8 days ago 

Thank you, my wife hasn't gotten over this problem of throwing up during road travel especially is has to sit in the back seat. The problem increases when she travels on hilly roads as she feels dizzy. All other traveling ways are fine for her though!

 5 days ago 

I hope she gets better, Shalom!

most of them are from the pre-camera era

In many ways I am quite RELIEVED that there were no cameras "back then" haha!

and all three of them were vomiting. I tried my best, but during the distance between Dehradun and Missouri, a one and a half hour's drive, I was almost soaked by what these three were vomiting.

Oh my hat!!! How awful. I highly doubt that I would have had the mental strength not to start vomiting myself, lol!

How sad about those young tourists. Careless on their part, yes - and perhaps they had been drinking too? Drinking alcohol and swimming are seldom a good combination - especially in the sea. Still very tragic though.

It certainly sounds like you have had your fair share of unpleasant travel experiences @dove11

 11 days ago 

And I did not mention my daughter who was vomiting sitting with my cobrother in the front seat. That was one heck of a situation that I faced and had no solution since it was a day trip and we had no extra clothes. But I can tell you as a traveler I have faced lots of them but my zeal for travel never ends.

Glory! That is really a situation I hope to never find myself in, lol! Well done to you for managing to keep your composure and also your food in your stomach haha!!

 10 days ago 

👍😄

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

I understand the situation when you travling on hill station road. Vomiting is inevitable for children and women in any carriage we travel through the mountain pass. It will greatly affect our journey. This makes it difficult to drive the car fast. We have had similar bad experiences.

 11 days ago 

Thanks, my wife doesn't have this problem while traveling by train or plane but traveling by car, especially in India makes her sick unless she takes Odoran pill. But in those days this pill was not available. Thank you for your support.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!


Congratulations 🥳


We support quality posts and good comments Published in any community and any tag.


Curated by : @malikusman1

 11 days ago 

Thanks @malikusman1, much appreciate sir.

 10 days ago 

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


Oh my goodness. It's a pity to hear about that story of young people that were studying a promising career and this incident could be avoided because previous warning ⚠️ and regarding to the water supply, I thought this problem was really unique in Latin America for example. I can't imagine how uncomfortable was that moment wanting to get this liquid in order to clean up the vomit stuff. Hopefully you got relieved with a good bath when you finally had the opportunity after this event friend.

AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club100☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 5☑️
Score10/10

~ Join the X profile, Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @alegnita

 10 days ago 

I was so hopeless as there were no rooms available on an hourly basis so that I could go and take a bath. Finally, I bought a few bottles of water and a small towel to clean myself as much as I could but by then I had lost the interest in that trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63877.50
ETH 3493.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51