A French Canadian Aristocrat of the Spirit Saves My Wounded Pride

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

treecalifornia.jpg

Just Another Self-immolating Californian 2022. Acrylic on panel, 30 x 40"

On Saturday I received a call from a local university chemistry professor who was hosting a VIP lab researcher from Canada, an alum of the college (possibly a future donor), and art lover. When he heard that the famous pop artist Roy Lichtenstein worked at the college right before his flight into fame, he read my book and wanted to meet at my studio to view my work.

This never happens in Oswego.

He stopped by for an hour before needing to catch a flight. I learned that he comes from a family of artists and art collectors—his uncle has a gallery in Montreal. He said his love of science is not an anomaly, but natural, given that both artists and scientists are incredibly curious, although one might clean up better than the other. I quoted Bob Dylan to him:

I wish I’d have been a doctor
Maybe I’d have saved some life that had been lost
Maybe I’d have done some good in the world
’Stead of burning every bridge I crossed

I learned that the good doctor, like me, also paints, plays guitar, drinks beer and behaves on most days like an aristocrat of the spirit.
I asked if he needed a minute to look at the work. Rare to receive a guest in the studio. Maybe he would buy a painting to take home as a souvenir.
He said no need, he already had some ideas, and began pointing. “I’d like that one, that, that...”
Six paintings in all! And a seventh he will think on (a 6 foot wide painting, very expensive to ship internationally).

This never happens in Oswego.

One of the paintings he chose was set aside for an upcoming exhibition in Rochester that I was going to deliver on Thursday. That meant a new painting to replace it, and fast.

religiondog.jpg

Is There a Religion Out There That Can Free a Dog? 2022. Acrylic on canvas, 16 x 20"

So I made two, just to be sure. Both are embellishments of paintings from last year. Some new drips and smears, and real energy released for relief. The doctor and curator both get what they want. And I received confirmation again that art (sales) is mostly geography, especially when the painter cannot/will not turn him or herself into the equivalent of a master of business administration. I must admit, my art geography sucks. That’s the truth, the science of art market. Has there ever been a random visit to a studio in Oswego, NY? That it happened to me only proves (to me) my impressive potential energy. Just roll my mass into some Manhattan dive with big windows and high ceilings, and the kettle would be on the boil 24/7.
Then at these prices, I wouldn’t be able to paint faster than I could sell.

Thank you Dr. Savemypride. It helps to know there are more of you in a world.

Sort:  

Wow, that sounds great! I can imagine you and your inner world when said that he will be buying so many works of yours. For artists it is important to have such days I am really glad for you :)

You post is nominated for „Visual Art“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Actually, I cringe. I don’t know why, I truly don’t, but for some unknown reason, I repel business. Especially for products I make myself. That’s why I seek a gallerist to market and sell for me.
Still, I am glad too. Thanks:)

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your interesting post has been upvoted by @petface, who is on the hunt for unique, quality content here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. I love seeing more and more of your art here in our community.

Well, thank you very much! Orca are the coolest!

 2 years ago 

Of course we are 😎 and you are more than welcome! If I were you I would start drafting an application for the orca programme The choice is made, soon we will delegate 50K SP to be a whale (orca) for 3 weeks. No pressure 😃 The three weeks I got will fly by in no time, I already feel it. Plus, I bet you would also enjoy brightening the day of others here on Steemit.

Thank you for the suggestion. Remember though... Going on holiday. maybe the round after the next:)

It is wonderful that you have this opportunity, your works are spectacular and as an artist that you are, you deserve to be called, I am delighted to have a painting of you in my home.

Greetings!

Flattery will get you a 100% upvote:)
It is one of the few wonderful moments to be had in art obscurity. Thank you for the kind words!

Great paintings

Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27