Update on Taking Steem to LinkedIn

in WORLD OF XPILAR29 days ago (edited)

1000041946.png

I got a great response from you (the community) on my new little project, Taking Steem to LinkedIn. It turned out to be a good decision, and I am sharing it here with you because your encouragement and support are acting like fuel. I have been sparing an hour or two daily for LinkedIn ever since I posted about it.


Few Updates

I have already set up the official page, as mentioned in the first post. I have also revamped my own profile to show some authority in the blockchain because otherwise why would anybody want to listen to me?

My 30-day content plan is ready, and I have started creating and publishing it. I try to schedule posts to be regular, so whenever I have the time, I create batch content.

I am mainly posting through the official page and reposting the content on my personal page to get more reach. I am confused about whether I should reach the target audience with the official page or not. At the moment, I'm doing it from my personal account because I think people prefer talking to faces and someone who has first-hand experience.


Leads

This week, I only targeted blockchain developers. After publishing some content, engaging a bit in the relevant groups, and sending connection requests to blockchain experts with personalized notes, I have gotten 3 leads so far. Following are the specialties of the three people.

Lead 1
Blockchain Developer |Experienced Forex & Crypto Trader | Funded Trader at PropFirms

Lead 2
Ethereum | Smart Contract | NFT | dApps | ERC Token Standards | Web 3.0 | Node.js | Cryptocurrency

Lead 3
Blockchain | Lead Smart Contract Engineer

These people showed some interest. We have been exchanging messages. I don't want to sound too desperate, so keeping the conversation light. I also don't expect the first leads to convert, but who knows? (:


Suggestions

Being a software engineer, I think I know how to talk to a developer. However since I have no experience in blockchain development, I request all Steem Devs to pour in suggestions. I also want you to answer these questions under this post or send them to my Discord (eventhorizon.og).

  • Why did you choose to develop for Steem?
  • Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?
  • Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?
  • What could be the other objections?

Issues

LinkedIn is all about making connections with professionals. These connections then keep bringing opportunities.

I send messages and connection requests with personalized invitations to industry professionals. But there's a limit to the number of messages one can send in a month. I don't know why but I have crossed my limit after only 7 or 8 messages this month. Now I have to wait for the next month for the top-up or subscribe to LinkedIn Premium, for which I need to pay 12000 pkr ($42 or 155 steem) per month.

If I subscribe to LinkedIn Premium, the first month will be a free trial. I am thinking of going for the trial to see how it goes, but I will unsubscribe when it ends because I can't afford to pay the subscription fee through my pocket.


Anyway, I'll have a clearer picture of where this project is headed after one month. If the premium version seems promising then I will probably have to find a funder.


Please follow SteemBlockchain if you are registered on LinkedIn. Do share your feedback and tell me if you think I'm missing something.

Sort:  
 29 days ago 

It was through LinkedIn that I first learnt about Steemit and it was my curiosity, rather than a push which led me here.

I’d be sceptical as a LinkedIn user if somebody (or an anonymous account) that I didn’t already know pushed me towards Steemit.

Why did you choose to develop for Steem?

So that I could improve it. So that I could learn. So that the overall quality of everything would improve.

Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?

To challenge themselves. To build their portfolio. To be a part of something different.

Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?

To gain the experience required to earn the megabucks.

What could be the other objections?

Is it a scam?

This is quite useful.

I'm certainly trying not to sound pushy or desperate when directly talking to somebody about Steem. The aim is to make them curious enough to explore.

Can blockchains commit scams? Do you think a blockchain expert would consider another blockchain a scam?

Based on your answers, I think I need to focus more on interns or entry-level developers because they are more likely looking for opportunities that can help them build a great portfolio. I don't think someone who has already achieved a lot in the industry would voluntarily want to do something for Steem.

 29 days ago 

More experienced developers might be attracted, but you’re probably looking for somebody interested in Open Source programming. There’s a bit of a cult mentality with some programmers wanting to work on open source software - a more idealistic developer maybe.

I think that Voilk proved that a blockchain platform (built on the Steem technology) can be a scam. I’d like to think STEEM’s had enough articles written about it to give confidence though.

Noted.

I think that Voilk proved that a blockchain platform (built on the Steem technology) can be a scam.

Is that so? I couldn't find any such thing on the Internet. Interestingly, I found very positive reviews on Quora and some other social forums.

The few negative reviews are baseless and hilarious.

 28 days ago 

Interestingly, I found very positive reviews on Quora and some other social forums.

I'm not surprised. The guy who created it tried to suck people in and probably went to a lot of effort to make it appear genuine.

It stole content from Steemit and posted it under randomly generated account names to give the impression that it was an active Social Media platform. There were a couple of genuine people who thought they'd earned thousands of dollars... but they didn't. It all disappeared.

I wrote a post about it some time ago. Oh, more than one post.

The few negative reviews are baseless and hilarious.

They're probably the only true ones.

Ahh... Now I remember. I read those posts back then when you posted.

I misread your comment. I thought I read - Voilk proved Steem is a scam. That's why I said I couldn't find anything about it on the Internet.

Anyway, what they did is pretty scary. How can users be locked out of their accounts in a decentralized platform? 🤔

I found very positive reviews on Quora and some other social forums.

I was talking about Steemit here. (:

 28 days ago 

How can users be locked out of their accounts in a decentralized platform? 🤔

I'd be amazed if it was ever decentralized. At one point, he claimed to have sold it which was a somewhat bizarre claim. It's nice to see that it's mostly gone now 🙃

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



I don't know that I'd really call myself a "Steem Dev", but as a sort of hobbyist, here are my answers:

Why did you choose to develop for Steem?

Enjoyment, desire to create something that people use and doesn't exist anywhere else, skill development, desire to improve the Steem ecosystem for the social media user community (including myself), desire to collect passive rewards.

Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?

I'd say, "choose to develop" not "volunteer. It can be volunteering, but it can also be an entrepreneurial undertaking. That's up to the developer. (which is not to say or imply that it's a get rich quick scheme. Just like anywhere else, most entrepreneurs fail or give up.)

Beyond that, I'd list the same reasons as I put for myself in the previous question.

Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?

  1. Low barriers to entry:
    • Developing on Steem doesn't have to require the same specialized knowledge as many other blockchains. Someone can get started with a language that the developer already knows and knowledge of JSON.
    • 0-cost transaction fees, 3 second blocks, and fast confirmation times. (0 transaction fees ought to be a big differentiator in the blockchain space)
  2. It's possible (but not easy) to get funding directly from the blockchain in the form of posting rewards, beneficiary rewards, witness rewards, or funding from the Steem Proposal System (SPS).
  3. The Hive fork opened up a lot of space for developers to get started here on a proven blockchain with limited competition.

What could be the other objections?

  1. After a FUD campaign in 2020, there's still a widespread perception that Steem is overly centralized. I think this is probably wrong. My best guess is that Steemit/Tron owns no more than 20% of the STEEM supply (and probably more like 13-17%), but I don't know that for sure.
  2. The idea of getting rewards for blogging without a company behind it is widely perceived as "too good to be true".

I was waiting for your comment and was thinking I should've tagged the developers. Thank you so much for your detailed response.

  • Skill development
  • Portfolio building
  • Passive Rewards
  • Entrepreneurial venture
  • Easy to get started
  • Zero transaction fee
  • Possible funding
  • Less competition

I am going to keep these keywords in mind while creating content to attract developers.


Developing on Steem doesn't have to require the same specialized knowledge as many other blockchains. Someone can get started with a language that the developer already knows and has knowledge of JSON.

Sometimes, I dream of developing for Steem but it's been a long time since I last wrote any line of code, which scares me and holds me back from trying. 🥲


Those objections are genuine. If the stats you shared are true then definitely it's not a centralized platform but is there any proof to handle this objection more confidently?

I wish Steemit Inc. could open up a little so we don't have difficulty promoting good words about Steem. I mean it's not difficult (Steem is great) but the objections and bad words about Steem which are already in the public as a result of the past events, need clarification with proof.

The second objection... it's good that steem requires no registration fee, there's no harm in trying anything "too good to be true" for free. Because you'll never know until you try. (:

Sometimes, I dream of developing for Steem but it's been a long time since I last wrote any line of code, which scares me and holds me back from trying. 🥲

I get that. I haven't programmed on a daily basis since the 1990s, and everything is very different now. But, you can start off by making something simple for yourself and build from there.

If the stats you shared are true then definitely it's not a centralized platform but is there any proof to handle this objection more confidently?

Well, we can be fairly confident that their on-chain dominance is less than 10%. If you look at the return-proposal voting from SteemWorld, we see that they have 41.6 million STEEM voting.

image.png

Since the overall supply is 462 million, that's roughly 9%. The big unknown is how much they have on the exchanges. I think I remember reading at the time of the Tron purchase that Justin Sun had purchased about 60 million STEEM, so my guesses were roughly based on estimates of 60 and 80 million. But no, I don't know any way to document that. It could be very wrong.

If someone wanted to spend some time digging into it, I suppose you could put boundaries around it by looking at other big accounts, the amount that was pilfered from Steemit wallets on the Hive chain during the Hive fork, and the inflation amounts during the last 4 years, but it would take a while.

you can start off by making something simple for yourself and build from there.

It's a good idea and probably the perfect push for which I've been waiting for years.


The on-chain dominance is definitely very less which is a good thing, certainly not like anything that was feared pre-fork and have been rumoured since then (referring to centralization).

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Are you spying on every comment, @o1eh? 😅
Thank you for the support.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



I haven't taken a closer look at LinkedIn yet, so I can't really judge whether it would open up opportunities for Steem.
Although a little late, I would like to answer your questions briefly:

Why did you choose to develop for Steem?

I develop for Steem because I want solutions that I like to use myself and because I want to improve the user experience for myself (and other users).
It's easy to deduce from this that when I started writing here, I wasn't primarily interested in developing something for Steem. Rather, it was because I was missing functions (like the search or bookmarks) or helptul tools (like our DUBby @du-finanzbot)

Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?

Ideally because he feels the same way I do :-)
On the other hand, it has to be said that the blockchain offers a wide range of possibilities. Various programming languages are available. It is possible to work on Steem code in C++ (for the very advanced). However, those who prefer to write websites can also do this on the basis of the blockchain. There are also plenty of opportunities to develop tools...
There is actually something for everyone :-)

Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?

Ideally because he feels the same way I do :-)
Seriously: With the right idea and the know-how, a company can also be founded on the Steem. Steemit Inc. is also just a company that offers an interface to the blockchain. Who says that there only has to be one interface? There are a few attempts, but they tend not to have a business background (apart from personal income).
Developers could therefore set up their own company and remain successful and independent.
For me, at any rate, payment would be an obligation that I would not accept. If someone pays, they also want to see something in return...

What could be the other objections?

Less free time :-)

Thank you so much for taking out time for this little interview.

Your answers have put a different perspective in my mind. This was quite helpful for what I intend to do on LinkedIn.

I'm not sure if promoting steem on LinkedIn will work. It's easier to spot the target audience on that platform. It's just the start but I do get developer inquiries in my DM.

I do get developer inquiries in my DM.

That's a start. In my view, it would be important to have C++ developers who can familiarise themselves with the blockchain code and develop it further. I think that's the biggest challenge we need to overcome. There is a lot of potential. In particular, the changes that have already been implemented for the smart media token should definitely be finalised. That would give the blockchain another significant boost.
It won't be possible to do this in free time (as I currently do), but I would support and promote a proposal for this.

Is it possible to easily change the core code of Steem? Also this reminds me that once I read a very old article by an ex-user in which he wrote that the code has scalability issues too which were foreseen by Daniel Larimer and Ned Scott.

 16 days ago (edited)

Is it possible to easily change the core code of Steem?

I don't think so. It would take a lot of work. In addition, the financial aspects would also have to be understood, which is unfortunately my weakness...

very old article by an ex-user

I am very interested. I would also like to read it. Please send me the link if you still have it. Otherwise I'll search for it :-)

I don't have the link but I think if I dig a little deep into my browsing history, I will find it. Give me some time.

Thank you :-)

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcuratorXX We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



Curated by : @soulfuldreamer

 28 days ago 

One additional attraction for developers is that Steem provides a ready made community of testers for any new apps or games.

Steem is an ideal incubation environment.

That's absolutely right. I was thinking the same while testing the-gorilla's new intereface today.

Such a nice ideal, I'd love to be active contributor

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 13 days ago 

This post has been featured in the latest edition of Steem News...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37