You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on Taking Steem to LinkedIn

in WORLD OF XPILAR25 days ago

I haven't taken a closer look at LinkedIn yet, so I can't really judge whether it would open up opportunities for Steem.
Although a little late, I would like to answer your questions briefly:

Why did you choose to develop for Steem?

I develop for Steem because I want solutions that I like to use myself and because I want to improve the user experience for myself (and other users).
It's easy to deduce from this that when I started writing here, I wasn't primarily interested in developing something for Steem. Rather, it was because I was missing functions (like the search or bookmarks) or helptul tools (like our DUBby @du-finanzbot)

Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?

Ideally because he feels the same way I do :-)
On the other hand, it has to be said that the blockchain offers a wide range of possibilities. Various programming languages are available. It is possible to work on Steem code in C++ (for the very advanced). However, those who prefer to write websites can also do this on the basis of the blockchain. There are also plenty of opportunities to develop tools...
There is actually something for everyone :-)

Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?

Ideally because he feels the same way I do :-)
Seriously: With the right idea and the know-how, a company can also be founded on the Steem. Steemit Inc. is also just a company that offers an interface to the blockchain. Who says that there only has to be one interface? There are a few attempts, but they tend not to have a business background (apart from personal income).
Developers could therefore set up their own company and remain successful and independent.
For me, at any rate, payment would be an obligation that I would not accept. If someone pays, they also want to see something in return...

What could be the other objections?

Less free time :-)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for taking out time for this little interview.

Your answers have put a different perspective in my mind. This was quite helpful for what I intend to do on LinkedIn.

I'm not sure if promoting steem on LinkedIn will work. It's easier to spot the target audience on that platform. It's just the start but I do get developer inquiries in my DM.

I do get developer inquiries in my DM.

That's a start. In my view, it would be important to have C++ developers who can familiarise themselves with the blockchain code and develop it further. I think that's the biggest challenge we need to overcome. There is a lot of potential. In particular, the changes that have already been implemented for the smart media token should definitely be finalised. That would give the blockchain another significant boost.
It won't be possible to do this in free time (as I currently do), but I would support and promote a proposal for this.

Is it possible to easily change the core code of Steem? Also this reminds me that once I read a very old article by an ex-user in which he wrote that the code has scalability issues too which were foreseen by Daniel Larimer and Ned Scott.

 20 days ago (edited)

Is it possible to easily change the core code of Steem?

I don't think so. It would take a lot of work. In addition, the financial aspects would also have to be understood, which is unfortunately my weakness...

very old article by an ex-user

I am very interested. I would also like to read it. Please send me the link if you still have it. Otherwise I'll search for it :-)

I don't have the link but I think if I dig a little deep into my browsing history, I will find it. Give me some time.

Thank you :-)

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcuratorXX We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



Curated by : @soulfuldreamer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41