You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on Taking Steem to LinkedIn

in WORLD OF XPILARlast month

I don't know that I'd really call myself a "Steem Dev", but as a sort of hobbyist, here are my answers:

Why did you choose to develop for Steem?

Enjoyment, desire to create something that people use and doesn't exist anywhere else, skill development, desire to improve the Steem ecosystem for the social media user community (including myself), desire to collect passive rewards.

Why should anybody volunteer to develop for Steem?

I'd say, "choose to develop" not "volunteer. It can be volunteering, but it can also be an entrepreneurial undertaking. That's up to the developer. (which is not to say or imply that it's a get rich quick scheme. Just like anywhere else, most entrepreneurs fail or give up.)

Beyond that, I'd list the same reasons as I put for myself in the previous question.

Why would anybody develop for Steem and not for a blockchain company that heavily pays them to do so?

  1. Low barriers to entry:
    • Developing on Steem doesn't have to require the same specialized knowledge as many other blockchains. Someone can get started with a language that the developer already knows and knowledge of JSON.
    • 0-cost transaction fees, 3 second blocks, and fast confirmation times. (0 transaction fees ought to be a big differentiator in the blockchain space)
  2. It's possible (but not easy) to get funding directly from the blockchain in the form of posting rewards, beneficiary rewards, witness rewards, or funding from the Steem Proposal System (SPS).
  3. The Hive fork opened up a lot of space for developers to get started here on a proven blockchain with limited competition.

What could be the other objections?

  1. After a FUD campaign in 2020, there's still a widespread perception that Steem is overly centralized. I think this is probably wrong. My best guess is that Steemit/Tron owns no more than 20% of the STEEM supply (and probably more like 13-17%), but I don't know that for sure.
  2. The idea of getting rewards for blogging without a company behind it is widely perceived as "too good to be true".
Sort:  

I was waiting for your comment and was thinking I should've tagged the developers. Thank you so much for your detailed response.

  • Skill development
  • Portfolio building
  • Passive Rewards
  • Entrepreneurial venture
  • Easy to get started
  • Zero transaction fee
  • Possible funding
  • Less competition

I am going to keep these keywords in mind while creating content to attract developers.


Developing on Steem doesn't have to require the same specialized knowledge as many other blockchains. Someone can get started with a language that the developer already knows and has knowledge of JSON.

Sometimes, I dream of developing for Steem but it's been a long time since I last wrote any line of code, which scares me and holds me back from trying. 🥲


Those objections are genuine. If the stats you shared are true then definitely it's not a centralized platform but is there any proof to handle this objection more confidently?

I wish Steemit Inc. could open up a little so we don't have difficulty promoting good words about Steem. I mean it's not difficult (Steem is great) but the objections and bad words about Steem which are already in the public as a result of the past events, need clarification with proof.

The second objection... it's good that steem requires no registration fee, there's no harm in trying anything "too good to be true" for free. Because you'll never know until you try. (:

Sometimes, I dream of developing for Steem but it's been a long time since I last wrote any line of code, which scares me and holds me back from trying. 🥲

I get that. I haven't programmed on a daily basis since the 1990s, and everything is very different now. But, you can start off by making something simple for yourself and build from there.

If the stats you shared are true then definitely it's not a centralized platform but is there any proof to handle this objection more confidently?

Well, we can be fairly confident that their on-chain dominance is less than 10%. If you look at the return-proposal voting from SteemWorld, we see that they have 41.6 million STEEM voting.

image.png

Since the overall supply is 462 million, that's roughly 9%. The big unknown is how much they have on the exchanges. I think I remember reading at the time of the Tron purchase that Justin Sun had purchased about 60 million STEEM, so my guesses were roughly based on estimates of 60 and 80 million. But no, I don't know any way to document that. It could be very wrong.

If someone wanted to spend some time digging into it, I suppose you could put boundaries around it by looking at other big accounts, the amount that was pilfered from Steemit wallets on the Hive chain during the Hive fork, and the inflation amounts during the last 4 years, but it would take a while.

you can start off by making something simple for yourself and build from there.

It's a good idea and probably the perfect push for which I've been waiting for years.


The on-chain dominance is definitely very less which is a good thing, certainly not like anything that was feared pre-fork and have been rumoured since then (referring to centralization).

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Are you spying on every comment, @o1eh? 😅
Thank you for the support.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60543.19
ETH 3336.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48