My second life #21 [IT-EN]steemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy3 years ago


My second life
#21
[IT-EN]



Image by candecegriffin from Pixabay

Capitoli precedenti / Previous chapters:

Chapter #1 Chapter #2 Chapter #3 Chapter #4 Chapter #5 Chapter #6 Chapter #7 Chapter #8 Chapter #9 Chapter #10 Chapter #11 Chapter #12 Chapter #13 Chapter #14 Chapter #15 Chapter #16 Chapter #17 Chapter #18 Chapter #19 Chapter #20

Una sera Luca scende a buttare la spazzatura, ma quando cerca di rientrare nella sua casa, al 20° piano di un palazzone di periferia, scopre che nel suo appartamento ci abita un'altra persona e che la sua vita, come era fino a qualche momento prima, non esiste più. Cominciano da questo momento per Luca nuove ed inaspettate avventure che si mischiano ai ricordi della sua vecchia vita.


Mamma

Davanti a me si presentò la figura di Pino, mi sembrava di ricordare che fosse un ingegnere o un architetto, qualcosa del genere. Quello mi aspettavo. Invece davanti a me c'era un vecchio, molto magro, con i capelli bianchi, dall'aria sofferente, certamente non un uomo che voleva o poteva lottare con qualcuno, non certo con me, che allora avevo trent'anni.
“Entra pure Luca. Tu devi essere Elena. Piacere, Giuseppe” con fare dimesso quell'uomo ci stava stringendo le mani, dando come per scontato che fossimo lì per una visita di cortesia e non certo per rivendicare l'onore di un padre.
Mi sgonfiai subito come un pallone bucato, come si faceva a litigare con quell'uomo anziano, gentile, pacato, che ci trattava come degli ospiti graditi, anzi addirittura degli ospiti attesi da tempo?
Mia madre apparve dalla porta della sala, sembrava comparire solo dopo essersi assicurata che nessuno avesse intenzione di uccidere nessuno.
Il suo viso tradiva una certa preoccupazione, non era nello stesso stato d'animo del suo amante segreto.
Vederla preoccupata mi fece ritornare una certa voglia di incazzarmi, se era preoccupata significava che si rendeva conto delle sue colpe, del suo tradimento e di come pesava su di me e come sarebbe pesato su mio padre, se ancora fosse stato vivo.
Nessuno parlava e l'imbarazzo stava aumentando velocemente.
Ci tolse tutti dall'impaccio Pino: “Elena, mi accompagneresti giù a prendere le sigarette per favore? Faccio fatica a camminare.”
Elena mi fissò per un attimo, io ero spiazzato, non sapevo cosa dire o cosa fare. “Volentieri, la accompagno volentieri.”
Guardavo quei due uscire dall'appartamento quasi fossi lo spettatore di un film, avevo completamente perso il controllo della situazione e non sapevo cosa fare per riprenderlo.
Ci pensò mia madre ad iniziare il discorso.
“Come vedi Pino è una brava persona.” - disse.
“Bravissimo, lui e papà saranno stati molto amici, visto che avevano così tante cose in comune!” - l'unica cosa che mi usciva in quel momento era il sarcasmo.
“Luca, siediti, ci sono molte cose che tu non sai.” - mia madre aveva un'aria stanca e non sembrava trovare molto divertente il mio sarcasmo.
“All'inizio con tuo padre facevo la moglie e la serva e con Pino solo la serva. Piano piano la situazione si rovesciò; con tuo padre facevo solo la serva e con Pino facevo la moglie e la serva.
Ho fatto la serva per tutta la vita, non sono capace di stare senza fare nulla. Morto tuo padre che senso aveva restare in quella casa?
Sono venuta qui, Pino ha bisogno di me, è molto malato.
Glielo devo, mi ha aiutata, ci ha aiutati sempre, in tutti questi anni e ha aspettato per tutta una vita.”
Ascoltavo quello che raccontava mia madre come stesse parlando di un'altra persona, non riuscivo a vedere lei, lui, mio padre, io e mio fratello come i personaggi di quel racconto.


...continua


One evening Luca goes down to take out the garbage, but when he tries to return to his house, on the 20th floor of a suburban building, he discovers that another person lives in his apartment and that his life, as it was until some moment before, it no longer exists. From this moment on, new and unexpected adventures begin for Luca, which mix with the memories of his old life.


Mum

In front of me the figure of Pino appeared, I seemed to remember that he was an engineer or an architect, something like that.
That I expected.
Instead in front of me was an old man, very thin, with white hair, with a suffering air, certainly not a man who wanted or could fight with someone, certainly not with me, who was then thirty years old.
“Come in Luca. You must be Elena. Pleasure, Giuseppe ”with a modest manner that man was shaking our hands, assuming that we were there for a courtesy visit and certainly not to claim the honor of a father.
I immediately deflated like a punctured balloon, how could we argue with that old, kind, calm man who treated us like welcome guests, indeed even long-awaited guests?
My mother appeared from the door of the hall, she seemed to appear only after making sure no one was going to kill anyone.
Her face betrayed some concern, she wasn't in the same mood as her secret lover.
Seeing her worried made me return a certain desire to get angry, if she was worried it meant that she was aware of her faults, her betrayal and how it weighed on me and how it would weigh on my father, if he was still alive.
No one spoke and the embarrassment was mounting fast.
She got us all off the hook Pino: “Elena, will you take me downstairs to get some cigarettes please? I find it hard to walk."
Elena stared at me for a moment, I was blown away, I didn't know what to say or what to do.
"Gladly, I gladly accompany you."
I watched those two leave the apartment as if I were the spectator of a film, I had completely lost control of the situation and did not know what to do to take it back.
My mother thought about starting the conversation.
"As you can see Pino is a good person." she-she said.
"Very good, he and Dad must have been great friends, since they had so many things in common!" - the only thing that came out of me at that moment was sarcasm.
"Luca, sit down, there are many things you don't know." -my mother looked tired and she didn't seem to find my sarcasm very funny.
“At first I was a wife and a servant with your father and with Pino only a servant. Little by little the situation turned around; with your father I was only a servant and with Pino I was a wife and servant. I have been a servant all my life, I am not able to be without doing anything. When your father died, what was the point of staying in that house? I came here, Pino needs me, he is very sick. I owe it to him, he helped me, he has always helped us, in all these years and he has waited a whole life. "
I listened to what my mother told as she was talking about another person, I could not see her, him, my father, me and my brother as the characters in that story.


...continua


Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @steemcurator06, the account that curates The European Communities with the support of the Steem Community Curation Project.

@girolamomarotta
Italy Country Representative 🇮🇹

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84