Steemit Engagement Challenge S11W5 - “Flavors and Traditions”

in Steemit Iron Chef11 months ago



Designed with Canva

One of the things I enjoy most on Steemit is when I can read a post and learn from it. It fills me with huge excitement.
This contest and the posts I’ve read so far have brought me great joy!

It is time for me to bring the food of my country and my town to you in the hope that you will learn something from my beloved country, South Africa.

South Africa is known as the “rainbow nation.” This is because of the diversity of the nation. You will find people with different backgrounds, race, color, religion, culture, nationality, language, and also those that are rich and poor. It doesn’t matter who you are. In South Africa, we come together to form ONE nation!

There are 5 main dishes that bring us all together as a nation.

IMAGE NAME DESCRIPTION
BoereworsBoerewors comes originally from the Afrikaans farmers and is a type of sausage made from 90% beef mince and includes spices like cloves, coriander, and nutmeg
Pap & ChakalakaPap is from the African people and is made from maize meal and is similar to polenta. Chakalaka is a type of relish made from tomatoes, peppers, carrots, and onions.
BobotieA Cape Malay dish made of spiced mince, an egg-based topping, and customarily raisins or sultanas that give it a sweet taste. Spices include curry and turmeric. It is served with yellow rice
PotjiekosA dish cooked by the early settlers is cooked in a cast-iron pot over a fire. Mainly made with vegetables and beef, it can also be made of any meat. Normally made where families get together
Bunny ChowBunny Chow is curry served in a hollowed out bread and was introduced by the Indian community. It is made of beef, lamb, chicken, onions, potatoes, sometimes beans, and a lot of curry.

Describe a traditional meal from your town.

As we are currently living in the province of KwaZulu Natal, the province with the highest Indian community, curry is the main dish. Durban is then also known as the "capital of curry."



Curry from our local supermarket

Curry originated in India, where it is a common ingredient in many cuisines that are then made with additional meats, veggies, or lentils. Each location has its own distinct curry recipe and preparation method, even in South Africa.
With the occasional addition of dairy and coconut milk, most curries are made with water. It is normally served with steaming white or basmati rice and a variety of Indian flatbread.

What I love about curry is that it is a saucy meal. When eaten with bread, as with Bunny Chow, the bread soaks up all that sauce. It is yummy!

What are the main ingredients?

As I said, there are many different ways in which curry can be cooked. Often, you will find that mothers cooks for the family from a recipe that has been passed down for many generations.

The Afrikaners, of which I am one, also have their own way of cooking what we call "curry and rice." This is normally a dish that you will buy at a church bazaar or market. Today I will be sharing my mom’s way of cooking curry and rice.

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg of minced beef
  • 1 onion (diced)
  • 6 potatoes cut into blocks
  • 1 tin of mixed veggies (beans, carrots, peas, etc.)
  • Fresh garlic
  • Curry spices (curry powder, turmeric, aniseed, bay leaves, and salt)

Method:

The onion, garlic, and spices must be sautéed in a bit of oil to bring out the aroma. The mince is next added, and it is stirred through. Add a cup of water and cook the meat for about 10 minutes. Add the potatoes and slow cook until the potatoes are soft. Add the tin of mixed veggies and let it cook for another 10 minutes. You can use diced carrots in place of the canned vegetables.

The curry is served on top of a bed of rice with chutney, slices of banana, finely desiccated coconut, and chutney.

Desiccated coconut is dried coconut, and chutney is a reduction of apricot, or any fruit, sugar, and vinegar, which is then cooked to a reduction.


image.png
My "curry and rice" cooked the Afrikaner way

Enjoy!

Do you consider that local gastronomy is well represented in your town? Because?

Oh yes! There is curry everywhere in my town, Ballito. You can buy it from local restaurants, take-away shops, supermarkets, and spice shops, and you can even have it delivered to your doorstep.

Weekly WhatsApp advert
Bunny Chow:

A big favorite, and as explained, it is bread that has been hollowed out and filled with a hot curry made of beef, lamb, or chicken. My town holds the record for the longest bunny chow in the world of 10 meters long. Read more

Spicy Durban lamb curry:

Made with lamb, beef, or chicken, this curry delivers a powerful punch because it is so hot and spicy.

Cape Malay's curry

This curry includes coconut milk, a blend of sweet and savory spices, and either chicken, beef, or lamb.

Vegetable curry packed with fresh vegetables

This delectable vegetarian alternative combines a mix of vegetables and spices for a delightful and nutritious supper.

Curry chutney chicken

This variation of a chicken curry combines spices, sweet and tangy chicken, chutney, and other ingredients to create a flavor that is both distinctive and irresistible.

Chicken and butternut chicken

Delicious butternut squash and chicken are used to make a wonderful curry that is sweet and spicy. Ideal for cold winter nights.

And then, of course, the most popular snack is a deep-fried curry samosa. This well-liked South African food is a deep-fried pastry filled with either spicy meat, corn and cheese or potato.
If I had 1 STEEM for every samoosa that is sold in my town, in a year, I am pretty sure I would be a STEEM millionaire.



One of the many curry restaurant in my town

As you can see, the local gastronomy, which is curry, is well represented in my town.


“Food makes travel so exceptional, because you get to taste what it's actually supposed to taste like. To eat the real Pad Thai or finally have a proper curry is something pretty amazing.” - Meghan Markle

Note:
Alle images belongs to me except for those listed under "The 5 main dishes"

Boerewors
Pap
Bobotie
Potjiekos
Bunny chow
image.png

I invite: @sduttaskitchen @ngoenyi @nexcis

CC: @ruthjoe @elrazi @elrazi thank you for the invitations.

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 2,034.177 STEEM
Normal transfer: 39 STEEM (Contest prizes and charity)

This is me

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.


Vote here

Sort:  

Tuan @patjewell

Orang Afrikaner mempunyai cara mereka sendiri dalam memasak apa yang disebut dengan: Kari dan Nasi.

Melihat semua jenis kari yang anda tampilkan disini - membuat saya merasa ingin berada di Afrika Selatan bersama menikmati semua kuliner tersebut.

Saya bahkan ingin meminjamkan resep yang anda bagikan disini, dan ingin menyuruh istri saya untuk mencoba memasak dengan resep tersebut.

Sepertinya besik saya akan menikmati masakan kari ala tradisional Afrika Selatan. Dan besok istri saya akan menghidangkan saya kari dengan resep yang anda berikan.

Terima kasih untuk resep kari, dan terima kasih telah menyebut saya dipostingan anda.

Good luck tuan @patjewell 👏

 11 months ago 

Pleasure! It is always nice to read such inspiring comments.
Keep it up!

Pasti akan saya lakukan, tuan @patjewell

Hello You always are the best.
Me encanto tu post , que podamos conocer un poco más de la comida y de las tradiciones de Sudáfrica. Una vez escuche un post de una tripulante de cabina que amaba CAPE TOWN y de ahí esta en uno de mis lugares en el mapa.

 11 months ago 

Thank you for the visit and the engagement with my post.
I am glad that you could learn from my post.
South Africa is a beautiful country rich in culture, of which the food stands out.
We will welcome you with open arms should you ever get the opportunity to visit us.

Of all the 5 dishes you mentioned on the table, I am only familiar with one which is pap made with maize. I enjoy it with milk. Sugar or honey along with fried plantain or beans.

The process of preparing the curry is presented in a simple format and the ingredients are easily accessible here. I think I need to try it out because it is healthy. Indeed, South Africa is blessed with different dishes. Thank you for sharing. Learning never ends. And thank you for the invite, I may not have the time to make entry in this contest again. But I am glad you invited me. At least I have learned. I can only say , thank you and success to you

 11 months ago 

Thanks for the reply, my friend. I was waiting for it, as I especially invited you because of the pap.(•ิ‿•ิ)
Now I am going to share something with you about that curry and rice. In South Africa, we have "vetkoek" which is very similar to what you call "puff puff".
Well here, we eat our vetkoek just like that, with syrup or jam, and then also with the leftovers of the curry. It is delicious!
If you cook this curry with mince, you will have to give vetkoek a try, especially since you can use the dough you make for the bread rolls. It might be your next best seller! (•ิ‿•ิ)

image.png

Thank you. I think I can try this out someday.

 11 months ago 

Amiga, que deliciosas comidas nos presentas. Me gusta preparar un guiso con curry. Si es cordero mucho mejor. Gracias por la invitación y por mostrarnos las exquisiteces de tu país.

 11 months ago 

Lamb curry is indeed the best! Lamb is just very expensive here in South Africa.
Thanks for the visit!🎕

Loading...
 11 months ago 

Hola amiga🤗🤗
Se ven muy ricas y deliciosas las comidas típicas de tu país y tu localidad
Que bonito que Dios nos haya dado la variedad para disfrutar y degustar no importa el lugar del mundo donde nos encontremos.
Me encanta como detallas tus comidas, ingredientes y preparación.
Mucho éxito

 11 months ago 

Indeed! All honor to our heavenly Father.🙏
It is indeed a privilege to not only cook but, as you have mentioned, also to enjoy and taste meals from all over the world.
For me, it is so enriching when I can learn more from the cultures of my fellow humans.
Thanks for the visit! It is appreciated. 🎕

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere with any tags.
Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 11 months ago 

Omg! I how did I almost miss this special mention?

Hmm your entry left me speechless!
South Africa is a rainbow nation indeed!! I gree no less seeing the varieties of meal you have shared that unites you all..

 11 months ago 

South Africa is a country rich in culture, history, and diversity.
You will love it here!
I love my country despite the unrest, violence, and corruption. There are so many other things that make up for it, like our food and big smiles.

Thank you for the visit and the engagement, my friend. 🎕

 11 months ago 

Yes I would love to visit south Africa one day, it has always been my dream right from childhood.

Just last week my mum reminded me of my desire to visit South Africa. Maybe one day my dream will come true..

Best wishes ma.

 11 months ago 

Well my home is open to you whenever you want to come and visit. We will accept you with open arms! Never forget that! (•ิ‿•ิ)

 11 months ago 

Aww! That's so sweet!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63