5 Reasons Why Commenting is So Important

in Project HOPE4 years ago

I have been writing on the STEEM Blockchain since 2017, and it has easily been one of the most rewarding writing projects I have worked on.

I like being part of a community of writers who support each other's work. Aside from support, there are other reasons why commenting is important.

steem comments are important  .png

There are rumors that the STEEM Blockchain is dead

Sun bought steemit, the chain split, we lost services, many writers left, and over and over, we keep reading that the blockchain is dead.

If the blockchain is dead, than how is it that my last article received 107 comments?

Screenshot 2020-06-24 at 10.06.55 AM.png

These were not "good post" types of comments. These were comments from readers who actually took the time to read the subject matter, form an opinion and share it.

Let us help our blockchain by being more active readers.

Your comments help strengthen the writer's work

That same post regarding self plagiarism helped me see that my opinion was not a popular one.

The way the comments were presented let me see that my opinion was not popular because it was not widely understood.

Thanks to the comments, I am now working on a piece which will explain the difference between syndication and self-plagiarism. It is different, and my original post did not serve justice in explaining the difference. I had not even thought that it was a relevant topic until I read all the comments.

steem is alive and well .jpg

You only get 10 upvotes but you get to make comments galore

For those of us who have enough resource credits, commenting is something that we can do day in and day out on the blockchain.

I read a lot more than I upvote here on the blockchain. My upvote is worth about 0.04 STEEM Units, and voting more than 10 times waters it down to the point where it is basically worthless.

Comments however, are never watered down.

There has only been one writer since 2017 who let me know that they were here for upvotes and not engagement. "If I were writing for engagement, I would be on facebook" (quoted so you see they are not my words, but not a verbatim quote). Mostly everyone else appreciates that they are getting paid attention to.

Commenting shows that your upvote is "real"

upvotes and commenting .jpg

I have a curation trail on steem auto with 12 followers called @metzli's curation trail.

I have an exclusive list of friends. I also tend to look at the "new" section, and upvote at the five minute mark any new to me authors I may be meeting. This is actually giving me great curation rewards. It is also garnishing those who I read an extra 11 votes.

My comment lets the writer see that there is a person behind the vote, and not some random bot.

Also, since my comments are original, they don't get some generic bla bla bla, advertising myself. They get a real, true, comment, based on their work.

Get yourself noticed

I often find that after leaving comments, and engaging with the author, I generate new readers.

This is a nice bonus and makes my future writing stronger.

commenting on the blockchain .jpg

Our Blockchain would grow more if we would allow those who do not have accounts to post comments

This is more a comment for developers. I don't know the details of the how, but I do know that commenting as a guest is possible on other blogging platforms.

There are many ways to grow our chain, and commenting is one of them.

Let us remember that the more users the blockchain has, the more all of our investments are worth.

Thank you for taking the time to read. Please leave a comment so that I know you stopped by.

I challenge you, leave original comments with all your upvotes. The engagement on the blockchain will thank you for it.

Pink Brush Strokes Beauty Cosmetics Facebook Cover.png

Sort:  

Have a witness !BEER

Dear @metzli

We would really love to continue supporting your content published within PH community with solid upvotes, however I would need you to read about our project.hope economy:
https://steemit.com/hive-175254/@project.hope/3-ways-of-joining-our-efforts-project-hope-economy-explained

Especially part explaining "group B".

Also please, Consider joining our discord server: https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW

Cheers,
@project.hope team

Thank you for your attention. I had previously read your statement. The posts I have been writing in your community have to do with STEEM and and the economy.

Screenshot 2020-06-24 at 3.51.44 PM.png

I also read this blurb before joining your community:

Screenshot 2020-06-24 at 3.51.16 PM.png

I also considered delegating to your community, but remember there being a 1000SP commitment, and I only delegate 100 SP at a time.

I appreciate your community and will continue reading blogs and upvoting there, but if I have overstayed my welcome as a writer I understand. Please let me know if I should stop posting in your community.

Hello @metzli

Section B of that post left by project.hope talks about that by publishing in the community, they will receive support from a good vote in favor, of course. But we all do it by setting a 20% of the profit to the @ph-fund account. That is one of the purposes of this project, to support others with votes in favor for its good content in the PH community, as you have been doing these days, but making the profit configuration.

If you don't know how to do it, you can consult me and I will guide you, I recently made a post about it. Not everyone has 1000SP to delegate, it is evident, many here are starting, but the configuration if it is feasible for everyone, it is not mandatory to delegate, it is optional. The section B of that post that talks about the economy of PH says literally the following:

All the authors of our group are setting up 20% of beneficiaries of their publications in @ ph-fund (hope fund project).

And the purpose of these funds is to help many people through the project.

Any doubt, don't delay in writing, I will gladly guide you.

So I need to set project hope as a 20% beneficiary of the post?

That in return will help the whole project, specifically the five named accounts of Venezuelan Steemians?

Sounds like a worthwhile cause. Thanks for the clarification. I am not sure how to set beneficiaries, please point me to a tutorial.

Hello @metzli

I hope you have a great day. I'm glad you can see the good work in this. The post that has this section b, which mentions that it benefits 5 users, was written a few months ago. The truth is that nowadays that number of people who help each other is much higher. I can say that with absolute certainty, because my wife is being helped by the PH, myself, and many other people, believe me. Beyond getting a good vote in the publications. That you have to do 3-4 posts a week in the community, to be able to collaborate with votes with the majority of users.

In a few months it has gone from 10 subscriptions to over 1300, this is partly because of the help. But the way to guarantee to be able to help the majority is like that, 3-4 times a week preferably, and to place the beneficiary.

Here I leave you a tutorial that I did of how to do it, of course, use another account as a beneficiary to exemplify, but in the case of PH the beneficiary.

https://steemit.com/hive-192096/@josevas217/learning-to-place-the-beneficiary-in-a-publication-aprendiendo-a-colocar-el-beneficiario-en-una-publicacion-eng-esp

 4 years ago 

hi again @metzli

While you're editing your new post (before you publish it) - just scroll down and find "advanced setting". You will find beneficiaries in that section :)

Cheers, Piotr

 4 years ago 

thank you jose

 4 years ago 

Hi @metzli

I've noticed that @josevas217 replied already.

I also considered delegating to your community, but remember there being a 1000SP commitment, and I only delegate 100 SP at a time.

That's very kind of you. Perhaps you could instead consider joining our curation trail on steemit and hive?
Also one important question: do you use discord? Try to join our server (you can find link in @project.hope comment above).

I appreciate your community and will continue reading blogs and upvoting there, but if I have overstayed my welcome as a writer I understand. Please let me know if I should stop posting in your community.

You are more than welcome to OUR community. I would only like to point out, that I need to focus on upvoting posts published within PH community by those, who participate within our project economy (meaning: those who are setting up 20% beneficiary to ph-fund, which allows us to raise some funds and futher growth).

Yours, Piotr

I like the fact that you touch actual cases, situations, and challenges with your articles. That is why I enjoyed your plagiarism article as well!

The idea here, with making it easier to comment on articles, would be useful, especially in situations in which outsiders find an article after searching in Google, and now they want to comment... but when they see the registration process, they just leave it all because it feels too complicated.

But, the registration process also makes sure we do not get so much spam comments (like most normal blogs do...). No matter what, a really interesting question! :)

Thank you for the compliment.

I do read a lot of blogs with spam comments, and since we can't delete comments here that may be an extra deterrent.

I also read a lot of blogs that are riddled with adds and pop ups, makes me feel like everyone should take their hand at blockchain blogging and get rid of the pesky adds that take away from their work.

Hello
@shortsegments created a guest account with public posting keys. There is some risk in that but he can delete spam comments. Please check out the #Comment Connection Contest! By @shortsegmments
#steemitconnection

Our Blockchain would grow more if we would allow those who do not have accounts to post comments

This is a brilliant idea. Very insightful. I've thought of this possibility too a couple of times. I am sure it is possible. Guests can make comments, just that they won't be rewarded. That alone should be good enough reason for them to sign up and come on board. Even when one is not getting much upvotes, knowing that some people are reading your posts could be enough compensation, although the upvotes are very important.

Their guest account can also show how much they would have earned if they would have an account...

Maybe I should start a service...

Engaging in communication. This certainly should be a priority for social media developers. It why I believe tokenization will grow into something special.

Let me know if you are ever motivated to advance a project along these lines. Even something simple or temporary. I believe in these moments. Those last minutes when a speaker is freely taking questions have been some of the most valuable for me.

A commenting project?

There are already tokens such as engage, or beer...

As far as a commenting project for guests who do not have an account, I was thinking of creating a simple account named GUEST or something similar, and those who are interested can post the account name with a posting key at the bottom of their posts and see if anyone engages with it.

Do you have any ideas?

Loading...

I think you the guest account is a great idea. I would add this idea to your idea. You could put the guest account password at the end of every article so guests could comment. I think I will try it out. It might generate spam or inappropriate comments, but since you control the guest account you can remove them.

I actually did this because I think it’s a great idea. I am waiting for my first reply!

Hello @machnbirdsparo
@shortsegments has a contest called Comment Connection !
It emphasizes human connection and communication.
Please check it out and consider using your talents to promote it.
Thank you
#steemitconnection

Thank you @steem-japan.
It's now in my cue. Hope I enjoy what I find whence I give it an honest try.

Commentary is necessary here and elsewhere. It is of tremendous importance here. It is rare to see any project.hope post without comment, unless it is a very new post. A few minutes or hours, but it sure doesn't end its 7 days of circulation without at least two comments. It's something you look for in this community, real interaction, not that "Very good, interesting, I hope to read more. " that in the end don't say anything.
The comments allow you to create real networks, a good comment expresses that they read and understood the content. Is this guy dead?, no; many people left? yes, obviously, and some that surely won't come back, but new people are coming, everything in life is cyclical...

I do like the interaction I get in this community. It is a nice change from "before."

I am glad I didn't power down and leave.

I'm glad you're around.
Actually, most of them are in charge of visiting at least two or three publications a day, to do their best to leave a good comment. It's not just about publishing and getting votes, that's fine, and we all want good votes, a better rating of our publications, but it's important to be able to communicate

The engagement is highly dependent on the community and members of project.hope are doing a pretty good with that.

I agree, in turn it makes me want to go to other publications and lend some comments.

It doesn't feel forced or tit for tat either, more like reading a newspaper.

Commenting is fun to do. I am enjoying that through the privilege of this community. The good thing about commenting is that it in return gives you inspiration to write your own post. You are good to be more educated when you engage.

It is fun to comment, but when I wrote that in my article it reminded me too much of when I was a high school English teacher trying to teach students that engaging in class was fun (lol).

On many forums the comments are often better than the actual article. Especially when you write about controversial stuff.

Comments in articles often let me see where writers had a good idea, but failed with the follow through, I like to take my hand at re-writing those articles.

I love this article. I think comments are essential to bring you attention and start a conversation. I really appreciate your post. I like also you are a fan of Steemit and you resist the notion that we are dead. Surely those that remain here are just as important as those who left for hive!
Thank you!

Please check out the #Comment Connection Contest! By @shortsegmments
Also @shortsegments made public comments possible! By creating a guest account!

#steemitconnection

Good point,, @shortsegments frequently finds inspiration for posts from comments he writes.
Please check out the #Comment Connection Contest! By @shortsegmments

Hi @metzli agree with you, comment and engaging shows that the community in here alive and real. I admit I only want to earn token here at the beginning, I actually read others post too but a little bit shy to comment or thought it's not necessary as I usually don't leave a comment on the blog of others on the web. Thanks for bringing this up. STEEM on!

Steem on.

Commenting eventually earns to you earning more tokens, because people see your comment and sometimes visit your blog because of them.

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support newcomers coming into steemit and to reward contents that bring value to steem community as a whole. STEEM On!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70