The Reasons Why I feel Facebook Is Socially And Economically Restrictive

in Project HOPE4 years ago

images.jpeg

Image source

It's been close to four years I've decided to fully leave the web of unproductivity, this was actually facebook. In 2016 there was nothing like monetizing the web at least not for me. Believe me inasmuch as zuckerberg built facebook to be a social media platform it wasn't really so and this was because it had restrictions to social features, it was over protective and there was discrimination of nationalisation which made interaction limited to clusters of geographical locations rather than the endless reach of the human society. This was where I had a few problems with facebook. The truth is that greed is the watchword of zuckerberg, if not I see no reason why he can't give back by fully monetizing facebook for his audience to earn.

I know that many would say facebook wasn't built on these initialities this is definitely true, however over the years facebook has given people the opportunity to promote their business for a fee, but there's still a restriction to the reach a business, no aim at a target audience, no aim at using alogorithms to actually determine how to effectively help people to advertise their business. Many times I see so many spammy promotions making it to my wall this clearly only indicate that business promotion on facebook isn't really effective. The restrictions are also being extended to Instagram of which we know Zuckerberg is heavily involved with. Of course the so many terms and conditions is the reason why I see facebook as a place where revenue is made by the avid users to lace the pocket of their owners and you will believe me of I say Facebook is mostly still in business because they boast of the status of one of the earliest online social platform still in business since early 2000s

I see twitter as a place with more opportunities, at least the social interaction isn't limited. I believe interaction is the basis through which any media should be built the web is currently being monetised fastly each and everyday and although I don't have a professional knowledge of online media I'm talking based on my observations. Many authors are leaning to YouTube, Udemy and many other places and they only thing they use facebook for is to redirect their audiences to these others places in other for them to actually earn money for the audio, video or other type of content they have on other places. One thing also is that there's this emotion sentiment that attaches people to facebook and this was the fantastic PR work of the early facebook team.

Over the years it's been difficult for me to attach a different type of sentiment to facebook, this is because as a business minded person I have some reservations. and what are these reservation? **

First Facebook connects people who have some kind of ties together it hardly links people based on the sameness of their profession, sameness of their niche or even sameness of work place or niche in terms of general content creation.

This may seem absurd but I feel this sort of connection will build mutual goals and help people to help themselves. I don't see a reason why an interaction platform won't do this, because irrespective of the fact that I value talking or interaction won't be be better to actually to interaction to a notch better?

This might be my opinion alone, but it's also a phenomenal discovery which is still unproven to an extent. When you look at twitter, it's more business inclined and that's why business are mostly concentrated to twitter and facebook has Become nothing but a beacon nowadays. In fact no one will argue that interaction on facebook has reduced by far unlike it was in late 2000s. I've been emphasing on the fact that facebook is too restricted for a social media platforms and it isn't rather business inclined for people who wants to showcase their business to a particular set of target audience. So if Facebook isn't the former or the later, what then is facebook's main usefulness as a media that still appeals to people?




Interested in some more of my works?

The Practical Process Of Test Marketing A Potential Product That's New To A Market. (Part II)

.

A Book Of Pun. (An Original Poetry)

The Fruitfulness Of Taking Actions Immediately We Make Decisions

How The First Attempt To Communication & Conversation Changes The Eventuality Of An Initial Outcome.

Waking Up "Undead". (An Original Poetry)

The Dilemma That Comes With Condoling The Act Of Betrayal

Building My Dream Advertising Firm; Getting Results From The Tip Of The Finger

Motivation, Self Love, Suicide And Depression; What Are The Determining Measures To Continuity?



TZjG7hXReeVoAvXt2X6pMxYAb3q65xMju8wryWxKrsghkLbp5aKvE71WZVXXpWPa45dz8mMuLJrUrkgAkhD8tDMEVnUx3NUtC7V1TtEWcJ7XFhwMtmH4ro93f8vDHQtM1zgsKQtZwMSjqx.jpeg


My name is @Josediccus, a young Nigerian student who is a Dtuber, 📷 Psychologist, Poet And Sports Writer/Analyst. I'm using my contents as a process to create shared meaning as well as create expressions through which people on/off steem can relate. I believe content is a process to be enjoyed and relished and I'm up for any collaborations in my field stated above. Cheers


@Josediccus, your brother in pen and video 📷


I'm hoping to reach more people who are broken at heart and spirit, so share on any platform or resteem


My Twitter handle✓

Sort:  

I think people are running away from every network that is not rewarding, personally I have been staying away from it too.

Exactly Facebook has neither been rewarding and I think it's just a matter of time and years before people stops using it.

I really think so too, by the time people begin to see other platforms where they can socialize and earn also.

Sometimes I use my facebook account to carry out local promotion of the things I sell which does not bring buyers but brings people who either want to scam or date, this made me just abandon the site totally. For me, whatever does not reward me in a positive way, there is really no need in wasting my data on it.

Yeah that's definitely right, to me I feel it's just a matter of time before people starts abandoning Facebook.

I feel so too, stay safe dear friend.

The last time i used facebook, Ialmost got scammed and I decided to run far away from it totally.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

It is a good idea to focus more on what produces productivity.

 4 years ago 

Dear @josediccus

Inteesting choice of subject buddy :)

Finally some topic that is not related to C-19 or justin or hive :) Tadam! :) Something more refreshing

I also kind of stopped using FB around this period of time, coming to similar conclusions as you did. And I never regreted. I do visit FB every few days to see if anyone send me some DM, however I cannot care about posting or scrolling through my feed any more.

Have a great weekend ahead,
Yours, Piotr

Interesting choice of subject buddy :)
Finally some topic that is not related to C-19 or justin or hive :) Tadam! :) Something more refreshing.

Will I try so hard to make my contents diverse in order to suit numerous audience and also not to stay somewhat narrow however it's always not easy but I try my best as well really.
I believe Facebook would eventually be abandoned with time because I believe in the future the web will be eventually be monetized and Facebook might be left for dead.

Thanks a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43