Prowriters Hub: My story about getting help from extended family members by @yuceetoriasteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemAlive2 years ago

IMG_20211205_115925_044.jpg

I guess I hit the jackpot when I got into the Odinma family. Often, you'd hear horror stories about family members not helping out when help was needed but not in my case. I do wonder what would have become of me if I didn't have a helping hand but I know God would have made a way.

Have you been helped by your extended family members such as your uncles or aunts?

I lost my father at age three(3) and stories were that my mom did not handle it well, and sometimes took it on me. At the time, she was mentally and emotionally drained, she couldn't fully function. After my dad's burial, his brothers held a meeting and after much discussion and argument, it was later proposed that one of them should take me in and not leave me in the hands of my mother.

How did your extended family member help or refused to help you?

My extended family members have helped me in many ways than one. My dad had 6 brothers Odinma, Okoro, Okwara, Obuma, and Oge but two of them have really contributed to my affairs. Each of them and their family had contributed to my upbringing.

My elder brother Okoro took me in as a child and saw me through my Primary and secondary education. They already had 4 children of their own but you wouldn't know that I am not part of the family, with the way they took me in as their last child. I grew up sheltered and pampered to an extent.

My dad especially never joked with me, He would carry me along with him on most of his outings. Till today, I sometimes walk a bit faster because when I was little, I had to run walk to catch up with my father when he is trekking.

As I got into the university, his younger brother Oge took over my university fees from my first year to the last year.

a64b078a1e5e4574b533d6b124fcdb82.jpg

537a6b4512b349608adba169a71f456a.jpg

My Parents

Do you think they were capable of helping you, but refused?

My extended family helps even if they are not related but you can never please everybody.

Yes, there have been some occasions when I needed help from my other uncles and aunt and didn't get help but the kindness I have received from my father and uncle is enough to know that there are still good people in this world. Even when things are tough with the government and economy, they've always found ways to settle my fees when needed.

Because of how you were treated by an extended family member, how do you see them? What do you wish for them?

I wish them good, especially my parents, they will not be forgotten. I pray to do well in life so that they will reap the rewards of what they have invested in me.

Do you think you can survive without the assistance of extended family members? Be detailed.

The truth is, nobody owns us anything. If they say they cannot help, let them be. In my few years of understanding God and people, I have come to know that God will always make a way. When help refuses to come from this door, another door will be opened. When someone thinks without them, I cannot make it, I surprise them with my success story and leave them speechless.

#lifestyle #prowrit-w6 #steemexclusive #club5050 #nigeria

Sort:  

I've found that many times extended family members are more than willing to help out, especially if you have a family emergency.

In my case, they helped oit more than once

4a.jpg

Congratulations! This article has been manually curated using our community account. Always publish great content, free of plagiarism and make sure you are participating in club5050, club75 or club100. Congratulations once again, hoping to see your next publication soonest!

Curation by: @focusnow20
For: Steemalive

Wow you really have a nice brother that took you as one of his children, this is awesome you have explained the good work of your brother and God will bless him for you @yuceetoria

 2 years ago (edited)

yeah that was really nice of them and they really tried by doing that also < I will love this area My elder brother Okoro took me in as a child and saw me through my Primary and secondary education this is so kind and showing love in the high level

Extended family members are more likely to help if you ask them for specific tasks like getting a babysitter or taking care of the children while you go to the hospital.

Asking for help is not a sign of weakness and sometimes it is necessary to ask for help.

 2 years ago 

Chaii,am really sorry that you lost your dad at a very tender age.

Thanks to those of your uncle's who really helped you in life and I know you will not forget them in life.

 2 years ago 

yeah it is really painful to lose someone important to you and I also cause mentally and emotionally drained as she said loosing someone like her father I think I was not easy for her mom than yuceetoria (62)we are sorry for what happened

Richard sory for her hard time but It is never easy to ask for help and sometimes it is difficult to explain what you are going through.

It is important to reach out to extended family members for help when you are struggling with a personal issue

 2 years ago 

that is why having a senior brother is important and you need to respect them so that you can get help from them.

 2 years ago 

yeah that's true and i totally agreed on what you just said senior ones really help only if you respect them <his brothers held a meeting and after much discussion and argument, it was later proposed that one of them should take me in and not leave me in the hands of my mother.>they really btired by doing this

 2 years ago 

you see, respecting your senior once is very important because they will always look for you, so that the can help you with some support.

I thank God for them

 2 years ago 

I lost my father at age three(3) and stories were that my mom did not handle it well, and sometimes took it on me.

I'm really sorry huni but the fact that okoro took you in and treated you just like his own is enough to believe that good people still exist

Even to the point of sponsoring your tertiary education, may God bless them and may they live to reap the reward of their labour

 2 years ago 

me too I lost my dad at my earliest age and I was not easy for my mom but she really did her best to train me at my age now friend am akso also about the death of your father we are sorry

 2 years ago 

Yes, we truly are sorry for the lost

 2 years ago 

😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 sorry dear

Sorry to hear that, God dey

With extended family members, there is always someone who will be able to provide help in a way that you need it.

 2 years ago 

Yes sha but they're ones who are very hard hearted and it runs in the blood, no amount of plead can soften their hearts

Some relatives will deal with you, you will be left asking if they are truly your blood.

I am telling you, it is only God that will bless them for me

 2 years ago 

Another really motivating story about relatives. I wished every family had the type of relatives you have. So so helpful. Am sorry about the loss of your dad at a really tender age. But am excited by how helpful your uncles and others are to you. Am sure you will extend such kindness to others. How difficult it would have been with you and your mum alone @yuceetoria

CriteriaRating
Clubclub75
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown2/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2.1/2.5
Content Depth1.7/2.5
Total7.8/10
 2 years ago 

Your uncle and brothers did well to look into your affairs at after the demise of your father. This stories gladdens the heart and proves that there are still kind and good-natured people in the world.

They really tried oo

2.jpg
We have supported this post. Keep on making great content in our community. Always check @steemalive for community updates. Thank you being an active member.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18