A Defining Moment In My Life And How It Affected Me

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 months ago
My 17th birthday is the most memorable day of my life. It is a day that I will never forget, and I consider it the most important day ever. The day started like any other normal day. However, as it progressed, a lot of exciting things started happening.

  

I woke up very early on my birthday because I had to dress up for the school cricket team, and I could do that only after my father left for office. I had already made my cricket uniform ready the day before, and I knew that I was going to be selected for the junior state team after today’s match.

cricket-724621_640.jpg
Image

My mother made my favorite breakfast and packed my lunchbox for me for lunch. I went to school, and the match got over, and the whole team congratulated me and wished me well for my selection.

I received my certificate, and it was an incredible feeling for me. All my friends were with me and were eager to come to my birthday party in the evening.

My birthday was memorable in school, but it was also my birthday, and my birthday party at home made it even more memorable as my mother invited all my friends from school and the colony to the party.

I got lots of gifts, and we had a lot of fun. But the main joy of my birthday party was my selection for the cricket team. But I knew it was not that easy, as my father considered sports a time waste and did not like me playing cricket or any other game for that matter.

I spent a lot of time with my family and friends that day. Everyone loved the return gifts and went home with a big smile on their faces.

Then came the moment that I had not imagined till then, as my father asked me, "You are seventeen years old now, so tell me, what is your plan to do when you grow up?"

I was about to say, "Cricketer, I want to be a sportsman." But then I thought about what my father's reaction would be, so I said, "Engineer."

I saw a shine in my father's eyes, but my mind was blank as it was the most disappointing day of my life. That day has given me so many bad memories, which will stay with me forever. That day, I felt that I had lost the aim of my life or missed what I wanted in my life.

20220726_100506.jpg
My picture from my album

I understand that when we say memorable, we mean something that we cannot forget easily or something that excites or discourages us. A memorable day is one that one can easily remember because it remains in our memory forever. I will always remember that birthday of mine because it changed my life and made me a rebel of sorts.

I wanted to become a cricketer, freelancer, and traveler but due to my father's wishes, whatever I should have gotten at the age of 20–21, I got it much later, and my dream of becoming a sportsman was shattered.

Note- I am trying to fulfill my dream of being a traveler and passion for writing after I joined a job and my father is no more in this world. I invite @josepha, @senehasa, and @aaliarubab to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

I can imagine how you felt when your father asked you about your future plans. But at the age of 17, it's too early to decide. That's the time when we need genuine guidance.

And you decided to fulfill your father's wish and prioritised his happiness over your own desires. You should be proud of that. Because in life, there are many desires that remain unfulfilled, but as time passes, they become a strong part of our memories.

And I can see that you are working hard to achieve your current dreams, and they will surely bring you true happiness.

 2 months ago 

That was the year when I had to shift from the art group to PCM to prepare for further studies. My father was keen I opted for engineering but I wanted to be a cricketer. He won.

 2 months ago (edited)

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community

DescriptionInformation
Verified User✔️
Club Status#club100
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free / AI Article Free
✔️
Bot Free✔️
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25% ✔️
steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile❌

Well, what can I really say than your father wanted the best for you, do you ever think of the brighter side of his decision? You don't know whether becoming a cricketer would have ended well with you. Once again thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us!


I invite you to support @pennsif.witness to grow across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

 2 months ago 

Thanks for the review and your wise words! I was just wondering if I am in Club 5050? Please let me know so I amend my tags and keep it that way in the future too. Thank you 😄

 2 months ago 

No you're not, else I would have told you it was a mistake and I'll do the needful right away

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 2 months ago 

Cricket is one of the games that I don't know how to play to date. I now understand why your birthday was the most pleasant birthday you have ever had. A birthday that your parents would wish you love and a gift is always remarkable. I wish you well and thanks for the invite.

 2 months ago 

No worries... Even I don't know how to play football. And this is not all about my birthday, but that day changed my future forever. I never wanted to be a professional but a cricketer right from the beginning.

 2 months ago 

Cricket is one of the games that I don't know how to play to date. I now understand why your birthday was the most pleasant birthday you have ever had. A birthday that your parents would wish you love and a gift is always remarkable. I wish you well and thanks for the invite.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 2 months ago 

Thanks!

 2 months ago 

Take @sur-riti as an example of an independent person.
In any case, it's difficult to do with tough fathers.
Thank you for this invitation. But I am a little busy because my daughter-in-law and son are staying with me while their house is being color washed.

 2 months ago 

I can't do but laugh reading your response on this post because not everyone is as strong as he is. I wish you and him luck and a harder attitude to face tough fathers in your lives.

 2 months ago 

😍😍

 2 months ago 

No problem mam, always welcome, wherever you are free. This platform is not going anywhere. With respect.

 2 months ago 

👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50