👨‍💻 #Proposal-86: The Updated Navigation is Live 🥳 + Community Avatar & Cover Images

in Steem Dev5 days ago (edited)

🥳 Navigation is Live

👈👈 In case you hadn't noticed 😉


Communities Update

Since my last post on the subject of communities, I received a message from @steemchiller informing me that there are properties available within Hivemind to store a community's Avatar and Cover Image. I have also brushed my teeth multiple times 🪥

This was good news. It meant that I could link these properties to the existing "Community Edit" screen and users wouldn't need to dig out long forgotten passwords for communities created many moons ago. This also has the benefit that any admin within a community can now update the imagery used in their community.

My plan was to use the logic that's currently used on the Profile screen and repurpose it for the community.

Unfortunately, things aren't always that straightforward as these 2 sections had obviously been written by different developers with very different approaches to coding, in particular with how the information is validated.

It wasn't too bad though - I was able to reuse some of the existing logic, components and validation to update the Community Settings page and also kept the previous logic (using the @hiv-xxxxxx account) as a fall-back if no Community Avatar or Cover image is set (although this won't appear on the Community Settings screen).

As with the existing profile screen, the validation won't reject stupid URLs but when the images get rendered to screen, they're run through the existing proxifyImageUrl function so won't display if they're not valid.

Separator-code.png

🧪 Testing

I've tested the code on the communities that I'm an Administrator to (all 2 of them) and things are working as expected.

That's no comparison to having a community of users test things within their communities though and it'd be great if you could test this update, as well as all of the community updates that have been made on the following URL:

https://condenser-r64jisicxa-ul.a.run.app/@the-gorilla/communities

I'm at a point now where I'm happy and would like to spend some time testing and tidying up the code so please do have a look and suggest any improvements that you can think of.









 

 

Separator-code.png

the-gorilla's Alternative Steemit Interface

In case you didn't know, I've created an interface to help you find content that you're interested in more easily.

Posts by voting bot users, abusers and spam tags are hidden and you can search by multiple tags - allowing you to find the content that you're interested in more easily.

👉 Launch Alternative Steemit Interface 👈




Separator-tools.png

the-gorilla's Club Status Tool

I've also created a tool to help users review their club status - showing them where their power's coming from, how much they're powering up, transferring out and who they share a wallet with amongst other things.

Please use it wisely.

👉 Launch Club Status Tool 👈

Footer-Bottom.png

Sort:  

I have also brushed my teeth multiple times 🪥

Finally! If you did not do this, the changes would remain unimplemented 😁.

In fact, a great event was taking place and should not be underestimated 🥳. This is the first interface change since I learned about Steem. And where did it all start? From the fact that one person believed in his own strength. Without this, we could all continue to sit back and complain about stagnation.

Now we all know that Steem/Steemit has room for improvement, that this is a reality, not a theoretical possibility. I always encourage everyone to think about what they can do for Steem. It sounds idealistic and naive, but it really is. Each of us is a grain of sand that makes up the beach. Here one grain of sand gives us a new interface, another grain of sand can do something else. Imagine if every grain of sand was not indifferent! In fact, this is an unfortunate comparison, because a whole beach of active sand is a whimsical sight🤣 .

I like the changes, although I still need to get used to them. I hope that you will continue to work 😉.

 4 days ago 

You wrote that very aptly :-)

😊

 3 days ago 

Thanks - I hope that the update makes things a little easier 🙂

Congrats & thanks!
It does!

👈👈 In case you hadn't noticed 😉

You read it here first on the Oasis News 😂 #lmao what a timing.

Wow, just great to see this latest update, and thanks for all your hard work!

I'm right there with @o1eh, this is the first time I can actually remember seeing a noteworthy interface change in all the time I've been here.

And wow, not only implemented, but it actually seems to worked, in somewhat stark contrast to some of the botched hardforks in our past!

 3 days ago 

Thank you - progress feels a lot slower than I'd initially hoped/expected but it's progress nonetheless.

I'm being careful to only submit things after plenty of testing. I've been using this new interface for about 3 months whilst waiting patiently. I'm excited about the community changes too which can hopefully join the deployment queue soon.

Sooo much better! I love it ;)

 4 days ago 

Congratulations on brushing your teeth... er, success ;-)

The tip from Steemchiller is worth its weight in gold. I have tried to check the settings.
In the hivemind database there is only one field for the avatar (profile picture) avatar_url. For the cover picture only the general field settings remains, right?

You are welcome to send me the current version as a zip again. I no longer have to test the previous version ;-)

 3 days ago 

Brushing teeth is very important.

The suggestion's made a big difference. Whilst it worked, using the @hive-xxxxxx account approach would never have felt quite right. It would've been fine for new communities where the owner has a new key, but many older communities might've had difficulties. This solution is definitely much better.

I'm storing both the avatar_url and cover_url within the settings. Within settings, there should be additional options for default_view, bg_color and bg_color2 which I'm not planning to use. I could potentially use them to allow the admin to change a couple of other colours on the page but I don't really want to allow that kind of carnage.

I'll send over an updated zip - just working on it again today. I've identified the source of the RCP Errors which was preventing posts from loading in the "Explore" section so I'm in the process of fixing it - which also involves moving code from one component into a different component (always fun).

I'm slowly getting there 🙂

 3 days ago 

I've identified the source of the RCP Errors

That sounds really good.
You're slowly becoming a professional for difficult problems ;-D

Within settings, there should be additional options

As I understand it, you can probably also store any properties there for communities. This theoretically opens up a number of possibilities. Depending on whether/how the condenser can process this.

 3 days ago (edited)

I think there's something in Hivemind that controls what can be stored and what can't (I could be wrong). Steemchiller shared a snippet of what is currently available which I've assumed is the limit.

You're slowly becoming a professional for difficult problems ;-D

I just decided this morning that I'd try to figure it out, no matter how hard or how much I'd need to learn. Once I'd identified some of the functions at play and in particular, the one triggering the error message, I was able to change the error message to something more meaningful to me and take it from there. It's very satisfying to have been able to do it.

This URL is functioning much better now 🙂 Although 1st load is always quite slow

1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Although... I wouldn't have written a post, but let the people with blinkers discover veeery slowly that something has changed... ;-)

 3 days ago 

Ha ha - well, I was already writing a post about the community update and then after lots and lots of problems deploying it to my server, I decided to include it in my update. And I think it was the correct decision. Sometimes people forget how important teeth brushing is.

Sometimes people forget how important teeth brushing is.

All these people simply don't read enough quick fire content.

Sometimes people forget how important teeth brushing is.

That's probably true! Btw, don't you think we should also consider washing feet before going to bed?

Loving the new interface. After ages I have seen some noticeable and remarkable changes on steemit.com. Thank you for all your hard work. (:

 3 days ago 

You're welcome - I'm pleased that you like it 🙂

Two words from me... THANK YOU!

 3 days ago 

Six words from me... you are

Oh yeah?
It is your fault that I am sitting with a wet screen! (•ิ‿•ิ)

 3 days ago 

It is your fault that I am sitting with a wet screen! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Take responsibility for your actions. You'll get nowhere if you blame other people 😜

I'll use my duaghters famous words... "We take it from whoever it comes" (•ิ‿•ิ)

I noticed it immediately and texted a couple of people: "what's wrong with Steemit?" Lol

It was a little slow at first, during the launch , I guess.

But now, I am too happy with the changes. Loving it!

Congratulations, you did it!

 3 days ago 

I guess it might be slow to start off with whilst your computer / phone or the server slowly starts to cache things. Hopefully things will work beautifully from now on 🙂

Yes

After cleaning everything, it worked beautifully

Great, now it will be better to navigate, I like it

 3 days ago 

Cool, thanks 👍

Congratulations for the great job!

#welovedev

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58