You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👨‍💻 #Proposal-86: The Updated Navigation is Live 🥳 + Community Avatar & Cover Images

in Steem Dev4 days ago

Congratulations on brushing your teeth... er, success ;-)

The tip from Steemchiller is worth its weight in gold. I have tried to check the settings.
In the hivemind database there is only one field for the avatar (profile picture) avatar_url. For the cover picture only the general field settings remains, right?

You are welcome to send me the current version as a zip again. I no longer have to test the previous version ;-)

Sort:  
 3 days ago 

Brushing teeth is very important.

The suggestion's made a big difference. Whilst it worked, using the @hive-xxxxxx account approach would never have felt quite right. It would've been fine for new communities where the owner has a new key, but many older communities might've had difficulties. This solution is definitely much better.

I'm storing both the avatar_url and cover_url within the settings. Within settings, there should be additional options for default_view, bg_color and bg_color2 which I'm not planning to use. I could potentially use them to allow the admin to change a couple of other colours on the page but I don't really want to allow that kind of carnage.

I'll send over an updated zip - just working on it again today. I've identified the source of the RCP Errors which was preventing posts from loading in the "Explore" section so I'm in the process of fixing it - which also involves moving code from one component into a different component (always fun).

I'm slowly getting there 🙂

 3 days ago 

I've identified the source of the RCP Errors

That sounds really good.
You're slowly becoming a professional for difficult problems ;-D

Within settings, there should be additional options

As I understand it, you can probably also store any properties there for communities. This theoretically opens up a number of possibilities. Depending on whether/how the condenser can process this.

 3 days ago (edited)

I think there's something in Hivemind that controls what can be stored and what can't (I could be wrong). Steemchiller shared a snippet of what is currently available which I've assumed is the limit.

You're slowly becoming a professional for difficult problems ;-D

I just decided this morning that I'd try to figure it out, no matter how hard or how much I'd need to learn. Once I'd identified some of the functions at play and in particular, the one triggering the error message, I was able to change the error message to something more meaningful to me and take it from there. It's very satisfying to have been able to do it.

This URL is functioning much better now 🙂 Although 1st load is always quite slow

1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55