The Food Diary Game | Season 4 | December 31st - 2021 | sfcharity50pc | #Club75 #Club5050 | Happy New Year! How to Make Perfect Venezuelan Asado Negro (Black Round Roast)

in SteemFoods2 years ago (edited)

Hi, dear Steemians and SteemFoodies!

It's my Day 31 in the Fourth Season of the Food Diary Game. It's Friday and New Year's Eve.

I share this post in English, from the #SteemFoods community, led by @steemitfoods and @alikoc07 on the occasion of the Fourth Season of the Food Diary Game, now promoting Club5050, #Club75 and Club100.

50% of the rewards from this post will go to @sf-charity, so that I can help good deeds happen and help this great Community grow.


I have joined #Club75. Learn everything about it HERE: STEEMFOODS X CLUB75 | #club75 Tag Is Ready To Use! What Are The Rules Of The #club75 Tag?, so you can, join in!

image.png
image.png

Complying with #Club75 Rules

image.png

No Withdrawals During the Last 60 Days

Zero withdrawals during the last 60 days (Club75 until January 8/2022).

I did use 3 SBD prize for food, which I received from @steemitfoods. The occasion was this: SteemFoods Shopping List Event | SEASON: -1- RESULTS | Shopping Support for 5 Families | 🆕 🌟
image.png

image.png

I bought 35.214 Steem with the 3 SBD, so I could get more bolivars and so be able to buy more food for the same amount of SBD:

image.png

image.png

My Power-Ups During the Last 60 Days

Total SP powered up: 828.225 STEEM.

image.png
image.png

You can check my Steemit Wallet here.
You can check my SteemWorld Page (developed by @steemchiller) here.

image.png

I woke up feeling grateful to have my family free from the onslaught of Covid19, at least for this year. Those who were once sick are now recovered. My son is well and healthy, though far away, but well and happy. Today I will celebrate with an asado negro, a traditional Venezuelan dish, which does not suit everyone.

I had my first coffee at 8 a.m. I didn't wake up so early but it was a good time to start cooking.

My duties in the kitchen today:

  • Asado negro, "black round roast", I guess, and brownie for New Year's Eve dinner at my dad's
  • Hallacas and chicken salad for New Year's lazy day

My food-day started with coffee and then coffee with milk.

image.png

I cooked scrambled eggs with vegetables (the same I used for the asado negro) and toasted pita bread for brekfast. I also served some guayanés cheese to go with the bread nachos.

image.png

Then I started cooking seriously.

If you want to make a perfect Venezuelan asado negro without cheating, this is what you should do. Step 0 is find a delicious red wine (it doesn't have to be fine or expensive, just delicious; I used Cartacho as usual).

1- Sauté ají dulce, onion and green and red bell pepper in corn oil (or the one you prefer).

2- Add half a cup of sugar for every 4 cups of chopped vegetables and 1/4 cup of melted or grated cane honey for every half cup of sugar.

image.png

3- When the vegetables are soft, add the crushed garlic and salt to taste. Add a little vinegar and plenty of red wine. Cook for 2 minutes and remove the sofrito from the pan. Reserve in the pyrex (or other) where you are going to bake the meat.
*The black roast can also be done on the stove, but in the oven, the meat is more tender.

4- Tie the cut of meat (muchacho redondo) with string or natural fiber rope, to bind the piece of meat and make it compact and easy to cut it after cooking.

image.png

5- Rub the meat with sugar and cane honey, add enough oil in the same pan and seal the piece of meat tied in the pan.

image.png

It should be sealed on all sides.

6- Place the meat in the tray with the sofrito.

image.png

7- Add a cup of red wine to the pan to collect what is left and add it to the dish where the meat is. Cover the tray and bake in the oven at 300 degrees Fahrenheit, one hour for each pound of meat.
*The tray can be covered with aluminum foil. I put one pyrex on top of the other and this allows me to see what is going on in there during the whole process, without having to open the oven.

8- After you turn off the oven, wait until the roast cools down and remove the thread from the tying. Then you can blend the sofrito smoothly and this will be the gravy for our roast. I used my immersion blender in the same tray in which I baked the meat, but it can be done in the blender.

image.png
image.png

You don't need to put coke or coloring. The caramelized sugar and the cane honey will give the roast its characteristic black color.
You don't need to put coke or coloring. The caramelized sugar and the cane honey will give the roast its characteristic black color.

image.png

It is important to wait for the roast to cool before slicing it, otherwise the meat juices will escape and it will become dry. This is how my black roast turned out after slicing, very nice and also very tasty.

image.png
image.png

My family was thrilled; @adncabrera, my sister, told me to tag her to comment on how much she liked the asado. By the way, I must say that her salad was spectacular (you'll see it below).

Before I made the brownie for our dinner at my dad's, I worked on the hallacas and salad fro January 1st (because we don't cook this day).

image.png

Then I made the longed for brownie. I used my traditional recipe for brownie, but I added white chocolate and covered it with fudge I made with condensed milk and dark chocolate. My family loved it.

image.png

For our dinner, we had hallacas and fruit cake made by @sandracabrera and bread and salad made by @adncabrera. Everything was delicious. I'll show you.

Hallacas. My sister makes delicious hallacas; she uses pork only. You have to try them.

image.png

Raw salad with homemade mayonnaise vinaigrette: zucchini, carrots, green cabbage, raisins, coconut and caramelized cereals. A delight.

image.png

Homemade bread, @adncabrera's specialty.

image.png

This is my plate.

image.png

My brownie for dessert.

image.png

And these were the highlights of my food-day. As always, I hope you're all healthy and at peace.

HAPPY 2022!

May luck smile on you, may health fill you up.

See you in Season 5 of the Food Diary Game :D

image.png
Clean plates!

image.png

Join us in the 4th Season of The Food Diary Game! Check it out HERE.

Logo with Steemit.gif

Text and pictures are mine.

Thanks for the visit.

BannerSteemit 2.png

image.png

Some of my most recent recipes on #SteemFoods

Algunas de mis recetas más recientes en #SteemFoods

Fruit & Cream Cake

image.png

Post

Crunchy Fried Cheese Wraps for Breakfast (my recipe)

image.png

Post

#Club5050 Yogurt and Lemon Cake
image.png

Post

My Father's Fish Soup Recipe (cocina cumanesa)
image.png

Post

SteemFoods Contest -23-| Homemade Delicious Ice Cream Recipe | Helado casero cremoso de piña con base de arroz


image.png

Post

Join us on #SteemFoods!

Click here

Join Club5050, #Club75, or Club100, the intiatives by the Steemit Team, now on SteemFoods, too. Learn about them HERE!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

@marlyncabrera
Gracias por lo que me corresponde. Siempre es muy grato cocinar para la familia.
La cena estuvo espectacular. Hay que tener en cuenta que la competencia de sabores estuvo fuerte.
La ensalada y el pan de @adncabrera fueron todo un deleite al paladar.
El asado negro son duda casi se robó la noche .... pero mis hallacas le ganaron.
ja, ja, ja, ja, ja, ja
Muy lindo tu post, Marlyn. Todo muy bien organizado. Bellas fotos.

Fue una noche memorable en familia.

 2 years ago 

Una grata noche. Qué se repita. Gracias, @sandracabrera, hallaca Master, ja, ja, ja 🥰

@marlyncabrera, he vuelto a deleitarme con la cena de Año Nuevo leyendo tu post y degustando las magníficas fotografías del proceso del asado. Escribo mientras acabo con el último pedacito de brownie, que he estado comiendo de miguitas...
Todo estuvo delicioso. Y las hallacas estuvieron muy buenas.
Hay que repetir el banquete para celebrar Reyes.
Agradezco en cada comida familiar contar con @sandracabrera y @marlyncabrera.
Abrazos a las dos.

 2 years ago 

Sí, sí, qué se repita, con ensalada de mandolina🤭😃🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28