Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12 - W2 : Self Motivation

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago
20230914_060041.png
Edited using Pixellab

Greetings everyone and welcome to my entry for the Self Motivation contest by the steem4nigeria community.

We've all been in a situation where we look for that X-factor to help us achieve something. That cheerleader who keeps cheering us on even in our hardest moments, that's what motivation is about.


What do you think causes people to lose their motivation in life?

We've been asked what causes someone to lose their motivation, however, I would to take you back a little to what motivation is all about, before determining the factors responsible for its loss.

Motivation to me is simply finding the belief or push to face obstacles and go through difficult moments in life. Motivation serves as the petrol to fuel your ambitions and help move you to achieve greater heights.

20230914_060648.png
Edited using Pixellab

Motivation is the tiny voice in your head telling you to keep trying and not stop, You're almost there, keep pushing, that underlying factor that keeps telling you, you can achieve your dreams.

Motivation is what makes us get up early in the morning and go to school, work, or carry out daily chores be it under the rain or sun. It makes us regularly attend and not miss classes or work. Therefore, everything we do in life requires us to be motivated to do it, hence we wouldn't even do it or do it with no motive.

But then, what causes one to lose motivation if it's needed in every part of life? A lot of factors contribute to people losing their motivation, for a lot of reasons which include:

Past Failures: When people try something and fail at it, they tend to draw back from doing it again and again, and they start questioning their choices, With such questions comes doubt which is a killer of motivation.

Lack of Support: This can be related to someone eager to achieve a desired goal, but has no backing or resources to achieve their desired goals.

High Expectation: We are all aware of the saying "If your dreams don't scare you, you've not dreamt", yes It's good to have big dreams, but with every good thing, bad is not far off. If we expect too much from ourselves and those around us, we can end up being discouraged which in turn is a lack of motive.

Burnout or Overwhelmed: This happens when we feel we've put all efforts into achieving a desired goal and the results are not coming, hence we lose motive and start asking questions like What's the point of trying?

These and many more factors set in to demoralize you, which is the opposite of motivation, but in all your psychology (mindset) is the real factor behind the loss of motivation as all these factors are connected to the mind.

20230914_062455.png
Edited using Pixellab

Have you been discouraged or depressed before? How did you handle it

Oh yes! I have. I don't think there is anyone in this world who would say they haven't been discouraged or depressed before.

The most prominent of my depression cases was when I graduated from the university and I couldn't go for my National Youth Service due to some filing errors. People started doubting the credibility of my BSc Degree as in Nigeria, you only considered a full flesh graduate after your National Youth Service which I was deprived of, and people backbit about the whole situation and started asking questions if I did graduate genuinely.

I can't lie, I was depressed for months, as I was at home doing nothing, but I did overcome it cause I knew the reason I was still at home. I started reading books and engaged myself actively to gain myself back. In the end, it took them 3 years to rectify that issue for me before I could go for my National Youth Service.


Is self-motivation a good practice? Explain

If motivation is the zeal to carry out a task to the end, no matter the obstacle, what then is self-motivation?

Self-motivation is simply the act of becoming an inspiration to oneself, that is believing in your abilities. You looking at yourself and saying yes I can do this on my own and putting the willingness to make it come to fruition.

20230914_060926.png
Edited using Pixellab

Hence, this is not just good practice but the best practice and habit to grow, because if you start doubting your abilities, your mindset will keep you down, Remember your mind is a powerful tool.

When your self-motivation declines, this leads to you neglecting yourself and your goals, which results in not achieving your goals. Hence, you must constantly motivate yourself, reminding yourself of your plans and goals.


On Steemit what keeps you motivated

When I came on board this Steemit community, about 2+ years ago, I have come to encounter some obstacles that I felt so down sometimes. However, my motivation to continue is the hope of good things to come, and my love for knowledge, writing, and learning new things.

20230914_061309.png
Edited using Pixellab

I've also come across some wonderful users in the likes of @ruthjoe, @starrchris, and @patjewell who have always had my back whenever I'm in lack of motivation, and I can't just thank them enough. I say big, big, big thank you to every other user who has also supported me on this journey.



I would like to invite @ruthjoe, @ninapenda, @ikwal, and @suboohi.

Thank You for your Time


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20230620_142532.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 9 months ago 

Wow! That time of depression must be very hard for you. Graduating and having so much expectations to join others for the service and all of a sudden your name is no where to be found for 3 years!!!

I know someone who had this sme issue and never went for service till date. My dear, a lot of things causes people to be depressed and it only takes the grace of God to overcome such depression state.

I am glad at last you won!! Congratulations and good luck !

 9 months ago 

It was indeed a terrible feeling having even people with your family doubt your credibility, the testament is of my pillow to tell, but in all, by his grace, I overcame.

Look at me now, having less than a month to round up the service with something doing. It can only be God. Thank you for your support.

 9 months ago 

Aww! I see my name here..well am so glad I am one of those person's who has motivated you on Steemit. It's a great honour for me to be in such position to help.

Self motivation is always the ultimate. Best wishes!

 9 months ago 

If we don't do it for ourselves, who will? Maybe Dettol, but I am not ready to give dettol that privilege over myself.

We have only ourselves to blame at the end, self-motivation is the ultimate goal. Thank you for your friendship and support, I really appreciate.

Ah! That carrot in front of the donkey! If we don't hold it ourselves, nobody else will.
Self-motivation is one of the key pillars of success. This is true not only in our daily lives but also here on Steemit.
As I always say, a little bit of motivation can go a long way, even if it means that you must motivate yourself.

As for mentioning me, thank you! ☕
This was just the motivation I needed today to get me through it.

Best wishes not only for this contest but also for Steemit.
Keep on doing what you are doing!

 9 months ago 

It's being nothing short of pleasure learning from you, you've been one of the many X-factor to my Steemit journey.

Awh!!! Thank you!

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @pelon53

Loading...
 9 months ago 

Greetings

Your article is great. Self-motivation introduces us to success. Through self-motivation we can overcome our frustration and depression.

 9 months ago 

Thank you for your unending support. I very much appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14