No Where to Buy Steem In AmericasteemCreated with Sketch.

in American Steem5 days ago

Browsing through #Steemit, I found several communities dedicated to different countries—more than I can name in one paragraph. What I found interesting was that not one of them was related to the United States. This is an interesting fact when you consider everything, but once you strip away a few things, you see why. Steem is not available for purchase at any exchange in America...NONE! In fact, there is a silent war on the ability to buy crypto in the country altogether.

image.png
Subscribe to American Steem

Now, don't get me wrong. There are still plenty of places to buy #Bitcoin and #Ethereum—even #Doge these days. That doesn't mean the fight to restrict isn't going on still. For me, a guy who is only on a couple of exchanges, it was unbelievably hard to get #Steem on this account after finding the keys on an old computer a few weeks back. After six years I dusted off those keys and found a Steemit that was much different than the one I left. Only one of the users I was following is still around @SimonJay, who everyone on this site should be following (the guy hasn't powered down one time in seven years). I met him several years ago on #Dtube, but neither of us is on the site any longer (can someone explain what happened with the #Dapps on this chain). After a little back and forth, Simon instructed me to go to an exchange site, and after a bit of searching, I found StealthEX. Those guys were great; they helped me with the exchange, and I was able to get some Steem sent.

The point is that getting your hands on Steem from an exchange to power up should not be that hard. But as the graphic below shows, it's actually impossible without the exchange site. So, essentially, you MUST pay the site's fee, or you're not getting any Steem.

image.png
Screenshot image via CoinLore

I talked a buddy of mine, @PhilHughes, into joining Steemit, but it took him forever to get the site to allow him to create a profile. He said the 2FA/security checks were a nightmare, and then the site itself failed multiple times in the process, making him start over again. I'm going to tag a few people randomly here: @justyy @pennsif @steemcurator02 @steemchiller. Does anyone have solutions for possible friends of mine I may ask to join? I'm just looking to improve the Steem community in the same ways other countries have already done.

I read an article here on Steemit today by @greece-lover in the German Steem community talking about the possibility of developing something to link #Facebook to Steemit, which is a brilliant idea that someone should aid him in doing. This site needs an influx of users/potential investors badly.

With all this in mind, and seeing all the various communities here devoted to different countries, I thought, why not start a movement here to try and further spread the use of Steem in the United States? Other countries are already doing meet-ups and strengthening their online communities via Steemit, and they have set the standard here for us to follow.

Who's with me? Join American Steem

If you liked the post, make sure to upvote and/or resteem it. All new @Steemit followers are welcome, and most are reciprocated. I'll be using this space to talk about a variety of topics beyond this one in the future...Hope to see you again!

Sort:  

This new service from @symbionts might help for easier sign ups, requiring only a Gmail account...

Steemians in North America and Europe are quite thin on the ground these days.

The numbers here in Europe do seem to be growing very gradually, but in the US and Canada I don't know many people at the moment.

@remlaps is the main active Steemian I know in the US - he might know of others.

Not sure, but I think maybe @danmaruschak is in the US (or maybe Canada?). There is also a USA Steem Users community, but I don't recall that it ever had much activity, and it now looks like the Admin and Mod have gone dark. I guess that's about all I can think of at the moment.

Update: Maybe also @kenny-crane, @jeff-kubitz, and @mrosenquist.

Regarding the original topic on this post, I'm also not aware of any way to buy Steem in the US without trading through from BTC or other commonly held cryptos.

I am in the US (specifically in Eugene, Oregon). Bittrex used to be one of the major exchanges for Steem, but there was bad blood related to the Hive split that complicated that, and then Bittrex as a whole exited the US market citing regulatory concerns and then I believe is currently going through bankruptcy. My impression is that the uncertainty about the regulatory environment in the US makes most exchanges reluctant to engage with non-mainstream coins like Steem.

Good to know there are still a few Steemians in the USA.

Back in the day when we had an active Homesteaders community on Steem, there were at least 150 from the US.

Yeah I don't think you can buy Steem in the US either unless you use BTC, ETH or something like that.

Hello!

No easy way to buy STEEM that I know of. I use tribaldex on hive-engine which is a level 2 of HIVE, but you need to go BTC or LTC (or a few others) to Hive then to Steem. Might work okay for smaller buys under 1000 Steem.

i think you can add here a Account https://steemyy.com/reg.php

 4 days ago 

Thank you for sharing this; while it doesn't help getting any steem to power the account up (no starting delegation of power that way...literally account starts with 0), maybe the process is easier.

Same here. No Steem since July I believe :(
No meet ups it all died in Europe

@wakeupkitty @jiva34 @grebmot - meeting in US?

I'm from Europe, sadly enough. Also half a bridge troll who isn't really fit to make public appearances unless I find my lost leisure suit :-)

Europe is big. Which part. We can have our own Steem bbq event

Western Germany, but I'm shy. Not even joking. Bad things happen when I go out in public. Dogs start barking, old ladies change the streets, then it starts raining.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Great post that touches on a few problems, we used to have a good amount of American users on here.

I remember a few years back when the government got real serious with a crackdown on crypto that a lot of users powered down. I thought this was just because people were angry about the whole Hive thing that happened but now I see there was more to it.

I would love to see a American community grow on here, I always thought it was strange not to see one. I really like the image graphic.

As for Dtube I believe they are still around, I think you can use Steem, Hive and even Blurt to log-in to Dtube.

Lastly thank you for sharing your story/experience and the mention, glad some of the information was useful.

Thanks for sharing.. didn't know that. I'll think about something.

Hello @httr4life! You are Outstanding!


command: !thumbup is powered by witness @justyy and his contributions are: https://steemyy.com
More commands are coming!

I have just started posting again, from South Dakota, joined in 16 . the split really brought down the participation in the US, me included, but thought I would give it a shot again.

 2 days ago 

Welcome back, Andre!

You might be able to buy another crypto and then swap it using your wallet, or some dedicated site. Not a perfect solution either, but maybe worth a try. All and all the whole operation doesn't seem very user-friendly, at least if you're not some kind of enthusiast.

Personally I've been wondering how I could even sell my Crypto at this point without suffering an aneurysm. Used to be at Bitvavo and was actually pretty ok with that, worked fine and all, but then german branch closed down and left me looking for alternatives. Half of the local sites have horrible reviews and put you through some over the top shennanigans just to be able to make transaction. Like bro, I'm not going to make a hostage photo holding some written paper that describes what I need the money for. Ain't going to happen.

So that's one issue, another one is our tax system. Nothing wrong with paying taxes I guess but am I supposed to document every upvote on here? I know there's some kind of threshold, but I'm pretty sure you still have to disclose any crypto earnings. That includes whatever you might gain hypothetically speaking after swapping a crypto. Then you need to sit on that for a year, or something? Frankly, I'm too dumb for that kind of crazyness, but that's just me.

Thus far I like Steemit actually and assume it has lots of potential. On the other hand it would definitely help to have a more intuitive search function. That and more comprehensible URLs. Like it would be neat if I could actually visit the American Steem without memorizing some kind of arcane hex code that's meant to designate a community. Sites like Reddit manage to do it, so I'm sure it's not impossible (even with the tags).

Kitty talked about creating a community just to talk and I'm kind of warming up to the idea. My suggestion would be like a universal community functioning as some sort of unofficial gateway hub to other communities. Like a general I guess. Would be more newcomer friendly and could unit some of the tribes so to speak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44