You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No Where to Buy Steem In America

in American Steem4 days ago

This new service from @symbionts might help for easier sign ups, requiring only a Gmail account...

Steemians in North America and Europe are quite thin on the ground these days.

The numbers here in Europe do seem to be growing very gradually, but in the US and Canada I don't know many people at the moment.

@remlaps is the main active Steemian I know in the US - he might know of others.

Sort:  

Not sure, but I think maybe @danmaruschak is in the US (or maybe Canada?). There is also a USA Steem Users community, but I don't recall that it ever had much activity, and it now looks like the Admin and Mod have gone dark. I guess that's about all I can think of at the moment.

Update: Maybe also @kenny-crane, @jeff-kubitz, and @mrosenquist.

Regarding the original topic on this post, I'm also not aware of any way to buy Steem in the US without trading through from BTC or other commonly held cryptos.

I am in the US (specifically in Eugene, Oregon). Bittrex used to be one of the major exchanges for Steem, but there was bad blood related to the Hive split that complicated that, and then Bittrex as a whole exited the US market citing regulatory concerns and then I believe is currently going through bankruptcy. My impression is that the uncertainty about the regulatory environment in the US makes most exchanges reluctant to engage with non-mainstream coins like Steem.

Good to know there are still a few Steemians in the USA.

Back in the day when we had an active Homesteaders community on Steem, there were at least 150 from the US.

Yeah I don't think you can buy Steem in the US either unless you use BTC, ETH or something like that.

Hello!

No easy way to buy STEEM that I know of. I use tribaldex on hive-engine which is a level 2 of HIVE, but you need to go BTC or LTC (or a few others) to Hive then to Steem. Might work okay for smaller buys under 1000 Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43