My progress in learning Spanish (Part 6): Que hora es (with video)

in RECREATIVE STEEMlast year

20230703_210549.jpg

image.png

Hello friends, I welcome you all to the sixth part of my Spanish learning progress.
Each week I try to practice a lot to be able to learn some tangible things in spanish language. I hope to achieve my goal.

Today I'll tak about how to say the time in Spanish.

I have learnt that to ask what the time is in spanish:

¿Que hora es? = What is the time?

So in this post I'll talk about what I've learnt about answering that question above.

In other to know how to say the time, I have to know the numbers in spanish, and that was what my part two post was about.

If the time os on the hour, below is how it expressed in Spanish:

SpanishTime
Es la una1:00
Son las dos2:00
Son las tres3:00
Son las cuatro4:00
Son las cinco5:00
Son las seis6:00
Son las siete7:00
Son las ocho8:00
Son las nueve9:00
Son las diez10:00
Son las once11:00
Son las doce12:00

As we know, the time is not always on the hour, so I had to learn also how to say, half past, quarter past, quarter to.

See the following examples:

4:30 = Son las cuatro y media
4:15 = Son las cuatro y cuarto
4:45 = son las cuatro menos cuarto

Most times the minutes is not in half or in quarter so to be more specific when telling someone the time in Spanish, it is similar to english. See below examples:

1:29 | Es la una y veintinueve
2:33| Son las dos y treinta y tres
4:55| Son las cuatro y cincuenta y cinco

IMG_20230703_174830_673.jpg Son las seis y diez. Own image @madilyn02

Sometimes we might need to indicate what time of the day it is. So the below can be done:

2:00 am | Son las dos de la mañana
2:00 pm | Son las dos de la tarde
10:00 pm | Son las diez de la noche

To summarize I'll include the video below:

I will like to talk about a word I learnt from a venezuelan friend. He told me that sometimes when we don't know what is exactly the time, but we know its past five or six or anything, we can say he below:

Son las ocho y pico

In English that can be said as 'its 8-something'.
The friend told me that the word Pico is mostly used by venezuelans and it might be different in other Spanish countries.

Time in spanish; Things that I have kept in mind

En punto = O'clock
mediodía = midday
tarde = Afternoon
mañana = Morning
noche = Night
Amanecer = Dawn
medianoche = midnight
Media = Half
Cuarto = Quarter
Temprano= early

🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺

I'm happy that with this medium I'm practicing my Spanish and I can share my progress step by step in spanish.
The time was not very difficult to learn thanks to a good friend.

See you in part 7.

Previous parts

Part 1: Spanish alphabets
Part 2: Spanish numbers
Part 3: Days of the week
Part 4: Dates in Spanish
Part 5: Basic colors

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Hola Madilyn, felicitaciones por tus avances en español, así como tú me a tocado aprender portugués y algo de Inglés y reconozco el esfuerzo que estás realizando sigue adelante 👍

 last year 

Hello thank you so much for the visit and nice words. Greetings!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45