My progress in learning Spanish (Part 4): Dates in Spanish (with video)

in RECREATIVE STEEMlast year

20230619_083552.jpg
image.png

Hello friends, today is monday (hoy es lunes) and today again I share my progress in learning the Spanish language, this is the (part four) parte cuatro of this post and I'm happy to be sharing it, this way I keep practicing and to track the progress I'm making.

For this week I'll be sharing my knowledge of the dates and the big numbers in Spanish. I have dedicated myself to learning it and I'm happy to share with you.

First I want to share how to ask for today's date:

¿Cual es la fecha de hoy? = What is today's date?

The above is an everyday question that we meet, it is common for someone to ask what is todays date and learning it is important.

To be able to give a reply to this question, I have to know the following:

  • Numbers in Spanish
  • Days of the week
  • Months of the year

The part two of my Spanish learning progress post was about the numbers in spanish and the part 3 was about the days of the week. So I have already passed two steps, so today I tell you that I've also learned how to say the months of the year in Spanish. Here I write it below:

Months of the year

SpanishEnglish
EneroJanuary
FebreroFebruary
MarzoMarch
AbrilApril
MayoMay
JunioJune
JulioJuly
AgostoAugust
SeptiembreSeptember
OctubreOctober
NoviembreNovember
DeciembreDecember

Next is to know the years in Spanish and knowing the dates is as easy as know the big numbers in Spanish because the years are always read in full numbers unlike the english where we have two ways of saying them.
So I've been learning the big numbers and here below are some I've written down:

IMG_20230618_202805_647.jpg

Some years and their spanish translation are as follows:

FigureWords in spanish
1950Mil novecientos cincuenta
1990Mil novecientos noventa
1962Mil novecientos sesenta y dos
1845Mil ochocientos cuarenta y cinco
1881Mil ochocientos ochenta y uno
2020Dos mil veinte
2022Dos mil veintidós
2024Dos mil veinticuatro

In the video below I'll say the months of the year and the pronunciation of these years above:

So learning all of this makes it easier to answer the question:

Gloria: Hola madilyn, por favor, ¿cual es la fecha de hoy? (Hello madilyn, please, what is today's date?)

Madilyn: Hoy es el dieciocho de junio de dos mil veintitres. (Today is eighteenth june, two thousand and twenty three)

Gloria: Ok. Gracias! (Ok thank you!)

Un placer (a pleasure)


Saying the date in spanish takes the structure below:
Number + de + month + de + year

So using this structure, knowing the numbers, the days of the week and the months of the year, will make it easier to say what date is it.

🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼 🌺

Thank you for reading, I'm still learning so the pronunciation might not be perfect. I'm happy to share with you every week on the progress I make. I hope that soon I'll speak th language very fluently. See you next week!

Previous parts

Part 1: Spanish alphabets
Part 2: Spanish numbers
Part 3: Days of the week

image.png

Sort:  

Wuaooo mi querida Made definitivamente que cuando uno se coloca una meta y la lleva a cabo se cumple, con constancia y dedicación.
De verdad te felicito.
Espero pronto ver todos tus post en español para no tener que andar diciéndole a Google que me traduzca 🤭
Felicidades 👏👏👏

Loading...
 last year 

Muy buen progreso el que estás teniendo, espero que muy pronto puedas alcanzar esa meta de dominio de este lenguaje que es muy utilizado a nivel global y en en la plataforma.
Saludos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24