My progress in learning Spanish (Part 3): Days of the week (with video)

in RECREATIVE STEEMlast year (edited)

20230612_102151.jpg
image.png

Hello! And welcome to parte tres (part 3) of my spanish learning progress. Hoy es el lunes (Today is Monday), and as you know los lunes (on Mondays) I always post my Spanish learning progress, showcasing a new lesson I've learnt.
So por el semana (for this week) I'm going to share with you the names of the days of the week in Spanish.

We do not need to be reminded that there are seven days in a week and these days of the week have their own unique names, below I'll write the Spanish and the English translation:

Days of the week (dias de la semana)

SpanishEnglish translation
LunesMonday
MartesTuesday
MiércolesWednesday
JuevesThursday
ViernesFriday
SábadoSaturday
DomingoSunday

Below is how the the words are pronounced:

DaysPronunciation
Lunesloo-nes
Martesmar-tes
Miércolesmee-air-co-les
Jueveshwe-eves
Viernesvee-er-nes
Sabadosah-bah-doh
Domingodo-meen-go

I have also learnt the abbreviations for the days if the week.

AbbreviationDay
LLunes
MMartes
XMiércoles (x is used for miércoles so as not to confuse it with martes)
Jjueves
Vviernes
SSabado
DDomingo

So the abbreviations are below:

L M X J S D

In Spanish the day starts with monday unlike in english where we start from Sunday.

The video below will show you how I pronounce the days of the week in Spanish.

I must say this wasn't very difficult for me to memorize, after all the are only siete dias (seven days) and that is not much to memorize, unlike the numbers in Spanish haha.

  • When learning a new language I've learnt that it's good to learn relevant words for everyday conversation, so I found learning the days of the week to be important since it is used everyday in normal conversations.

Importance of learning the days of the week in Spanish


20230612_101543.jpg [Image created by me on pixelab]

It helps to know, What day it is, when is someone visiting.
Also it will help me to learn about schedules and understand them if they are written in Spanish.

Without knowing the days of the week in Spanish and I find myself where they only speak Spanish it will be difficult to get anything done.

🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺🌼🌺

I'm happy to be topping up my knowledge everyday, it's not going to be easy to learn everything but I keep trying.
This is where i'll stop for today, I hope you liked it. Next week will be for part 4 of the Spanish learning progress

Previous parts

Part 1: Spanish alphabets
Part 2: Spanish numbers

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

¡Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06. for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @adeljose

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63