My All-Time Top 20 Video Games (Part 1)

in Steem Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Fairly early in my Steemit "career", I discovered a user by the name of @whoisjohn and have enjoyed his posts about retro video games, often prompting a sense of nostalgia and long forgotten memories from my younger, worry-free days.

In a recent exchange, I asked @whoisjohn what his all-time favourite game was for the period of time - For example, comparing his feelings on Super Mario Bros. (circa 1983) vs. Call of Duty (circa 2003). Until the question was reciprocated, I hadn't realised what a ludicrously difficult question I'd asked!

So having provided my answer at the time, I've thought about it a great deal more and decided to shortlist games that I've loved over my lifetime with a view to sharing my all-time top 10. You can probably tell by the title of my post, 10 simply wasn't enough. 20 isn't really enough but I had to draw the line somewhere. (My shortlist was nearer 50 and that was choosing just 1 version from a particular franchise.)

Now I don't claim to be a hardcore gamer. You won't catch me sitting with a headset talking with a load of people I've never met. I love sports and I've never played Final Fantasy. So my list will undoubtedly be controversial. You'll wonder how I've missed out your favourite game. The chances are I've missed out my favourite game so go easy on me.

So here, I'll begin my top 20 and why I fell in love with each particular game. Let me know what you think.

20 - Treasure Island Dizzy (ZX Spectrum 48k)

Source

I'm not going to sit here and spout a load of crap about how amazing and memorable this game is because I can honestly remember very little about it. I remember the egg, I remember the coins, I remember the controls (Z, X and space bar) and I remember being pretty shit at it. But it's one of the few games I can remember from the ZX Spectrum which means something in itself. It was my first "real computer" and the one that I started learning to code on. So a part of this inclusion is a doffing of the cap to a machine that played a role in my future career.

19 - Space Invaders (Atari 2600)

Source

Now this is a game I remember well and was pretty decent at. Much better than that clown in the video. With the simplicity of left & right on a joystick and a red button to fire, you're not going to get an in depth review. This is one of my earliest memories of video games (I remember having Pong on a console of some sort before this) and along with Q*bert, one of my few memories of the Atari 2600.

18 - Double Dragon (Amiga 500)

Source

When I started to list out some classic video games, my Amiga 500 (upgraded to 1MB) is the machine that accounts for nearly half of the games on my list. So it's fair to say that it's a machine that holds a special place in my nostalgic memory bank. Double Dragon was about as iconic an arcade game as you could get. The simplicity of the back story is enough to tell you all that you need to know -

The Story so far.........

Double Dragon is the story of two twin brothers, Billy and Jimmy Lee facing the odds together in a city where survival has to be learned the hard way. Their knowledge of the martial arts, combined with the experience of though urban existence, has made thom both formidable fighting machines, ready for any challenge that comes their way.

But now the brothers are faced with their greatest challenge ever. Billy's girl Marian has been kidnapped by the Black Warriors, a savage and ruthless street gand led by the mysterious Shadow Boss. Using skill gained from a lifetime on the streets, and whatever weapons come to hand - including knives, whips, baseball bats, rocks and even oil drums - Billy and Jimmy must pursue the gang through the sprawling slums, factories and outskirts of the city, to reach the thugs' hideout for the final confrontation with the infamous Shadow Boss!

Link to the back story and controls

You know a game's good when there's no option to "block" or "defend".

17 - The Sims (PC)

Source

Wow, looks at this guy's games shelf. I'd love a couple of years going through that lot! I digress.

The Sims. Perhaps a surprise choice, perhaps not. At the time, The Sims was pretty ground breaking and before the days of needing to buy 1,000 expansion packs to own the entire game. It was all in one box and a community providing DLC quickly formed around it. There was something strangely addictive about building the homes and lives for little computerised people (anybody remember second life?) and then making them all fall in love and kiss each other non-stop, hoping that they didn't get caught out by the other sims they were knocking about with. Over time, the sims franchise got increasingly complex and increasingly took the piss with how little you got for your money. Sims 4 will cost you over $350 to own the entire game (source). So this version is the one I've chosen for my top 20, the version that was so special at the time it was released.

16 - Grand Theft Auto (PC)

Source

Another franchise which has gone on to produce some amazing games and I could easily have chosen any of the other versions. The missions are great fun or you could simply drive around, running people over and generally causing total chaos. GTA has caused controversy with many of the things it has chosen to include over the years and I remember at the time, this version was blamed for numerous driving offences - a quick google search found an 11-year-old boy taking his parents' car for a high speed police chase and it being blamed for teenagers' bad driving. It was always risky getting behind the wheel after spending a couple of hours mowing down pedestrians.

20 - 16 Summary

Choosing my top 20 was incredibly difficult. Putting them in any kind of order was doubly so and I'll look at this list again tomorrow and feel very differently about it. After I've reached number 1, I'll share some of the games that have missed out. @whoisjohn's favourite game is one that I've never played and there are some incredibly popular titles that I've never really gotten into. I've also not had chance to move beyond my PS3 and rarely play any games at all now due to having 2 children that are too young to appreciate blowing somebody's leg off on Soldier of Fortune.

16 - Grand Theft Auto (PC)
17 - The Sims (PC)
18 - Double Dragon (Amiga 500)
19 - Space Invaders (Atari 2600)
20 - Treasure Island Dizzy (ZX Spectrum 48k)


euro-banner-top.png

Fantasy Sports Euro 2020 Fantasy Football Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 200 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

euro-banner-bottom.png


Euros Banner Images: source 1source 2 + lots of Photoshop

Sort:  

Galaga all the way brother

Oh man. I didn't recognise the name so had to search for it on YouTube.

As soon as I saw the pattern that those things fly in at, I remember it like it were yesterday. And the double ship.

What a game - Great shout!

The Sims was awesome. I loved playing the superstar expansion, it was a nice twist to the basic gameplay. I've got the Sims 4 right now and its really awesome to see these games still being updated with newer content.

I'm waiting to see what the Sims 5 has in store for us.

I've got the base pack of sims 4 but haven't had much time to play it. It certainly seemed to have kept the essence of the earlier games - it's just a shame that they're splitting up the content so much in an effort to generate more revenue. I think this is alienating some of the fans they've had for so long now.

I remember playing the first sims game for over 24 hours when I was young. I was so tired and stiff I almost fell over trying to get up from the computer.

That's some serious gameplay - you must have been really hungry.

👇 I spent far too long on this
image.png

Gone for 2 years... Did you lose track of time playing something else?

These 2 years life got in the way and illness but I’m trying to get back into it.

I hope you're doing better now, you'll be back in the swing of things in no time 🙂

Thanks, I hope so.

My Favorite😊 :

  • Mario
  • Dangerous Dave
  • Pacman
  • Contra
  • Metal Slug

There's a game called "Dangerous Dave"? I have a friend we call Dangerous Dave, he'll be delighted to hear about this!

yep ! probably character of the game would also resemble him

dangerous-dave.png
Source

Have you got a friend called "Serious Sam" as well? That would be funny.

Well now i have to go make friends with someone named Sam and give them said nickname.

I remember Contra now. So many games are being suggested that I'd completely forgotten. I don't know a Dangerous Dave, only a Dodgy Dave.

Ohh .. Pure old school video games that suggests that you are from the third generation at the time of Queen or Aerosmith (Space Invaders) it is similar to Galaxy of the super Nintendo I used to play it with my sister although I never played with atari since I'm from the backstreetboys era forward. A game that I also remember a lot was about some war tanks that we were breaking bricks and the main objective was to kill the enemy and protect the eagle in the center below to be able to pass the mission although I do not remember his name. Ohh .. what old memories when I was only 12 years old.

I was born in 1980 🙂 I don't recognise the game you're describing. Do you remember what console it was on?

You are not that old ... you are in a perfect stage where you can still play video games, my brother is also your age and he spends his time glued to the playstation playing Fifa 2017 or resident evil 4.

Here is the video game that I described to you.

I can't remember that one.

People of around my age are very lucky. We were brought up with technology but at a time where we didn't rely upon it so understand and appreciate life without it.

Wise words, but nowadays many young people do not know what it is to live without the use of technology since they already grew up in a time when technological advances are an echo, electric cars although this already existed since 1905 cell phones every day more advanced the 5G etc ... I think taking a young man today for a camp away from technology would be torture for him.

Oh this is great! Much better than "what is the best game ever" question you asked me a little while ago. This is fun!

It's so hard to narrow it down to 20! The suspense of doing it over a few posts though will have you refreshing your browser, desperate to see the next instalment. Then the top 5 will drop and you'll downvote everything I post for ever more. The disappointment will be unbearable.

I think i would have difficulty of coming up with 20 as well. For one thing, some games that I truly loved were favorites so many years ago and there have been so many games that I have played since then that I don't think about them until someone else points them out. I would probably have to revise my top 20 list at least 20 times.

🙂 I remember all of the machines that I owned so did a search for "top all time games on ..." for the machines that I don't have any more. The Amiga 500 gave me so many memories - Jimmy White's Whirlwind Snooker was a game that I couldn't imagine playing now (it didn't make the top 20) but seeing screenshots reminded me of how much I enjoyed playing it at the time.

I should really get around to writing the next instalment - all 5 are from the Amiga 500 days and there are some real gems in there that could easily have been ranked higher.

Now this is the kind of quality content that we need more of! Loved the trip down memory lane - I’ll always remember being excited to play space invaders and the original GTA on Saturday mornings. One thing different about our childhoods: I had an Intellivision (remember those?) gaming console, but it doesn’t seem like too many other people grew up with one of those!

remember those?

Nope 🙂

It was fun thinking about some of the games I've played and it seems a shame that I need to finish the list. I'm a little embarrassed by some of the games that don't make the top 20 but I love the memories that doing things like this evoke. It all stemmed from some of whoisjohn's posts and the memories they gave me. I'm pleased I've been able to do the same with you 🙂

This post has been supported by @steemclub-uk the new community curation account administered by the UK Country Representative @pennsif.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53