Gaming Nostalgia || Amiga Power Top 10 (1991)

in Steem Gaming3 years ago

Despite completing writing about My All-Time Top 20 Video Games, I can't possibly be finished with my nostalgia just yet. Writing about my gaming memories, as well as my sporting (mostly football) memories is something that I really enjoy doing and having been told about https://archive.org/, I have enough nostalgia to last me a lifetime.

Today's article is from a Magazine I liked when I was at school. A friend of mine's dad owned a Newsagents and my friend would always have a magazine from the shop which he'd bring in to school. I learnt a lot about video games via this route.

There'd always be a disk or 2 (or 3) that would come with each magazine and a load of demos for the latest games. It was through a demo that I discovered my all-time favourite game, Championship Manager '93.

But I'm not here to bang on about that game again (yet). Instead, I'm going to look at Amiga Power's Top 10 games from 1991 and see what we have. The list was actually their Top 100, but that would be a bit much don't you think? So let's go...

image.png
Source

Within my top 20, I included 6 Amiga games -

9 - Cannon Fodder (Amiga 500)
11 - Lemmings (Amiga 500)
12 - Syndicate (Amiga 500)
13 - Speedball II (Amiga 500)
15 - Sensible Soccer / Sensible World of Soccer (Amiga 500)
18 - Double Dragon (Amiga 500)

So it's good to see Lemmings and Speedball II also appear in their list - Sensible Soccer wasn't released until 1992, Cannon Fodder and Syndicate weren't released until 1993 and Double Dragon didn't make their Top 100!

Whilst writing this, I just got distracted by this - Sensible World of Soccer 2020 Update so I'm in the process of downloading a Dos Box (anybody know how to use one of these things?), SWOS '96/'97 and the 2020 Update. I really hope this doesn't ruin the fond memories I have of this game but I can't wait to get stuck in.

Back on topic @the-gorilla, come on...

Of their Top 10, other than those I have already covered in previous articles (links above), Rainbow Islands, Sim City (on the SNES), Populous, Kick Off 2 and Stunt Car Racer are all games that I owned. I can't really remember much about Rainbow Islands but it consistently appears in Amiga's All-Time best games lists so it must have been decent. Stunt Car Racer is the one that stands out for me though because I couldn't stand it. I remember it being ridiculously hard and just not very good. Look...

Source

How's that at No. 10 and Double Dragon nowhere to be seen?

I'm sure I had an objective when I started writing this but I'm so distracted by SWOS 2020 and my impending gameplay that I've forgotten what it was. If I'm capable of getting this up and running (it turns out that I wasn't), it's only a matter of time before I get an Amiga emulator up and running too - if you've got any tips to help me get up and running, I'd really appreciate hearing them. I'll then have a look at Amiga Power's 1992 Top 100 and see if there's any change at the top but I'm keen to play Rainbow Islands. Despite its age, it looks like a lot of fun!

Source

Does anybody have any emulators set up and still play old games? I'm wondering if I'll end up paying GOG £4.29 and saving myself the hassle. I'm a penny-pincher though so I'll probably be up until midnight trying to work out the free way - if you know of a good guide for a drag-and-drop master, then please help me out!


image.png

Fantasy Sports Fantasy Premier League Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 300 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.


image.png

Fantasy Football Scotland Contest is also open with a current Prize Fund of 50 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

FF Scotland Image Source

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23