My All-Time Top 20 Video Games (Part 3)

in Steem Gaming3 years ago

It's been a long time since I shared Part 2 (counting down 15 to 11) with you, I hope you've been able to cope with the suspense 😉

Part 1, counting down from 20 to 16 started things off in case you missed it.

So this is where things start to really get tasty, and probably more controversial. I won't keep you waiting...

10 - Sonic The Hedgehog (Game Gear)

Source

If you owned a Game Gear, watch the first 5 seconds of the video above and let the nostalgia come flooding back.

This is almost certainly my most played game on the Game Gear (George Foreman's KO Boxing is probably 2nd) and I choose this version over the Master System simply because I played it more. It would've come everywhere with me and I can't tell you how many times I completed it. So many times, I can still remember the final level on the hot air balloon (42:15 in the video) where you didn't waste your time going along the top, you simply jumped on the hovering platform and let that do the work. The funny thing is, until I saw it on the video above, I didn't realise you could simply move to the left and hop on easily. I remember waiting, counting to 20 and then launching myself off the other end in the hope of landing on it. So many Sonics leapt to their death unnecessarily. An iconic game of my generation and as I type this, I'm surprised that I only put it at number 10.

9 - Cannon Fodder (Amiga 500)

Source

What a game! And a reminder of what a class act Sensible Software were. Such a simple game and one which I think I'd still enjoy playing today. Another simple left mouse button tells your men where to go, right mouse button makes them shoot and complex missions along the lines of "Kill All Enemy". I can't remember much more than that but for some reason, it sits right up there in my nostalgia memory bank as one of my all-time favourite games.

8 - Street Fighter II (SNES)

Source

I know a lot of people would choose the Turbo Edition over this one but this is the one I always played with my brother (and we didn't own the turbo edition).

I became rather good (if I do say s myself) with Ryu, Ken and Guile. I'd simply crouch down with my controller away from the opponent, and send hadoken or sonic booms down to my opponent until they decided to jump closer when I'd smash them with a Tiger Uppercut or Flash Kick. I remember Vega causing me problems on the higher difficulty but I soon learned how to deal with that one.

As a game that I played a lot (and I mean A LOT), the characters names are etched irreversibly in my memory. I'd be interested in hearing if it's the same for you and seeing how many you can list in the comments below - obviously don't look it up, that would totally defeat the point.

7 - Civilization II (PC)

Source

This is a game that felt like it had an endless number of possible scenarios, ways of playing, ways of thinking and it's no surprise that versions are still being released. I don't know if the new versions are good or not but this version is the one I remember playing the most and was my favourite.

The turn based element, the research, the different routes that the research could take... there was so much to like about this. I remember playing it against my brother where the person who's turn it wasn't, would have to wait in another room until the other person's turn was finished.

Looking back on this game now (graphics aside), I wonder if this type of turn-based gameplay would appeal. Compared to the real-time, fast paced games of today, the kind of patience required to move each person probably wouldn't. But 15+ years ago when life was a little slower, this was as addictive a game as you could get.

I can't remember the "Cheat" option in the menu which the video above contains though.

6 - Settlers II (PC)

Source

The video above's for the 10th Anniversary Edition which I still enjoy playing. Back in the late 90's though, it didn't look quite as tidy and I remember playing this at a friend's house, against them on split-screen.

This game gave me so much satisfaction - to position my buildings in the most efficient way, little micro-economies to sustain the development of my army, knowing when to attack and when not to. Making sure I could produce enough food for my mines and not to build too much at the same time and risk running out of wood and stone. And most importantly, making sure that my buildings were appropriately spaced so that I could perfectly place a flag every 2 squares.

The only downside is that the single player game is rather easy (on freeplay) once you know what you're doing.

10 - 6 Summary

We're at the point where most of these games could just as easily be at number 1 as they are at numbers 6 to 10. The fact that Settlers II is still so playable today goes to show what an incredible game it was back in 1996 and that's not nostalgia talking - it's still a fantastic game.

Hopefully you won't have to wait as long for my Top 5 to finish things off. As always, I look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments on my choices so far as well as a few predictions as to what's going to be in my top 5.

6 - Settlers II (PC)
7 - Civilization II (PC)
8 - Street Fighter II (SNES)
9 - Cannon Fodder (Amiga 500)
10 - Sonic The Hedgehog (Game Gear)
11 - Lemmings (Amiga 500)
12 - Syndicate (Amiga 500)
13 - Speedball II (Amiga 500)
14 - Mortal Kombat (Master System)
15 - Sensible Soccer / Sensible World of Soccer (Amiga 500)
16 - Grand Theft Auto (PC)
17 - The Sims (PC)
18 - Double Dragon (Amiga 500)
19 - Space Invaders (Atari 2600)
20 - Treasure Island Dizzy (ZX Spectrum 48k)

Sort:  

My cousin had the Amiga and we used to love playing The New Zealand Story

I loved sonic from the first moment I played it and Steet Fighter.... What a game!

I don't recognise that one and I'm sure I'd remember this awesome music -

Looks like a classic platform game which were so popular at the time. I've not heard the term platform game for yeeeeeeeaaaaarrss.

I have a funny feeling my top 5, number 1 in particular isn't going to win me any friends.

Feeling so nostalgic after watching sonic. I have played this game so many times on Game Gear. My little brother used to play Street Fighter.

I'm going down the memory lane and thinking of so many games...

Road Fighter, Mario, Pokémon, Contra, Pacman and many more.

I love how something as simple as a little intro music brings back the memories. Not necessarily just the memories of the games but where we were and the people we played with.

That Sonic game unfortunately I could not try it on the Gear due to my age, but it is one of the first games I had in the emulators of my pc with a core 2 duo and even so I have a giant nostalgia, in fact the sonic mania that came out a few years ago seemed fabulous thanks to that rescued concepts of classics like this.

There are so many games of that era which could do well with a reboot - if they don't try to be too clever. I tried one of the Mario games that was in 3D and I just couldn't cope with it. Probably because platform games will always be 2D to me.

is totally true, an example of this is the game of the metroid saga that nintendo announced at this year's e3 metroid Dread is its name and has polished graphics but is in that 2d that made the saga so famous in its time and yep I hate sometimes how they take fabulous games in 2d and turn them into 3d abominations, something more current in 2d and not so much since it has a time that I could recommend is a hack that you can play on an emulator of the nintendo ds new super mario bros which is practically a new game but made by fans, the truth is very good, if from the beginning they did not tell you that fans would believe that it is an official nintendo game.

Sonic The Hedgehog I got to play this game in my uncle's dreamcast and I could never get to pass it in its entirety since it was very difficult to beat Dr. Eggman or maybe I was very rookie at that time.

😆 I can't remember Dr. Eggman at all! In fact, I only really remember the 1st level and the beginning of the last level so that's not surprising!

I can tell by this list that you are more of and old school gamer much like myself. I played most of these even though I never had an Amiga because they were super expensive back in their heyday. Some great memories are mixed in there although while I guess I enjoyed it at the time, Sonic games these days make me wonder how it is that I didn't develop some sort of eye problems playing that back on both Genesis and Game Gear (whole lotta batteries involved in owning one of those bad boys!)

Ha ha! Come to think of it, that probably explains why I've worn glasses most of my life 🤓 I've got one of those magnifier attachments but I don't know if that helped much!

6 batteries for the Game Gear, can you imagine that now? I can't remember how long they lasted, a few hours maybe. 10 minutes if you used rechargeable ones.

I think that newer games don't have the gameplay that the older ones had and focus too much on fancy graphics - this isn't really an opinion based upon any real knowledge though as I don't really make time to play video games any more. So I look back on some of these games, how original they were and how playable that made them. I probably owned them a good few years after everybody else when they were much cheaper. I only ever remember buying one game and I dragged my mum around every shop trying to find it cheaper. I think I saved 3p (about $0.05). It was worth the effort.

You just made me remember a part of my youth again with your rechargeable batteries comment: We were a recharageable battery family and those things just absolutely sucked. I have no idea what was on the interior of them but they were always lighter than Duracells or Energizer batteries and it didn't matter if it was a Game Gear or a flashlight, the amount of time you had a charge was MUCH less than a "real" battery.

I wouldn't even say that world was overly concerned about environmentalism back in those times either, it was just a cost thing. I guess we hadn't discovered lithium at that point yet because the horror of using a rechargeable battery on just about anything was bound to be a short-lived experience.

We were a recharageable battery family

Ha ha! I had never considered this to be a thing but yes! We were a rechargeable battery family too!! And now that we're grown up and have kids of our own, we'll definitely remain so.

The mention of lithium makes me wonder why they don't make a decent lithium-ion battery in AA, AAA, etc. size. Surely these geniuses are able to do this. Rechargeable batteries are as crap now as they were 30 years ago. They're 1.2V instead of the standard 1.5V so it's no wonder they don't last long. Why don't they make 1.5V rechargeable batteries???? I'm starting to get angry about this now.

Your shared video games are very enjoyable. I also played two of these games.very interesting games.

Muy recreativos los videojuegos, claro, con equilibrio y selección todo cala.Gracias por compartir.

I don't like to play game but you describe them well in this post.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 28 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63